Maroon5 5th Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 look at those soaring COE prices... CAT A $47,604 CAT B $62,502 CAT E $64,900 Guess there will really be much fewer cars on the road these days? Wonder who will want to pay around $65k just to buy a picanto, compared to can buy a good quality sedan car in the past... Any of you guys sold your cars for quick bucks? My car park seems a bit more empty these days :P before this COE alr many many cars...so how can another round of additional 1000 new cars reduce the numbers on the roads? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Off topic a bit. Yesterday evening, the road was freakishly clear. I mean, at 6.30pm leaving Tuas and AYE (Keppel) was smooth all the way. Only at a few bottlenecks did my speed reduce to less than 40km/h. I reached Clarke Quay in 20+ mins! At peak hour! In my years at Jurong, this was the first time I ever experienced this! Anyone knows what happened? It can't be the COE cos that would just be illogical. School holidays, parents taking leave to accompany their kids to go overseas, working adult also clearing leave this month, many companies are having block leave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Correct, just because the COE once dropped until few thousands or below mark, pple tot tht is the normal COE price. I think throughout the yrs, COE is always quite high which hover ard 25K and above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 $3 per litre of petrol will send 10% of the car owners to take BMW, $4 -> 30%, $5 -> 50% $10/litre -> think COE will crash! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazecow Neutral Newbie December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 $3 per litre of petrol will send 10% of the car owners to take BMW, $4 -> 30%, $5 -> 50% $10/litre -> think COE will crash! Still have Merc. I think there will be more and more conti and luxury cars on the market as COE prices goes up. Cause peasants cannot afford cars. Then jap and korean market will slowly die off.... china cars already dead..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazecow Neutral Newbie December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 $3 per litre of petrol will send 10% of the car owners to take BMW, $4 -> 30%, $5 -> 50% $10/litre -> think COE will crash! Nope. It won't crash. Cause to the rich, $3 or $10 for petrol makes no difference to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Off topic a bit. Yesterday evening, the road was freakishly clear. I mean, at 6.30pm leaving Tuas and AYE (Keppel) was smooth all the way. Only at a few bottlenecks did my speed reduce to less than 40km/h. I reached Clarke Quay in 20+ mins! At peak hour! In my years at Jurong, this was the first time I ever experienced this! Anyone knows what happened? It can't be the COE cos that would just be illogical. skoolhols lah...many left country liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelfinity 1st Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 COE will not reduce no. of car on the road. U can wait for LTA to implement the GPS road pricing system, that one will help to reduce as it make ppl think twice before they start the engine. They want to change sporean mindset, typical mindset is now i buy a car, i muz use until kao kao, 101% fully utilise it so that my every cent worth, with the new charging system on usage, ppl cannot suka suka wanna go spin den juz go for a spin etc. Coz every trip will be charge. But I think they have to look for an opportune time to launch the GPS mileage charge system. Otherwise, say if they launch in 2011, those who paid really high COEs will still have to bear the GPS charges = DOUBLE WHAMMY! For those who have gotten cheap COEs say below $20K still can perhaps accept the new charging system in the name of smoother traffic. Tio bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 The only time COE will come down is when people drive till 10 years,but don't want to pay $47k for a COE or in CAT B, $62K, then COE will come down. Do note that COE is one time upfront payment,cannot by installment unless you buy new car.Some financial guru pls advise if it is possible to bank loan $47k for COE installment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazecow Neutral Newbie December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 The only time COE will come down is when people drive till 10 years,but don't want to pay $47k for a COE or in CAT B, $62K, then COE will come down. Do note that COE is one time upfront payment,cannot by installment unless you buy new car.Some financial guru pls advise if it is possible to bank loan $47k for COE installment? Yes, you can. Just talk to those car loan companies. most of them provide installments for COE renewal. But interest is quite high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Off topic a bit. Yesterday evening, the road was freakishly clear. I mean, at 6.30pm leaving Tuas and AYE (Keppel) was smooth all the way. Only at a few bottlenecks did my speed reduce to less than 40km/h. I reached Clarke Quay in 20+ mins! At peak hour! In my years at Jurong, this was the first time I ever experienced this! Anyone knows what happened? It can't be the COE cos that would just be illogical. partly due to school holidays and many families go holiday abroad. my colleagues, nine out of ten going abroad this december. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 Everyone was shocked of the high COE prices. So many wants to keep their car in good condition as its expensive to change cars. So many just drive slowly or safely! This might be the reason why road is smooth!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 The AYE tuas towards city direction, the traffic condition in the evening quite difficult to anticipate. Sometimes it is quite smooth but sometimes the traffic is very heavy or even jam! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ekardo Clutched December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 u will only see the effect 5 to 7 years time..when the older cars get obsolete..cars in year 2004 to 2008 are the most...when COE was dirt cheap and based on the wrong COE calculation... what they do now is for the future.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 well ppl keep complaining now new cars very expensive... actually its just back to normal like last time... my colleague was telling me tis morning... now the coe is more then the price he paid for his aveo wif coe then... hahaha Because... those who are complaining now were still wearing Dryper when the COE was sky high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flykite Clutched December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 $3 per litre of petrol will send 10% of the car owners to take BMW, $4 -> 30%, $5 -> 50% $10/litre -> think COE will crash! no, it will cause the causeway jam trailback to PIE and ICA will give out 10mth bonus to staff for the great increase in fines for flouting 3/4 tank rule Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 $3 per litre of petrol will send 10% of the car owners to take BMW, $4 -> 30%, $5 -> 50% $10/litre -> think COE will crash! Petrol $5/l? Our economy will be in Ice Age. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear December 10, 2010 Share December 10, 2010 (edited) to be honest la, if u are driving for a few years, will you really stop driving becaue of coe rise, at most down grade your car, as having a car is better than none, it is very hard to go back to the public transport, if u are driving daily for a few years. with such coe, u see more ppl looking at conti, instead of jap or koreans cars. with recent news on 08 civic stuck in the ware house, and kia weekend losing money sales, these ad will think of a way to hit the sales target promised to the manfuater, if not they will lose thier marketing rights good buys will be a hot time for buyer to buy the car, as they are bascially paying for the coe and get the car body free, like what kia is doing last weekend lol but also good la, see those past few motnh transcation of car, see that now more % of cars sold is buyer buying quality cars like bm mercs and audi, accident rate also tend to be lower, and we will have a safer and more beautiful road Edited December 10, 2010 by Minikong ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...