Best_ctzn Clutched November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Just booked the black color touran today. But missed the 99k promo unfortunately. Congrats to the lucky 40. Seems like this is a hot cake, sold over 160 units over 2 days. Congrates. May I know how much you paid? Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patrickmaniac Neutral Newbie November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 I was considering the jetta about a year ago but then things change with parenthood and here we are. Enjoy ur ride bro. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patrickmaniac Neutral Newbie November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 105k, it's painful to know that I have to pay 5k more.... Congrates. May I know how much you paid? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 This is indeed troublesome. Last time when I check out Zafira, also found that need to slide 2nd row forward first before can lift the 3row seat up. The boot is neat when 3row is down but troublesome if need to raise the 3rd seat. Imagine, need to unbuckle the child seat in 2nd row, push forward, raise 3row, push 2nd row back, and refix the child seat. I personally find the opening of the 2nd row to enter 3rd row rather easy. Just 2 steps.... pull the 2nd row seat down and pull the folded seat upright. The opening to the 3rd is big enough for any adult to get it. But honestly, Touran is a mid-sized MPV, so dun expect huge space at the back. At best, kids or small sized adults. There's some space left at the boot with all the 3 rows. Another thing I like it is that the seat configuration is quite good. 3rd row folds FLAT in a mere flick of the lever on its seat. Really flat. No cardboards or extra actions to keep the 3rd row, its that easy! With good headroom, the volume to stuff all your barang barang is always possible. Been using Touran for 2 years, it has served me well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Congrates. May I know how much you paid? Thanks. no regrets bro, you've got a good car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 (edited) for me, i find the paddle shift quite useful when driving in manual mode as it's more intuitive and slightly faster to upshift/downshift compared to using the gear stick. having said that, i'd still classify it as a good-to-have than a must-have. after awhile, you'd probably leave it to the DSG gearbox to do its job except for days when you feel like red-lining to clear some carbon. To Cheepo and Jeronlee, I was mulling over this too. After some thoughts, I forgo the paddle shift. Didn't really used it. When I tried, always got difficulty changing gear when I'm turning . Also, always mixed up with the + and -. Anyway, when I drove up to Genting, did not even need the manual shifts, the DSG was so powerful that it just go on and on until the top, overtaking so many cars struggling and changing gears. After that, I was totally convinced about Touran! Edited November 22, 2010 by Ak7887 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 105k, it's painful to know that I have to pay 5k more.... Welcome to the Touran club bro!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 (edited) Congrats to your new vw ride. I'd gotten Touran if my SE has informed me about the release date. Touran was my 1st choice, but was told that it has been discontinued and has no idea when the new FL will be released. Thus, gotten myself a Jetta instead. Just a short period of 2mths. Holy cow, really kenna smoked liao bro. There's a thread in the forum talking about Touran 2010 in July. Bloody SE really out to get your sale. How can VW Singapore not bring in the new model? Its one of their best selling models in Europe, and I think it crossed the 1 million units sold recently! Edited November 22, 2010 by Ak7887 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Allied Neutral Newbie November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 (edited) Ya lor...becoz Touran would fits me perfectly, in views, i might be starting a small family in less than 2 yrs time. And of coz, it's a 1.4L, powerful enough to ride 6-7pax with no sweat, and also, it's not too pricey,in compare with other jap models due to the surging COE recently. /My SE didn't say that it won't release new FL Touran, just that no idea when it will be release and roughly how much it costs.... Anyway, Jetta made me looks slightly younger than getting a Touran. Nonetheless, Jetta still a good ride. Hopefully, by the time i wanna change car (5-6yrs time), the Sharan will be within my reach and COE probably lower? Holy cow, really kenna smoked liao bro. There's a thread in the forum talking about Touran 2010 in July. Bloody SE really out to get your sale. How can VW Singapore not bring in the new model? Its one of their best selling models in Europe, and I think it crossed the 1 million units sold recently! Edited November 22, 2010 by Allied Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronlee 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 To Cheepo and Jeronlee, I was mulling over this too. After some thoughts, I forgo the paddle shift. Didn't really used it. When I tried, always got difficulty changing gear when I'm turning . Also, always mixed up with the + and -. Anyway, when I drove up to Genting, did not even need the manual shifts, the DSG was so powerful that it just go on and on until the top, overtaking so many cars struggling and changing gears. After that, I was totally convinced about Touran! no loss bro. your $500 will be better spent elsewhere. i used to have the paddle shift on my RX8 and i probably only use it less than 10 times in a year. similar to cruise control - i couldn't find a chance to use it until KPE was built. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ak7887 1st Gear November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 no loss bro. your $500 will be better spent elsewhere. i used to have the paddle shift on my RX8 and i probably only use it less than 10 times in a year. similar to cruise control - i couldn't find a chance to use it until KPE was built. hahahahahahahaha...... KPE! YES, that's why I need the cruise control!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 I was considering the jetta about a year ago but then things change with parenthood and here we are. Enjoy ur ride bro. cheers Congrats. You must be very excited when you first see the price of Touran is lower than Jetta. Honestly, I still don't understand how VW could price Touran lower than Jetta. Same engine, same gear. Touran with better usage and flexibility. Good buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 I personally find the opening of the 2nd row to enter 3rd row rather easy. Just 2 steps.... pull the 2nd row seat down and pull the folded seat upright. The opening to the 3rd is big enough for any adult to get it. But honestly, Touran is a mid-sized MPV, so dun expect huge space at the back. At best, kids or small sized adults. There's some space left at the boot with all the 3 rows. Another thing I like it is that the seat configuration is quite good. 3rd row folds FLAT in a mere flick of the lever on its seat. Really flat. No cardboards or extra actions to keep the 3rd row, its that easy! With good headroom, the volume to stuff all your barang barang is always possible. Been using Touran for 2 years, it has served me well Thanks. What I meant is when changing the seating configuration. Does Touran needs to move the 2nd row forward in order to bring out or flat down the 3rd row? But I think Touran is a bit wider. The 2nd row, middle seat is having 3point seat belt? This will allow booster seat. For Stream, after installing child seat on the left, and a full height booster seat on the right, an adult can barely sit in the middle. No good when travel long distance. Touran should be better. I am doing my maths, to trade in my 2.5y Stream for Touran. But need to top up cash about $20k. Business case rejected. You are lucky. No need to top up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 Thanks. What I meant is when changing the seating configuration. Does Touran needs to move the 2nd row forward in order to bring out or flat down the 3rd row? But I think Touran is a bit wider. The 2nd row, middle seat is having 3point seat belt? This will allow booster seat. For Stream, after installing child seat on the left, and a full height booster seat on the right, an adult can barely sit in the middle. No good when travel long distance. Touran should be better. I am doing my maths, to trade in my 2.5y Stream for Touran. But need to top up cash about $20k. Business case rejected. You are lucky. No need to top up. actually will you be changing configuration constantly? if not, this is a small consideration liao. but if you need to change it everyday... then.. well.... get a estima lah. you got the space even without changing the configuration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 actually will you be changing configuration constantly? if not, this is a small consideration liao. but if you need to change it everyday... then.. well.... get a estima lah. you got the space even without changing the configuration. Money is The main factor lah... Changing config for me, on average about once a week ba. Well, it is no big deal la. It is more about the $100k price tag. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 (edited) Money is The main factor lah... Changing config for me, on average about once a week ba. Well, it is no big deal la. It is more about the $100k price tag. yeah money is the main factor. that is why i will go for touran. cause its about the same price as Stream and Wish. i go for touran for its low cc and high power miss out on the safety part too. if you dont mind a smaller MPV. Freed is good too I am putting freed into my consideration too. selling at around 90K. Proton Exora is out. dont know why. although it look big, but interior not that big. Edited November 23, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 yeah money is the main factor. that is why i will go for touran. cause its about the same price as Stream and Wish. i go for touran for its low cc and high power. if you dont mind a smaller MPV. Freed is good too I am putting freed into my consideration too. selling at around 90K. Proton Exora is out. dont know why. although it look big, but interior not that big. my family bought a freed last year below 60k (PI) sold it this year and bought a C4GP. Made a profit from the freed :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 (edited) my family bought a freed last year below 60k (PI) sold it this year and bought a C4GP. Made a profit from the freed :) good trade in BTW any comment/Review on the Freed from a Ex-owner? Edited November 23, 2010 by Joseph22 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...