Heartbreakid 6th Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 i completely understand ur feeling cuz i also having the same situation here, sometime worst ask them to wait at the roadside cuz easier to pick up but when i reach there they are still not there yet ..... in the end have to go around the area another round or go below their house before they come down zz damn wasted alot of petrol and time :angry: . Going out need to fetch them and still have to send them back home , when going out until very late car have to park at top floor next day morning have to go climb the stair as my carpark got no lift.Petrol,carpark,food everything have to pay myself and sometime i wan to ask them fr some petrol money but feel very paiseh but they not automatic wan need to open mouth then give :angry: Sometimes, it's not they are not automatic, they just act blur ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholassoong Neutral Newbie November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 This dilemma happens when you are young and indecisive. Frankly speaking, you are not obliged to ferry anybody around as this is YOUR car and you PAY for it. It all boils down to personal courage and pride to say NO to others. If it is not on the way, just say so. Your friends can't fault you. But before you can use this tactic, you need to know the directions well. Coz typically when you tell them it is not on the way, they will try to argue that it is on the way which in actual fact is b-------t as you will be required to make a detour or take a longer route just to convenience them. Nevertheless, whether is it on the way or not on the way, you are not obliged to ferry anybody around. But having said that, if you want to drive a car, it's better to have a more generous attitude. Buying others convenience without creating too much unhappiness for yourself could actually bring along other perks or opportunities down the road. So my advice is don't be overly calculative with friends and acquaintances. But never do so at the expense of your own convenience and happiness. For example, if I wanna be alone or I dislike someone, I won't even ferry that person even if he or she is my neighbour. He or she can request and complain all they want. But who cares? At the end of the day, it's not your duty to please everyone. Just be confident to say NO to others and you should be alright. Enjoy driving! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) im consider relatively young to own a car. so among most of my friends only im driving. got my ride end last year. after i get my ride starting to feel different. when im out to meet my friends i must go fetch them from their house. i drive them there still must pay for parking (and of cause petrol) for example i stay in bishan, my friend ask me accompany her go buy things from tampines. so i must fetch my friend from her house and drive her to tampines and shop when i got no business to do there.. i might sound abit stingy but everything is money.. still must drive back to toa payoh after that.. once awhile nevermind but every time go out must drive them to the place and fetch them back. end of the day who is going to pay for my petrol? parking ? i work so hard for the money but they didnt appreciate me at all at least bother to treat me dinner or buy me movie to let me feel better.. any advise to counter them ? sometimes even more dulan, go their house to fetch them i still must wait for them to get ready instead of coming down straight when i reach.. wtf right! based on your nick.. 1988.. i am not much older than you.. my friends around me usually only take a ride when it's convenient for me.. they always ask me whether it's convenient for me or 'on the way'.. if yes, then they tag along.. if not, then they go public.. but again, most of usual clique friends stay within 10mins drive.. so fetching them home after a nights out is usually no prob for me.. but purposely fetching them to and from a particular location is no no..and they usually don't ask for it unless really important/emergency case.. Edited November 27, 2010 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Drop the car get a bike. End of story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 based on your nick.. 1988.. i am not much older than you.. my friends around me usually only take a ride when it's convenient for me.. they always ask me whether it's convenient for me or 'on the way'.. if yes, then they tag along.. if not, then they go public.. but again, most of usual clique friends stay within 10mins drive.. so fetching them home after a nights out is usually no prob for me.. but purposely fetching them to and from a particular location is no no..and they usually don't ask for it unless really important/emergency case.. Talking about her lousy friends not how good your friends are lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) Do it only if you want to lah. I only do it IF 1) It's convenient for me to do so 2) If they ask nicely 3) When I want to Most of my friends generally quite automatic. Give and take a bit lor. Edited November 27, 2010 by Benarsenal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) Bought my own car at 21 (with own money). Hardly any of my friends ask me for a ride because I always stay back in NUS library to study till it closes. , and my first lectures always at 8am. But I must say….. girls tend to ask you out when you have a car. Edited November 27, 2010 by Yattokame Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Talking about her lousy friends not how good your friends are lol whahaa.. i'm subtly telling her how real friends will behave.. [laugh] ok.. it's not subtle anymore.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 im consider relatively young to own a car. so among most of my friends only im driving. got my ride end last year. after i get my ride starting to feel different. when im out to meet my friends i must go fetch them from their house. i drive them there still must pay for parking (and of cause petrol) for example i stay in bishan, my friend ask me accompany her go buy things from tampines. so i must fetch my friend from her house and drive her to tampines and shop when i got no business to do there.. i might sound abit stingy but everything is money.. still must drive back to toa payoh after that.. once awhile nevermind but every time go out must drive them to the place and fetch them back. end of the day who is going to pay for my petrol? parking ? i work so hard for the money but they didnt appreciate me at all at least bother to treat me dinner or buy me movie to let me feel better.. any advise to counter them ? sometimes even more dulan, go their house to fetch them i still must wait for them to get ready instead of coming down straight when i reach.. wtf right! well put it this way women can be a bit*h right i know dilema of a woman is to have friends bitc*ing abt you behind your back if you offend them, in this instant if you reject request going out with them in your car next time round actually those who never ever own a transport before will never feel the pinch they only think of convenience well i cant help you here cause i've been through in both shoes, as passengers (i heck care) and rider/driver (felt the pinch) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 Totally agreed with you... When have car, (especially 2 seater convertible) your ladies friends like to call you out. Got one ask me for dinner when she herself is at orchard. I say ok. She say can tell what time i coming because she alots of thing to place on my car. Sigh!! I called off the dinner dates. Sorry not feeling too good actually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) want advise? dun want them sit ur car anymore? drive like s--t Edited November 27, 2010 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lation Neutral Newbie November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 facing the same situation too. but not all my friend behave this way. some are more understanding but there are also those that die die also want you to drive them. if not they will not happy. there are also some friend that go out with you just because you drive and it is more convenient when going out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 im consider relatively young to own a car. so among most of my friends only im driving. got my ride end last year. after i get my ride starting to feel different. when im out to meet my friends i must go fetch them from their house. i drive them there still must pay for parking (and of cause petrol) for example i stay in bishan, my friend ask me accompany her go buy things from tampines. so i must fetch my friend from her house and drive her to tampines and shop when i got no business to do there.. i might sound abit stingy but everything is money.. still must drive back to toa payoh after that.. once awhile nevermind but every time go out must drive them to the place and fetch them back. end of the day who is going to pay for my petrol? parking ? i work so hard for the money but they didnt appreciate me at all at least bother to treat me dinner or buy me movie to let me feel better.. any advise to counter them ? sometimes even more dulan, go their house to fetch them i still must wait for them to get ready instead of coming down straight when i reach.. wtf right! Well ur friend is lucky to have u..u feel tat she take u from granted rite? but some time we have to learn to give something & dun expect to take back or u will nvr be happy.. if give back to u ..juz treat it as a bonus lo...u know wad i mean? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rockaphonics 2nd Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 excuse me im a lady too... HAHAHA. Owned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 im consider relatively young to own a car. so among most of my friends only im driving. got my ride end last year. after i get my ride starting to feel different. when im out to meet my friends i must go fetch them from their house. i drive them there still must pay for parking (and of cause petrol) for example i stay in bishan, my friend ask me accompany her go buy things from tampines. so i must fetch my friend from her house and drive her to tampines and shop when i got no business to do there.. i might sound abit stingy but everything is money.. still must drive back to toa payoh after that.. once awhile nevermind but every time go out must drive them to the place and fetch them back. end of the day who is going to pay for my petrol? parking ? i work so hard for the money but they didnt appreciate me at all at least bother to treat me dinner or buy me movie to let me feel better.. any advise to counter them ? sometimes even more dulan, go their house to fetch them i still must wait for them to get ready instead of coming down straight when i reach.. wtf right! A solution to counter them: Install a taxi meter on your dash. When your friend enter your car, press the start the button. S2.40 starting and $0.20 for every 200 metres. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicz Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 (edited) These stuff are inevitable... If you don't heed to their request, you'll be seen as selfish. If you do, you'll burn excess petrol. Owning a car is already so expensive and they are not making it any easier, be it monetary or conscience wise. Only another car owner will ever understand... Edited November 27, 2010 by Nicz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivansyl Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 i also had the same problems initially when u just got a new car. everyone will start asking you for rides but u can tell those who are genuinely wanting to share the joy with u and those who just want a free ride from you. 2years down the road i've learnt to reject pple straight in the face. u have to learn how to say NO. after the first few times you said no to them, they should get the notion. and anyway if they're really true friends they should understand that you cant possibly keep giving every of your friends free ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivansyl Clutched November 27, 2010 Share November 27, 2010 but of course sometimes you should do it out of goodwill, like for example if you ask someone out for supper in the middle of the night it is only your obligation to send her/him safely home and save their cab fare with the midnight charge. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...