Tyre issue...

Titanium

What is the logic, may I ask? For fwd vehicles, shouldn't the best tyres be placed at the front?

Always put the best tyres at the rear.

I skid before the other day when the rear tyres broke traction.

It was extremely difficult to control the car. Luckily I didn't hit the concrete wall when I exit BKE into KJE at the turn.

with ur description, there are thousand and 1 choice... u may want to ask yourself, is performance the 1st priority? if yes, wet or dry perfromance is more important? There are also some people choose their tyre based on comfort level, wear rate, or price....

bridgestone GR80 is one of a good all rounders for comfort, quiet and performance. not too sure if they are still producing it. Think it might be replaced by GR90. Could be 1 of a good choice if you really dont know what you need.

Tod Bridgestone shud oso my choice of tyres, performance on wet and dry and quiet is my priority, dun talk about comfort, driving a forester comfort is not in the scope even wif the best tyres, of course it this comes with higher damage, wonder how much it cost for a piece of GR90?

Probably wont gamble wif Hankok will stick to Bridgestone,

xie xie [thumbsup]

Sorry for being chiong hei, tod of going to Soh brother or brudders here have another

recommendation for a better package, dont want to end up being a carrot head or

end up with bad service.

Thanks again

as for the new tyres to the front or rear question...even the tyre manufacturers cannot come to an agreement themselves (i work for a tyre company :D )

so thats still pretty much up for contention...

depends on what you believe in.....

so the best thing is..like someone said...change all 4 at the same time...

another thing about lifespan...sometimes u see a lot of tread left (especially OPCs)...but the rubber has hardened...so the rule of the thumb is to change it every 2 years or so...even if the tyres have 5mm tread left.

given our weather conditions..rubber do harden quickly.

If the same model of tyre is used , then it is safe to use new tyres at the rear. However , new tyres need about 300 to 500km to get up to the optimal grip level , so need to watch out for this .

If using different tyres, then it would be tricky as u don't know the difference in grip . This can be dangerous in the wet.

That is why it is better to change 4 tyres at 1 go as you are unlikely to get surprises in the grip for all the tyres.

Hi all,

Thanks for the advise... Sorry was bz these few weeks.

Here is the pic of the front n rear tyres. The front ones must change hor?

The Front.

Front.jpg

The Rear.

Rear.jpg

Ok, i need to settle the tyre by this week, any recommendation on the tyres shops?

Preferably east side (Tampines to Ubi is fine). :)

Thanks!

Ok, i need to settle the tyre by this week, any recommendation on the tyres shops?

Preferably east side (Tampines to Ubi is fine). :)

Thanks!

can try hankook at kaki bkt.

their 30% discount seems like never ending

Ok... i forgot to do tyre rotation for my 2.5yrs ride (33k mileage) as i didnt go back to the AD for servicing only oil change at outside workshop.

I went to a workshop yesterday and they recommend me to change my front 2 tyres as they worn more than the rear (ok la... i dun think is as bad).

They quoted me 2 x yoko 15" ES501 at $280... i have a few qns.

- Should the new tyres mount to the front or rear?

- Is $280 reasonable?

- Hmm.... is it weird if i chose another brand like GR90?

Thanks!

Just mount e new tires in front n use fr 30k km till its wear is similar to e rear pair then do yr rotation every 10k km as usual.

$280 fr 2 pcs seem expensive. Look around a better price 1st. My yoko A.Drives 205/45/16 only cost $115 ea.

Try to stick wh same tire fr front n rear as far as possible. More even grip n wear. Noise also wil b different.

Just mount e new tires in front n use fr 30k km till its wear is similar to e rear pair then do yr rotation every 10k km as usual.

$280 fr 2 pcs seem expensive. Look around a better price 1st. My yoko A.Drives 205/45/16 only cost $115 ea.

Try to stick wh same tire fr front n rear as far as possible. More even grip n wear. Noise also wil b different.

Hi... Care to share where u got ur Yoko?

Thanks.

Actually my plan is to mount the new tyres to the rear and move the old rear to the front, so that the old rear tyres will wear off faster since they already 2.5yrs old, i dun feel safe putting them behind.

From what i have heard before, better tires at the back because if the front tires skid, you can still steer the car to gain control.

But if the back wheel skid, it is very hard to control or got no control.

so it is better to put the better tires at the back and the more "botak" tire in the front.

If yr rear skid, u can counter steer to regain control. If yr front tires skid u hv no control of e car at all.

FWD car, yr front tires wear faster cos ty do more work. Now u can even out e wear by putting e new tires in front to get yr front n rear tires to abt same wear, then u can do yr balance n rotation as per normal. ie. every 10k km.