COE and Really lesser cars on road?

Saviourwu

It is a win win situation. Govt get more money, car growth rate slows (DOESN'T NECESSARY IMPLY LESS CARS ON THE ROAD), less cheapskate car owners' behaviour on the road (assuming tat those who really cannot afford car ownership stop thinking of getting one).

Now govt needs to increase ERP or add more ERP gantries, encourage Petrol Cartel to up their petrol prices, or implement road usage (distance) based charges with a min fixed cost, then we will c more people taking public transport n less cars on the road which will result in less congestion, less road rage ( I hope), and less pollution to the environment.

[bounce1]

Edited by Sabretan

Come on guys the bottom line in every decision garment factory makes is don't reduce revenue stream.

2000 cat ACOEs @$10000 = $20,000,000

600 cat A COEs @$60000 = $36,000,000

Who wins ?

Govt win big time.

1. $16b more collection.

2. If issue 2000 COE, 2000 people will be complaining about traffic jam. Loss of productivity.

3. If issue 600, 1400 will complain no car. But 600 happy. Got car and no jam.

If you are the govt, which option will you choose? ^_^

why do kids always need to be fetched... love also should to have an extend ah. Need to give them a chance to learn independence, learn to use public transport. I used to walk home everyday, have only 50cents to eat a bowl of noodles during lunch. These days kids are having sushi lunch, costs $7 - $9 per meal.... what has singapore become... a city starting to have pampered kids who think they can do anything. Use knife slash others when unhappy, buy dogs and throw them away when tired of them....

i'm so sad that as many people get more rich, their children become more insensible, more inconsiderate... some-more many so young can buy car, who pay for them? and cause jam plus high insurance costs to others with their reckless driving and show-off attitude... [shakehead]

Pal, me too, when in primary school , walk back home after class...... everyday got 50 cents for tuckshop break...... think i and you same cat, mid 30s?

Lol... Me also the same. 50C tuckshop. Except I take school bus cause my house is a distance away from the school. Then later I take bus to school liao.

Rich kids now really fortunately.... Get to be chauffered by parents. Then grow up get their own cars for school.....

You just take a look at elite schools in the morning. Look at the jam caused along bukit timah due to mothers fetching child to school... Then evening fetching them home.....

Now, the prices are so high that even some families cannot afford 1 car. But rich families not affected. So you still get more cars, except its now more luxury cars instead.

In other countries, people may say its unfair because it causes some families not to be able to afford cars while rich ones continue to buy more (it doesn't affect them).

But then this is Singapore. Money talks.

This is also why the whole wide world only Singapore has COE. If its implemented in other countries, I bet there will be protest.

What COE does is to remove the poor from the car population. Make them cannot afford COE. But they are just snapped up by the rich......

So what car population control? I don't know.....

Yes, I understand your feeling.

Unfortunately, the damage was done from 2006 to 2008. The govt realized that and apply break in 2009, but it is deem to soft. 2010, they go all out to pull the break. From now till 2013, we will be in the after shock situation. LL medium income family also cannot afford 1 car.

By 2014-2015, things will get better as the cycle of bumper crop will come again. By then, I believe the govt will try to keep the COE at $30k level so that it is not too cheap for 1 family to own 2 cars nor too expensive for an average family to own a car.

Your quoted example, I think only represent < 5% of our population.

Govt win big time.

1. $16b more collection.

2. If issue 2000 COE, 2000 people will be complaining about traffic jam. Loss of productivity.

3. If issue 600, 1400 will complain no car. But 600 happy. Got car and no jam.

If you are the govt, which option will you choose? ^_^

Gahment always earn big time...... Gahment leh........

And regardless 2000 coe quota or 600 coe quota, oso will jam de lah....... and that is the extremely powerful reason to ADD MORE ERP GANTRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lol... Me also the same. 50C tuckshop. Except I take school bus cause my house is a distance away from the school. Then later I take bus to school liao.

Rich kids now really fortunately.... Get to be chauffered by parents. Then grow up get their own cars for school.....

You just take a look at elite schools in the morning. Look at the jam caused along bukit timah due to mothers fetching child to school... Then evening fetching them home.....

yeah~ seems like there are a number of us here in the "go to school with only 50cent" club [:p]

[:p]

Gahment always earn big time...... Gahment leh........

And regardless 2000 coe quota or 600 coe quota, oso will jam de lah....... and that is the extremely powerful reason to ADD MORE ERP GANTRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

COE money, ERP money, road tax money... spend money to jam, spend money to wait for carpark... And spend money to meet inconsiderate people or bullies on the road... what has singapore become? [hur]

why do kids always need to be fetched... love also should to have an extend ah. Need to give them a chance to learn independence, learn to use public transport. I used to walk home everyday, have only 50cents to eat a bowl of noodles during lunch. These days kids are having sushi lunch, costs $7 - $9 per meal.... what has singapore become... a city starting to have pampered kids who think they can do anything. Use knife slash others when unhappy, buy dogs and throw them away when tired of them....

i'm so sad that as many people get more rich, their children become more insensible, more inconsiderate... some-more many so young can buy car, who pay for them? and cause jam plus high insurance costs to others with their reckless driving and show-off attitude... [shakehead]

just LOLed at this

COE money, ERP money, road tax money... spend money to jam, spend money to wait for carpark... And spend money to meet inconsiderate people or bullies on the road... what has singapore become? [hur]

agreed , just wonder what had cause these behaviour and kaisu attiude .

just wonder those goverment ministers kena before these rude drivers and know how it feel like driving in singapore ?

From reading the replies.....

1) Singaporean hate rich people. The rich people are to blame for causing road congestion, owning more than 1 car etc

2) Singaporean blame the govt for the current predicament. It MUST be govt fault that the COE surge like crazy.

hehehehehehehe...

Different era and things has progressed. How to compare to those in the 70's, 80's? Do we still watch B&W TV, only 2 local channels, etc. Even the grown ups are more 'fortunate' than their parents/grand parents....cos most of us have overseas (malaysia included) holiday often, most of us have a car, we can sent an email to the other party within sec. unlike snail mail, we can call anyone while on the move, etc.....

Not only rich kids are chauffeured....just look at neighbourhood school and see the queue in during school's peak hours.

1) Singaporean hate rich people. The rich people are to blame for causing road congestion, owning more than 1 car etc

2) Singaporean blame the govt for the current predicament. It MUST be govt fault that the COE surge like crazy.

hehehehehehehe...

you singaporean?

you come from rich family?

You got a car which you buy with your OWN MONEY?

If NOT< PLEASE SHUT THE f--k UP!!!!!!!!!!! [mad]

COE will not reduce no. of car on the road. U can wait for LTA to implement the GPS road pricing system, that one will help to reduce as it make ppl think twice before they start the engine. They want to change sporean mindset, typical mindset is now i buy a car, i muz use until kao kao, 101% fully utilise it so that my every cent worth, with the new charging system on usage, ppl cannot suka suka wanna go spin den juz go for a spin etc. Coz every trip will be charge.

if buy cars dont use then park in carpark to collect dust? funny comments... buy cars then must use kao kao.hahahah..... who buy cars but dont use if needed must be those rich or moeny too many...

also if the gps charging system really implements, it will affect all those that are driving loh... unless u are those who take MRT or buses or even BIcycles... hahahah... then confirm u sing different tunes...

n fuel price went up also..... how i wish i lived in m'sia......... RM$1.90 for RON95

btw juz realised m'sia fuel also funny.... was in seremban on thurs... pumped v-power 97 for RM$2.30/l

den pumped at 2nd link v-power today b4 coming back to spore n it cost me RM$2.55!!

either there's price discrepancy in diff states, or they increase by 25cents at a go.... more scary than spore sia.... though still cheaper than spore...

hehehehehehehe...

i see the same trends.. lol.

on a side note, when people hate families for having more than 1 car.. do they consider the possibility that the kids are already young adults & working?

dad own business, mum working, probably 2 kids also have their own careers / businesses.. so having a car for each still sounds unreasonable meh?

if they can afford it, they will go buy it. you or me cannot do anything about it. why some people are being so unhappy about huh? [cool]

and just because when you were young, 50c as allowance, or walked 5KM to school or work.. doesn't mean kids have to do it again [laugh]