Soyammmilk Neutral Newbie November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 Like MacDonalds ah, they must ask you if u wana takeaway or not. Then they will ask u to get ur own chilli at the condiment counter. Or pay $3 extra for delivery! MaChickenRice anyone? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 Please read the following statement carefully: "I want to order 1 packet of chicken rice" Deduce from the above if my intention is to eat here or take away. 90% of hawkers I encountered fail this comprehension test 鸡饭一包 = take away 鸡饭一盘 = makan sini... wads so difficult to speak or understand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 u and little-prince are the most anti-AT here anyway, back to topic should be 鸡饭一盘 (eat here), or 鸡饭一包 (da bao) eh..i also anti-bangla hor..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 by your logic......you are only expressing your wish to have a packet of chicken rice. along the same line of logic...the "proper" sentence structure will be "I would like to purchase a packet of chicken rice to be packed in a portable form. I will also pay you $3 at the conclusion of our transaction" I got more chiong hey version but I think you got the idea... if you tok liddat...your carbon footprint enough to light up your hdb block man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 by your logic......you are only expressing your wish to have a packet of chicken rice. along the same line of logic...the "proper" sentence structure will be "I would like to purchase a packet of chicken rice to be packed in a portable form. I will also pay you $3 at the conclusion of our transaction" :D I got more chiong hey version but I think you got the idea... [laugh] I would like to pack a packet of unroasted soft tender chicken cum white fragrance rice for single serving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carpinion Neutral Newbie November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 Every time I order kopi, the auntie always ask me. Drink or take away? Of course buy kopi to drink meh. Only question is drink at kopi sop or take away to drink. But I never told her that. Sometimes people are funny. How often you heard people said. "Hi, you are here!". I feel like saying. "I am not here actually, its just an illusion". It's Singlish lah......everything becomes shortformed....Singaporean's way of reducing the carbon foot print (according to RadX )! Would you like to have the kopi here at our premise or have it to go? = Drink or take away? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 It's Singlish lah......everything becomes shortformed....Singaporean's way of reducing the carbon foot print (according to RadX )! Would you like to have the kopi here at our premise or have it to go? = Drink or take away? btw, a local guide for ordering beverage in kopi tiams tea: teh - tea with milk and sugar teh peng - teh with ice teh siew dai - teh with less sugar teh or - tea with sugar, without milk teh or peng - teh or with ice teh or siew dai - teh or with less sugar teh or kosong - tea with no milk no sugar teh si - tea with milk teh si peng - teh si with ice teh si kosong - tea with milk but no sugar diao her (fishing) - tea with teabag jio kia (mirror) - 1/3 tea, 2/3 hot water teh tarik - tea with milk teh halia - tea with milk and ginger flavour coffee: kopi - coffee with milk kopi gao - thick coffee kopi peng - kopi with ice kopi or - black coffee without milk kopi or siew dai - kopi or with less sugar kopi or kosong - kopi or without sugar kopi si - coffee with milk kopi si siew dai - kopi si with less sugar kopi si kosong - kopi si without sugar others: tak giu (kick ball) - milo tak giu peng - milo with ice dinosaur - milo with extra milo powder on top lao ho (tiger) - tiger beer ang ji gao (red tongued dog) - black stout clementi - lemon tea siao - barley yuan yang - tea plus coffee lai kor (underwear) - coke light michael jackson - soya bean with grass jelly food: zar tan (bomb) - half boiled eggs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 Teh Si or Kopi Si is with Evaporated Milk Teh is with Condense Milk the milk used is different Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 teh ti lou kopi ti lou ti lou means "pour in all the way", normally kopi tau chiew will fill the the cup till it is half filled with coffee or tea from the tea and coffee receptacle and the rest is made up with boiling water. ti lou thus means all the way coffee or tea, no dilution. But not everyone like it that way. Sometimes it is overly bitter and acrid in taste (i.e. siap) depending on the grade of coffee bean and tea dust used. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Locknload 5th Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 ...... lou thus means all the way coffee or tea, no dilution. But not everyone like it that way. Sometimes it is overly bitter and acrid in taste (i.e. siap) depending on the grade of coffee bean and tea dust used./quote] If on a buffet point and tastes like you described, it's been left too long and it's actually poisonous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 (edited) btw, a local guide for ordering beverage in kopi tiams tea: teh - tea with milk and sugar teh peng - teh with ice teh siew dai - teh with less sugar teh or - tea with sugar, without milk teh or peng - teh or with ice teh or siew dai - teh or with less sugar teh or kosong - tea with no milk no sugar teh si - tea with milk teh si peng - teh si with ice teh si kosong - tea with milk but no sugar diao her (fishing) - tea with teabag jio kia (mirror) - 1/3 tea, 2/3 hot water teh tarik - tea with milk teh halia - tea with milk and ginger flavour coffee: kopi - coffee with milk kopi gao - thick coffee kopi peng - kopi with ice kopi or - black coffee without milk kopi or siew dai - kopi or with less sugar kopi or kosong - kopi or without sugar kopi si - coffee with milk kopi si siew dai - kopi si with less sugar kopi si kosong - kopi si without sugar others: tak giu (kick ball) - milo tak giu peng - milo with ice dinosaur - milo with extra milo powder on top lao ho (tiger) - tiger beer ang ji gao (red tongued dog) - black stout clementi - lemon tea siao - barley yuan yang - tea plus coffee lai kor (underwear) - coke light michael jackson - soya bean with grass jelly food: zar tan (bomb) - half boiled eggs I find this funny somehow. Got people really order Michael Jackson ah? Anyway teh tarik got foam (from the pulling), so different also. Edited November 21, 2010 by Benarsenal ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...