COE and Really lesser cars on road?

Saviourwu

The 4-5 cars contribute to the economy, but do not add congestion on the road leh....

put it this way. If there is only 100 COE for 100 cars, sold to 100 individuals, there will be 100 cars on the road at the same time.

But if 100 cars sold to 50 individuals, there will be only 50 cars on the road and another 50 in MSCP or garages.

lol that is a damn good way of putting things in perspective! :D

That's the problem when you have a free market. You have rich guys with 4-5 cars sitting in garages while the average man who needs a car cannot even afford one.

Yes that is the main aim gov will get the money and the roads will be less congested . If athe avrage man allowed buy the car he will use everytime and the roads will be congested. So it is not going to help the road situation so it is better to have a high COE. But the COE shouldn't reduce by the age of the car instaed once the car reach 7 years and taken out of our roads gov must pay the 70% of the COE back . But the loan should be 20% down payment and 7 years.

The only time COE will come down is when people drive till 10 years,but don't want to pay $47k for a COE or in CAT B, $62K, then COE will come down. Do note that COE is one time upfront payment,cannot by installment unless you buy new car.Some financial guru pls advise if it is possible to bank loan $47k for COE installment?

post deleted

Edited by Bilsteiner

If everyone were to drive till 10years! It will not be the solution!!

By that time, everyone will be urgent to get a new replacement, it will still drive the COE price even higher as there is not much leeway to wait for the new car.

I totAlly disagree that had everyone drive for 10years, the COE will not be expensive??

Now, car owners can wait for a right time to change car. Those driving 5years old cars, can wait and see for the next five years to change car when COE is reasonable.

Those driving eight years old cars, can wait and see for the next two years to change car when COE is low.

If everyone drives with the meantality of changing cars only at the 9.5 years, then there will be not much time left to really get a new car, whatever the prevailing COE price, will be lan lan the buying costs!

The current system is still the best!!

This high COE is simply due to very very good economy and prosperity of most singaporeans.

I challenge anyone to interview your relatives or colleagues....ask them wheather their properties aee in positive or negative equity! Everyone feels rich in Singapore today!!

It reAlly feels like the good old times are back once more.....like the time when GCT announcex "More good years!"

I am actually in this mood as boss has announced the bonus will be in my accont next friday, and he is adding one more month to the already announced figure few days back!!!

My wife now asking me to buy her a phillip pathek watch!

will take some time to see the decrease one la. soon will have ppl unwilling to renew COE and scrap car, kuku drivers wrap trees and scrap car and so on. But my guess is our govt up there one day will ki siao/ return to normal and want to increase car sales and reduce COE price again bla bla bla. It's their forte you see, today say this tmr say that. Small country easy to change rules.

Register - Deregister = growth rate

More family have more than 1 car n possibility of congestion is less.

N nowadays many r park at the car-mart waiting to be sold.

In my HDB blocks, few car r parked many days or in fact months.

Jam is becos last time owner r of age n they don't go town every weekends.

Nowadays many drivers r young n also many FT driving around showing off their super rides.

Since coe starts...everyone is buying cars no matter whY happened.

Recession....economic crisis....each time the buyers are more than the quota.

Those poorer and unwilling to buy new cars will drop out.

Many rich and willing is waiting to buy.

Its the car buyers like us will go kisiao....the gov will likely go ki siao while counting the easy COE $$$$.

will take some time to see the decrease one la. soon will have ppl unwilling to renew COE and scrap car, kuku drivers wrap trees and scrap car and so on. But my guess is our govt up there one day will ki siao/ return to normal and want to increase car sales and reduce COE price again bla bla bla. It's their forte you see, today say this tmr say that. Small country easy to change rules.

The 4-5 cars contribute to the economy, but do not add congestion on the road leh....

put it this way. If there is only 100 COE for 100 cars, sold to 100 individuals, there will be 100 cars on the road at the same time.

But if 100 cars sold to 50 individuals, there will be only 50 cars on the road and another 50 in MSCP or garages.

you are right. so as Sporeans, we have to choose what we want. less jams or cheaper cars. the govt thought they could have the cake and eat it by having low coe and increase erp. how wrong they were and congestion barely eased. on the other hand, the ave Sporean with a family kids etc may find it more difficult to own a car. it's a fine line between contributing to the economy and meeting the basic needs of Sporeans.

like casino, sure as hell contributes to economy but we know the issues. porno can also contribute to the economy.

Register - Deregister = growth rate

More family have more than 1 car n possibility of congestion is less.

N nowadays many r park at the car-mart waiting to be sold.

In my HDB blocks, few car r parked many days or in fact months.

Jam is becos last time owner r of age n they don't go town every weekends.

Nowadays many drivers r young n also many FT driving around showing off their super rides.

Not really though. Its in fact more jams.

Previous, 1 family 1 car. The husband will drive wife to work and child to school (or kids take bus etc).

Now, 1 family 2 cars. Husband drive 1, wife drive 1. More cars on the road..... if child has another to go school, even worse. 1 family but 3 cars on the road........ JAM JAM JAM....

Just look at bukit timah road during school holidays. Whats the major factor of jam? Fetching children and its mostly done by the mother. This is what happens when 1 family got 2 cars....

It's like those religion arguments right, say man a lot of troubles but without God will have even more. This also the same, MIW can always say without COE will have even more cars on road.

Previous, 1 family 1 car. The husband will drive wife to work and child to school (or kids take bus etc).

Now, 1 family 2 cars. Husband drive 1, wife drive 1. More cars on the road..... if child has another to go school, even worse. 1 family but 3 cars on the road........ JAM JAM JAM....

Just look at bukit timah road during school holidays. Whats the major factor of jam? Fetching children and its mostly done by the mother. This is what happens when 1 family got 2 cars....

why do kids always need to be fetched... love also should to have an extend ah. Need to give them a chance to learn independence, learn to use public transport. I used to walk home everyday, have only 50cents to eat a bowl of noodles during lunch. These days kids are having sushi lunch, costs $7 - $9 per meal.... what has singapore become... a city starting to have pampered kids who think they can do anything. Use knife slash others when unhappy, buy dogs and throw them away when tired of them....

i'm so sad that as many people get more rich, their children become more insensible, more inconsiderate... some-more many so young can buy car, who pay for them? and cause jam plus high insurance costs to others with their reckless driving and show-off attitude... [shakehead]

Come on guys the bottom line in every decision garment factory makes is don't reduce revenue stream.

2000 cat ACOEs @$10000 = ?

600 cat A COEs @$60000 = ?

Who wins ?

Want to control car population? Control the number of cars each family has.

Its rich who are causing the jam. I know a very rich family. Father drive Ferrari to work. Wife drive a 730li to work (both husband and wife same work place). Wife don't like Ferrari cause its uncomfortable so don't want to sit.

Then the son has a VW Sirocco and he drive to poly daily. This family alone contribute 3 cars to the road.

Even HDB themselves already say that its due to families having more cars thats resulting in shortage of parking lots.

Sales figures also show that luxury brands top the sales chart. It shows that rich are buy cars. Poor cannot afford. Road packed with more Mercs and BMWs, not with Jap/Korean cars.......

So who jam up the road? The rich ones.....

You are right. Agree with you that more family now has >1 car. That's because the car was so cheap for the last 3 years.

That's why COE must go up. Car price must go up. So that 1 family no longer can afford to own 2 or more cars.

Then it will be back to 1 family 1 car.

But the damage was done and have to wait 8-9 years before those family who already got 2 cars to go back to 1 car.

[idea] Or, we can convert Singapore to a communist country. Then we can cheong kong the 2nd car by law and give it to those who is loyal to the regime. Can?

You are right. Agree with you that more family now has >1 car. That's because the car was so cheap for the last 3 years.

That's why COE must go up. Car price must go up. So that 1 family no longer can afford to own 2 or more cars.

Then it will be back to 1 family 1 car.

But the damage was done and have to wait 8-9 years before those family who already got 2 cars to go back to 1 car.

[idea] Or, we can convert Singapore to a communist country. Then we can cheong kong the 2nd car by law and give it to those who is loyal to the regime. Can?

Now, the prices are so high that even some families cannot afford 1 car. But rich families not affected. So you still get more cars, except its now more luxury cars instead.

In other countries, people may say its unfair because it causes some families not to be able to afford cars while rich ones continue to buy more (it doesn't affect them).

But then this is Singapore. Money talks.

This is also why the whole wide world only Singapore has COE. If its implemented in other countries, I bet there will be protest.

What COE does is to remove the poor from the car population. Make them cannot afford COE. But they are just snapped up by the rich......

So what car population control? I don't know.....

Edited by Crazecow