How to sell your own condo?

Bfg22

Hi guys,

I would like to know how to sell a condo by myself without an agent.

Basically I bought one unit at a condo launch over the weekend. However, I feel that maybe it wasn't such a wise buy and want to let it go.

Of course with the recent govt regulation of stamp fee penalty if selling within 3 years would hurt too.

But I don't want to go back to that crappy agent from KF who sold me the condo to flip. Felt that the agent was just full of sales crap which I saw through and I really didn't want to buy. But don't know why parents wanted to buy... So they signed and now they are suffering from buyer's remorse...

So anyway, I would let to explore options to sell the property by myself if possible, without an agent.

I believe there are some property experts out here. Some pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi guys,

Basically I bought one unit at a condo launch over the weekend. However, I feel that maybe it wasn't such a wise buy and want to let it go.

Of course with the recent govt regulation of stamp fee penalty if selling within 3 years would hurt too.

But I don't want to go back to that crappy agent from KF who sold me the condo to flip. Felt that the agent was just full of sales crap which I saw through and I really didn't want to buy. But don't know why parents wanted to buy... So they signed and now they are suffering from buyer's remorse...

So anyway, I would let to explore options to sell the property by myself if possible, without an agent.

I believe there are some property experts out here. Some pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks!

so fast wanna sell leow?? [dizzy]

not only stamp duty u have to pay, u also have to pay the penalty for redeeming the bank loan early as well as the legal fee [sweatdrop]

siao boh? since only over the weekend, at most forfiet deposit? OTP is 10 days right?

Hi guys,

Thanks!

Erm, IMO...u should think again. Reconsider again.

[:)]

Maybe if u share which area And tenure of land (FH/999/99) then gurus can advice the potential to hold. I guess u said agent is flipping so is yours a subsale? How long till TOP? loan approved?

Of coz to answer your immediate question u can post in newspaper but if u not familiar with the process then better engage another agent. Note your buyer will prolly have an agent.

Edited by Dice

Maybe if u share which area And tenure of land (FH/999/99) then gurus can advice the potential to hold. I guess u said agent is flipping so is yours a subsale? How long till TOP? loan approved?

Of coz to answer your immediate question u can post in newspaper but if u not familiar with the process then better engage another agent. Note your buyer will prolly have an agent.

unless the development is fully sold out, then unlikely that flipping now will make a profit...

probably have to wait til TOP min to turn a profit or break even

Hi guys,

Thanks!

not gonna comment on whether you should sell or not. but here's what u can do if you really wanna sell.

You can take a few pictures (not built up yet, so pictures of the floorplan and surroundings),

determine your asking price, (you might want to throw in the seller's stamp duty and whatever penalties you might have)

do a short write up (amenities around the area, blah blah blah)

and post them on the property sale websites like iproperty, propertyguru, propmatch, etc

You can then find your own conveyancing lawyer to help with the paper work for a small fee (1-2k) to do up the OTP and whatever. I do know of a very very nice lawyer; will go back to her for my subsequent properties.

And yes, like little prince has said, selling right after TOP will definitely be more profitable (most of the time). Maybe treat it as a fixed deposit?

sorry ah, can't help much becos not expert ah.

Edited by Yattokame

This is in D10, 99years. TOP maybe 2014/2015. Many many units.

Not that difficult to guess which one.

Anyway, not too sure about the loan but most probably approved.

Actually I don't want to buy cause I think price a little bit too high although location is not too bad. Hopefully some foreigner from India/China/Indo not yet vested in the market will take it up.

Thanks bro for your advice. Yeah, I wanted to do it at Propertyguru to see what kind of response.

If you don't mind PM your lawyer contact just in case, would be good.

Yes, believe selling after TOP will be most profitable. But who knows what will happen in 2015... Anyway,honestly, I think property now in Singapore is too overpriced. And I don't believe the papers one bit on all the good news.

Thanks.

Hi guys,

Thanks!

If dont want to buy why sign?

It's gonna be very very difficult to sell.

Trust me, just give up your option, no big deal.

better to lose $10-20k and start over . then to hang on to something you regret.

Edited by Throttle2

I walked away already but parents still wanted to sign... Actually the worst comes to worst they can just live there for retirement...

But I still feel that it's too overpriced.

This is in D10, 99years. TOP maybe 2014/2015. Many many units.

Not that difficult to guess which one.

Anyway, not too sure about the loan but most probably approved.

Actually I don't want to buy cause I think price a little bit too high although location is not too bad. Hopefully some foreigner from India/China/Indo not yet vested in the market will take it up.

Sounds good but why do you want to sell and what is it exactly you don't like, especially what your parents like and suddenly don't like. Maybe it is just post-buying jitters.

hi, bro

i guess u bought D'leedon, well i guess its over priced too...

you can put advert on classfieds, maybe got response if your unit is high floor, good view...

Just my POV, if you are having doubts about the purchase now, and you just took the option over the weekend, you can still back out of the purchase by not signing the sale and purchase agreement.

This way the developer will forfeit 25% of the booking fee you paid, which should come in at under $20000 assuming you bought a unit at about $1.5 million.

Like this, you also wont have to incur any legal fees or bank cancellation charges.

If you proceed to sign and then you will have to pay the stamp fee on the purchase which should be about $40000, and when you sell within 3 years you will incur another set of stamp fees.

If dont want to buy why sign?

It's gonna be very very difficult to sell.

Trust me, just give up your option, no big deal.

better to lose $10-20k and start over . then to hang on to something you regret.

same analogy...

If don't want to marry why marry?

it's gonna be very very difficult to live together.

Trust me, just give up on your marriage, no big deal.

Better to lose $100-$500k and start over, then to hang on to someone you regret. :D

same analogy...

If don't want to marry why marry?

it's gonna be very very difficult to live together.

Trust me, just give up on your marriage, no big deal.

Better to lose $100-$500k and start over, then to hang on to someone you regret. :D

wrong

one is business decision, the other is relationship.

kiang do hoh, mai keh kiang lah, Gearoil.

why you everytime self pawn?

I walked away already but parents still wanted to sign... Actually the worst comes to worst they can just live there for retirement...

But I still feel that it's too overpriced.

Then it's not your call already dude.

Especially since they already signed.

We affect people with our decisions in life and we get affected by people with their decisions in life too.

as long as your family remains financially sound, thats more important.

If you feel very strongly, you should sit them down and tell them.

Let them know that as their son, you do not agree to the purchase.

At least get your message clear .