How come evening also need ERP?

Phluvcat

Gahmen wanna make money only la.

Say ERP will reduce congestion but does it really reduce? Maybe in the start but after a while people will just get used to it and just pay. Thus, congestion is back.

Even if one day ERP charge is $100. Whole expressway is empty and all the cars jam at alternative roads, is that really a solution to reduce congestion? By diverting all cars to other roads?

So alternative roads also jam, what our gahmen do? Build gantries at alternative roads. So they won't miss a single car.

Since in the evening so many cars traveling through CTE to go home, gahmen took the opportunity to build a gantry for those going home to pay also lor. Got money don't want to earn meh?

For me I just avoid ERP as far as possible. I would rather spend fuel than to pay innocent cash. At least fuel will get me somewhere, ERP won't. For example if got appointment in town in the evening, I'll make it 8.30pm coz ERP till 8pm.

If need to go Bugis area where the gantries there are $2 per entry, I'll park somewhere nearby and walk in.

It is not that i'm stingy it's just that i think ERP is not worth paying even if it's 50 cents. COZ IT CERTAINLY DOES NOT REDUCE CONGESTION. THAT IS JUST A COVER UP STORY TO MAKE MONEY!

+1.

I try to minimise/avoid ERP whenever possible. Never enter town before 8pm.

for the erp outside Cathay and just before hotel rendezvous, has anyone tried bypassing the erp by "cutting through" the carpark at cathay? If the cathay carpark has those free 5 to 10min parking, i think it's enough for us to clear that short stretch. *just a thought*

Cathay got no grace period. They already thought of that when they implement.

No way out.

dun u guys get it, pay and pay until they suck us dry. soon singapore will be left with elites. the poor n middle class will run to msia

for the erp outside Cathay and just before hotel rendezvous, has anyone tried bypassing the erp by "cutting through" the carpark at cathay? If the cathay carpark has those free 5 to 10min parking, i think it's enough for us to clear that short stretch. *just a thought*

Hmmm.. Nah.. No matter what.. You cant escape ERP.. haha..

One stupid ERP gantry (to exit ERP area) is the one after Dhoby Ghaut / Before Hotel Rendezvous.

Enter ERP area - Pay

Exit ERP area - Also pay ?

This one really takes the cake. It's mind boggling. Pails of excuses without a single reason.

But at night either people go home, pass by or jalan jalan also need to pay?

The issue is not about individuals going home or jalan jalan - the LTA does not give a hoot about that. Essentially the roads are tcongested and to here's is a need to control the volume of cars on the road.

http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...otoring_erp.htm

"Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) is an electronic system of road pricing based on a pay-as-you-use principle. It is designed to be a fair system as motorists are charged when they use the road during peak hours." (no where does it mention the need for ERP as a result of people going home or taking leisurely drives!)

Sat Marina ERP only kicks in after noon leh. 12-8pm.

They damn funny one you know. I also don't get the rationale of it. :wacko:

gamblers no need to go punch card in Sands ar?

From website:

The pay-as-you-use principle of ERP makes motorists more aware of the true cost of driving. This way, road usage can be optimised.

-Charges are levied on a per-pass basis and rates are set based on traffic conditions at the pricing points.

-A motorist is encouraged to decide whether to drive, when to drive and where to drive.

-He may choose a different route, mode of transport, time of travel, or not travel at all.

-Those who choose to pay and stay on the road will enjoy a smoother ride. => ya right

Morning PIE towards changi, ERP after Lornie 730am~8am: 50cents, 801am~805am: $1.30, 806am onwards: $2.

Who can explain the pricing rationale especially 801am~805am: $1.30?

yes erp does work. ever since they setup the plaza sing gantry i've not stepped foot into town orchard for years then only to in the last 3yrs making less than 5 trips there. i save more money at the expense of the orchard retailers and economy.

One stupid ERP gantry (to exit ERP area) is the one after Dhoby Ghaut / Before Hotel Rendezvous.

Enter ERP area - Pay

you are exiting one ERP area to enter another mah... so must pay lor.

the orchard area is one zone.

Marina area is another.

So when u rch handy road, u got to the end of orchard zone.. but immediately kena marina zone..

i was so pissed and felt robbed when i was at orchard, need to go marine parade, so wanna go by nicoll highway.... ta ma de...

Edited by Chrispie

Enter ERP area - Pay

u go home need to open door to enter right? then when u go out also need to open door to exit right? its same to ERP..... u get it

see my reply.. ur logic not totally right in this case. You are charged only for going somewhere, never exiting. But if they put two zones adjacent to each other, then too bad.

that y....1st to enter main door then u go bedroom or toilet also need to pass by rooms door mah....from 1 zone to another zone

some of the prices they charge are exorbitant.. i think sat noon passing by nicoll is 2 or 3 right? its just crazy!!!!! Or the morning 7-8am charge on PIE before Eunos exit.. what the hell is that for?

Edited by Chrispie

you are exiting one ERP area to enter another mah... so must pay lor.

the orchard area is one zone.

Marina area is another.

So when u rch handy road, u got to the end of orchard zone.. but immediately kena marina zone..

i was so pissed and felt robbed when i was at orchard, need to go marine parade, so wanna go by nicoll highway.... ta ma de...

Sh it right? want to go out from Orchard to Serangoon but still got to pay. Gangtree can move further down but nooo...it got to be there.

Anybody can provide a rationale to evening ERP?

Morning ERP I understand better since congestion will increase economic loss.

But at night either people go home, pass by or jalan jalan also need to pay? To me makes no sense leh...

A lot of things now happening and not making sense to me.

It make sense to me, coz it really help to free up the road after the ERP, take a look at bugis 3 bucks evening ERP and suntec 2.50 bucks evening ERP, after the gentry the road is clear and smooth, CP plenty for ppl to park.