How Long Before COE fall to $20k

NightWind

How Long Before COE fall to $20k  

278 members have voted

1. 1. Hi, many of us may have rides below 5 yrs old and some will wonder if these can hold out untill COE return to $20k levels. How long do you think this will take?

• within 12 months
    • 1-2 years
    • 2-5 years
    • 5-8 years
    • 8-10 years
    • Above 10 years

Bro I think you need to think harder first leh... All those you mentioned and etc... all can be solved by looking at another company or competitor who can provide better options. But how in the world are you going to change the fact that our land size is so small and with 4-5mil folks around how is it ever possible by any means of epic calculations and proportions to allow everyone affordable private cars ownership?

Maybe we should all get shrunk like in the show "Honey I shrunk the kids" so we suddenly got a lot of space. But too bad welcome to the real world now.

If everybody owns a car in sg, we will have massive jams the moment we come out from our carparks [laugh]

Heck, when will we have cars that can fly? [bigcry]

If everybody owns a car in sg, we will have massive jams the moment we come out from our carparks [laugh]

Heck, when will we have cars that can fly? [bigcry]

LOL I also wish the "back to the future" car (sorry dunno the name of the car) can really blast off and fly also leh... Dont need to time travel... just can fly can le!! :wub:

Doesn't matter with rule 78, right now is the initial buying factor. If base on old system, lets take a Jazz 1.3 at $97000, 30% for a new car is $29100 cold hard cash before you can even apply for the loan, how many able to put down so much downpayment, not to mention the loan after which is max 7 years. If just base on an interest of 1.5%, you would have clock an installment of around 900 per month and the amount goes higher for other cars. Base on this, most earning below 4-5k who are owning cars now would most probably avoid new cars unless they are willing to part with the initial amount. This is just an example putting aside resale or whatever factors.

Agree! [thumbsup]

30% cold hard cash to part-off,how many of them willing or unable? [:/]

During 90's i m the one who cannot afford new car & 30% down payment.

So all the while driving coe car,second,third or fourth hand car. [laugh]

Agree! [thumbsup]

30% cold hard cash to part-off,how many of them willing or unable? [:/]

During 90's i m the one who cannot afford new car & 30% down payment.

So all the while driving coe car,second,third or fourth hand car. [laugh]

Govt can't earn anything with 30% downpay policy, but they can earn alot $ with high COE policy, so no prizes to guess which one they opted for.

Even with a fixed $10K COE, the car population will not grow so fast the last few years if downpay is 30%, 40% 50%, etc. Those not enuf cash simply cannot buy, and that is actually alot of people taken out of the picture of owning cars. If they can use this method for property loans, they could have easily implement it for cars, but why should they when they can't earn? Also, if COE is really for controlling population of car growth, then balloting will also achieve car population control, why need to bid? Again, because balloting they can't earn $. So end of the day, is all about earning $ isn't it?

Edited by Sgnick

Revenue generating cash cow... how to stop....

I think the car vehicle growth was intended ... they would know this would, 10 years down, result in overpopulation of cars. ... You mean the highly paid ministers and their 1st class honours statistics grads cannot do these forecasting meh ...

So, they did release a lot of COEs to drive the economy up, ppl buy cars, etc etc. . . 100% loans even made ppl buy more cars (admittedly, i went for the 100% loan even when i could downpay...)

Now, by resticting the COEs, they still earn because the lesser COE brings in more $$$, about the same as lower premiums relating to more COE.

10 COEs costing 10K each gives as much as 5 COE costing 20K.

There is nothing to reduce the numbers of cars , even at 1.5 % growth.

COE had always been a reflection of our economy, mostly ripples created by property boom...but this time round it's really the most significant hike. I remember in the good 90s, a brand new basic Honda Civic will easily be asking for 120K, with 30% Downpayment and max 70% loan. Waiting time to get their new car can be something between 2-4 weeks! I guess it won't make much difference now besides hearing more outcries in the forums. Lets quit thinking that our car prices will come down anytime soon until someone somewhere decides to do some stunts that rocks the boat too much.

I mean lets face it, If I sold my house and encashed a bluge and I'm driving something 5 years or more, I would be mostly itching towards getting a new car via 10 years loan + a little deposit of 10-20K...you will most likely pay monthly installment of somewhat the same but driving a new car, definately sounds tempting ley...

Edited by Gambel32

I think we shouldn't worry about the new cars, instead we should be more worried about the used car...I cannot recall a body that regulates used car prices.

Used car dealers had been taking the beating for a very long time...

Actually the whole situation is getting more and more ridiculous. On top of the import taxes and COE, the regime is looking to implement a distance based ERP to squeeze drivers further. I mean we already pay road tax (reasonable) and ERP for roads which are congested (after paying the roads are still congested). I simply cannot understand the rational behind this and frankly I am surprised that no one has picked this up. How much more do we have to pay to drive?? <_<

If you do not have a car, how do you travel? Taxi? MRT? Bus? WALK? Hahahahahaha...we have to accept it lah.

accept but there is always a limit rite? Kinda tired of the gov implementing different schemes (which are mostly to their advantage) at their will. [bigcry]

Do people have a better suggestion for managing congestion?

Everyone in Singapore is working hard to be wealthier, and along with wealth, car ownership is one of the aspirations.

If everyone is rich, and everyone owns cars, is there space to drive these cars around?

Just think, if cars were as cheap as Australia (for example) where a Honda Jazz is $20,000 registered on the road, how many people can own a car? And how much traffic jams would there be? A miscalculation of the deregistrations for the past ten years has already resulted in traffic jams getting worse and worse, what more a full deregulation of car ownership restrictions?

If COE and ERP don't come, it will still come in the form of sky-high parking charges (such as HK and Japan) or petrol prices (such as UK). The only difference is where the money goes. Its still not going to stay in your pocket if you desire to own a car.

accept but there is always a limit rite? Kinda tired of the gov implementing different schemes (which are mostly to their advantage) at their will. [bigcry]

no choice lah....don't any how talk, save the best during kopi and the best part of the best in whispers..."without wings"!

Everyone in Singapore is working hard to be wealthier, and along with wealth, car ownership is one of the aspirations.

If everyone is rich, and everyone owns cars, is there space to drive these cars around?

Just think, if cars were as cheap as Australia (for example) where a Honda Jazz is $20,000 registered on the road, how many people can own a car? And how much traffic jams would there be? A miscalculation of the deregistrations for the past ten years has already resulted in traffic jams getting worse and worse, what more a full deregulation of car ownership restrictions?

If COE and ERP don't come, it will still come in the form of sky-high parking charges (such as HK and Japan) or petrol prices (such as UK). The only difference is where the money goes. Its still not going to stay in your pocket if you desire to own a car.

I smell a ZHL???? :ph34r:

Lets face it...Singaporeans are known for being Asset rich cash poor. If wana complain its an never ending story lah...but ZH must bare in mind of the people trying to make a living. Recite our pledge loh...see what does it says?

Edited by Gambel32

I don't have to be zheng hoo lang, all it needs is common sense.

If car ownership is so easy, everyone own a car, but got space to drive or not?

More than one person driving a performance car has commented that got 300bhp also no place to zua, except late at night when the roads are empty. So buy sports car also no use. That is already an indicator of how congested the roads are. If car population rises faster than road building, you're going to have less and less roads to drive your precious car on.

And that's a fact. When I started driving in 2000 till now, the roads are so much more congested now than it was back then that my commute has doubled.

I don't have to be zheng hoo lang, all it needs is common sense.

If car ownership is so easy, everyone own a car, but got space to drive or not?

More than one person driving a performance car has commented that got 300bhp also no place to zua, except late at night when the roads are empty. So buy sports car also no use. That is already an indicator of how congested the roads are. If car population rises faster than road building, you're going to have less and less roads to drive your precious car on.

And that's a fact. When I started driving in 2000 till now, the roads are so much more congested now than it was back then that my commute has doubled.

Our Gov has everything taken cared off...Taxi, Bus, MRT mah but have you been taking any of these since 2000? inside also very jam de. No money talk also must softer, Sigh...

COE scheme is actually good for car population control, how many cars dereg = how many COEs available

But needs some tweaking to avoid this stupid $100K COE bidding

For Cat A and CAT B and CAT D, retain COE, but price it at $100 fees only, and ballot, no bidding, will achieve the same result for car population control as bidding. But then this means no $$$ for LTA, hahahahahahaha

Also, all balloting to be done by under individuals applicants, no more company applicant, and COEs not transferable for all CAT. And each individual can only apply once a year and each successful ballot your next one becomes more and more difficult, something like the HDB first timer advantage. And if someone is very rich but fail in the ballot, just buy a car from someone who bidded successfully, same like HDB u can;t get direct from HDB just buy resale at a premium.

Abolish CAT E

CAT C still maintain under bidding scheme but only can be bid by companies, this includes taxis too, and not transferable

For those who is super damn rich and they kaopeh why they so rich but not allowed to buy car, create a CAT F for them, starting bid for COE CAT F starts from $500K up. If u rich enuf to bid CAT F pls go ahead, not rich enuf shut up and join Cat A, B, D

How? Will my scheme work? Fair? Can it control car population?

Edited by Sgnick

Actually, from the way I see things, there is simply no way to avoid traffic jams. It simply happens when everyone needs to be at some place at the same time, and to get to these places, they need to use the same roads. For example, if you are working and start work at 9am in town. That means that you need to be at your work place before 9am correct? So does everyone who is working in your office and almost every company in the building which you are in. And when its time to knock off, everybody would be rushing off again correct?

From my point of view, traffic jams or heavy traffic for that matter is unavoidable, even if COEs rise to $100K, people who need to (or can afford to drive) still have to drive correct? I think the most important thing here is how to do manage the situation? Do we build more roads? Tax people more heavily for driving? Improve the public transport? But hey, this is a question where the multi-million dollar ministers and scholars to answer.. [:/]