Test your language comprehension skill

Ahtong

Like MacDonalds ah, they must ask you if u wana takeaway or not.

Then they will ask u to get ur own chilli at the condiment counter.

Or pay $3 extra for delivery!

MaChickenRice anyone?

Please read the following statement carefully:

"I want to order 1 packet of chicken rice"

Deduce from the above if my intention is to eat here or take away.

90% of hawkers I encountered fail this comprehension test

鸡饭一包 = take away

鸡饭一盘 = makan sini...

wads so difficult to speak or understand?

u and little-prince are the most anti-AT here

anyway, back to topic

should be 鸡饭一 (eat here), or 鸡饭一 (da bao)

eh..i also anti-bangla hor..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

by your logic......you are only expressing your wish to have a packet of chicken rice.

along the same line of logic...the "proper" sentence structure will be "I would like to purchase a packet of chicken rice to be packed in a portable form. I will also pay you $3 at the conclusion of our transaction" :D:D

I got more chiong hey version but I think you got the idea... [laugh][laugh]

if you tok liddat...your carbon footprint enough to light up your hdb block man [laugh][laugh]

by your logic......you are only expressing your wish to have a packet of chicken rice.

along the same line of logic...the "proper" sentence structure will be "I would like to purchase a packet of chicken rice to be packed in a portable form. I will also pay you $3 at the conclusion of our transaction" :D :D

I got more chiong hey version but I think you got the idea... [laugh] [laugh]

I would like to pack a packet of unroasted soft tender chicken cum white fragrance rice for single serving. [laugh][laugh]

Every time I order kopi, the auntie always ask me. Drink or take away?

Of course buy kopi to drink meh. Only question is drink at kopi sop or take away to drink.

But I never told her that. [:p]

Sometimes people are funny. How often you heard people said. "Hi, you are here!". I feel like saying. "I am not here actually, its just an illusion".

It's Singlish lah......everything becomes shortformed....Singaporean's way of reducing the carbon foot print (according to RadX :D )!

Would you like to have the kopi here at our premise or have it to go? = Drink or take away?

It's Singlish lah......everything becomes shortformed....Singaporean's way of reducing the carbon foot print (according to RadX :D )!

Would you like to have the kopi here at our premise or have it to go? = Drink or take away?

btw, a local guide for ordering beverage in kopi tiams :D

tea:

teh - tea with milk and sugar

teh peng - teh with ice

teh siew dai - teh with less sugar

teh or - tea with sugar, without milk

teh or peng - teh or with ice

teh or siew dai - teh or with less sugar

teh or kosong - tea with no milk no sugar

teh si - tea with milk

teh si peng - teh si with ice

teh si kosong - tea with milk but no sugar

diao her (fishing) - tea with teabag

jio kia (mirror) - 1/3 tea, 2/3 hot water

teh tarik - tea with milk

teh halia - tea with milk and ginger flavour

coffee:

kopi - coffee with milk

kopi gao - thick coffee

kopi peng - kopi with ice

kopi or - black coffee without milk

kopi or siew dai - kopi or with less sugar

kopi or kosong - kopi or without sugar

kopi si - coffee with milk

kopi si siew dai - kopi si with less sugar

kopi si kosong - kopi si without sugar

others:

tak giu (kick ball) - milo

tak giu peng - milo with ice

dinosaur - milo with extra milo powder on top

lao ho (tiger) - tiger beer

ang ji gao (red tongued dog) - black stout

clementi - lemon tea

siao - barley

yuan yang - tea plus coffee

lai kor (underwear) - coke light

michael jackson - soya bean with grass jelly

food:

zar tan (bomb) - half boiled eggs

teh ti lou

kopi ti lou

ti lou means "pour in all the way", normally kopi tau chiew will fill the the cup till it is half filled with coffee or tea from the tea and coffee receptacle and the rest is made up with boiling water.

ti lou thus means all the way coffee or tea, no dilution. But not everyone like it that way. Sometimes it is overly bitter and acrid in taste (i.e. siap) depending on the grade of coffee bean and tea dust used.

...... lou thus means all the way coffee or tea, no dilution. But not everyone like it that way. Sometimes it is overly bitter and acrid in taste (i.e. siap) depending on the grade of coffee bean and tea dust used./quote]

If on a buffet point and tastes like you described, it's been left too long and it's actually poisonous.

btw, a local guide for ordering beverage in kopi tiams :D

tea:

teh - tea with milk and sugar

teh peng - teh with ice

teh siew dai - teh with less sugar

teh or - tea with sugar, without milk

teh or peng - teh or with ice

teh or siew dai - teh or with less sugar

teh or kosong - tea with no milk no sugar

teh si - tea with milk

teh si peng - teh si with ice

teh si kosong - tea with milk but no sugar

diao her (fishing) - tea with teabag

jio kia (mirror) - 1/3 tea, 2/3 hot water

teh tarik - tea with milk

teh halia - tea with milk and ginger flavour

coffee:

kopi - coffee with milk

kopi gao - thick coffee

kopi peng - kopi with ice

kopi or - black coffee without milk

kopi or siew dai - kopi or with less sugar

kopi or kosong - kopi or without sugar

kopi si - coffee with milk

kopi si siew dai - kopi si with less sugar

kopi si kosong - kopi si without sugar

others:

tak giu (kick ball) - milo

tak giu peng - milo with ice

dinosaur - milo with extra milo powder on top

lao ho (tiger) - tiger beer

ang ji gao (red tongued dog) - black stout

clementi - lemon tea

siao - barley

yuan yang - tea plus coffee

lai kor (underwear) - coke light

michael jackson - soya bean with grass jelly

food:

zar tan (bomb) - half boiled eggs

I find this funny somehow. :D

Got people really order Michael Jackson ah? [:p]

Anyway teh tarik got foam (from the pulling), so different also.

Edited by Benarsenal