How Long Before COE fall to $20k

NightWind

How Long Before COE fall to $20k  

278 members have voted

1. 1. Hi, many of us may have rides below 5 yrs old and some will wonder if these can hold out untill COE return to $20k levels. How long do you think this will take?

• within 12 months
    • 1-2 years
    • 2-5 years
    • 5-8 years
    • 8-10 years
    • Above 10 years

Hi, many of us may have rides below 5 yrs old and some will wonder if these can hold out untill COE return to $20k levels. How long do you think this will take?

Thats true but its a test I dont really wana carry out...my previous rides were all below 5 yrs old. But u r right.

I also wonder if I should still continue to drive up north as the insurance covers only the replacement cost of the vehicle and not the COE. Basically this is another rip-off by the PAP scam. if the car is stolen in Malaysia, it is the vehicle that is lost and not the COE as that paper is only relevant in sinkapoor.

Yet the current recovery claims require that after getting the insurance provceeds on the vehicle I have to buy a new COE. I cannot re-use my current COE. And once again it is the PAP govt that benefits from the loss.

If you look at the current system, the PAP govt will exploit every chance to suck money, even when its a situation where u suffer a loss they will suck u dry. How I hate this govt...

Thats true but its a test I dont really wana carry out...my previous rides were all below 5 yrs old. But u r right.

I also wonder if I should still continue to drive up north as the insurance covers only the replacement cost of the vehicle and not the COE. Basically this is another rip-off by the PAP scam. if the car is stolen in Malaysia, it is the vehicle that is lost and not the COE as that paper is only relevant in sinkapoor.

Yet the current recovery claims require that after getting the insurance provceeds on the vehicle I have to buy a new COE. I cannot re-use my current COE. And once again it is the PAP govt that benefits from the loss.

If you look at the current system, the PAP govt will exploit every chance to suck money, even when its a situation where u suffer a loss they will suck u dry. How I hate this govt...

SUPER DUPER VACUUM CLEANER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Insurance does not compensate for the COE, because LTA will pay you back the residual unconsumed COE, simply report your car lost and deregister it. You also get back your residual PARF value which varies depending on the age of your car. These two add up is the paper value.

In response to the TS's wondering of $20k COE, not so soon, but it will happen. When China hits the wall, and the US goes under due to printing too much money, things will turn around. But think hard if you wanna buy a car in uncertain times just to take advantage of low COE......

I know, I already checked with LTA and the insurers. The BOTTOM LINE IS I NEED TO PURCHASE A NEW COE AT PREVAILING COE PRICE in order to drive the replacement vehicle.

This does not make sense since what is lost is the vehicle and not the COE. The COE is relevant and peculiar only to sinkapoor and cannot be used anywhere else....there is no reason why I cannot use my old COE for the new replacement vehicle.

The only reason is because the LTA wants to force victims who lost their vehicles to spend $$$ to buy another new COE. The rebate on the old COE ets will be miniscule compared to the cost of getting a new COE today.

Insurance does not compensate for the COE, because LTA will pay you back the residual unconsumed COE, simply report your car lost and deregister it. You also get back your residual PARF value which varies depending on the age of your car. These two add up is the paper value.]

Once the average $60-70k COE sets in, give it one year, say 2012 onwards.

Everyone will accept the high COE as norm, and will start to replace their 3-5 years old car.

This week is just a knee jerk reaction, where everyone promised to drive their car for 10years.

Just look at the super high HDB and private, everyone also say very expensive, etc. But then hor once stability sets in, people will accept the norm and continue buying high priced property.

I know, I already checked with LTA and the insurers. The BOTTOM LINE IS I NEED TO PURCHASE A NEW COE AT PREVAILING COE PRICE in order to drive the replacement vehicle.

This does not make sense since what is lost is the vehicle and not the COE. The COE is relevant and peculiar only to sinkapoor and cannot be used anywhere else....there is no reason why I cannot use my old COE for the new replacement vehicle.

The only reason is because the LTA wants to force victims who lost their vehicles to spend $$$ to buy another new COE. The rebate on the old COE ets will be miniscule compared to the cost of getting a new COE today.

Bro, if you feel you are being shortchanged/conned by the govt, just migrate lor. I know one day I will but now need to save up $$ first. ^_^

Many rules/laws/procedures implemented by our loving Gahmen just dun seem to make any sense to me. I believe things are going to get worse and worse for peasants here unless Singaporeans find the courage to face the unknown (can be better or worse) by not voting for PAP. Well, that's very unlikely to happen next year.

Yes. LTA formulated their policy specially so they can rip off all the tiny number of people who lose their vehicles each year.

Why are you so concerned about this issue anyway? Did you happen to lose your vehicle or were you planning to lose it?

Edited by Kusje

and we are just suppossed to get used to "and accept this as norm".....i.e get used to being ripped off?

Once the average $60-70k COE sets in, give it one year, say 2012 onwards.

Everyone will accept the high COE as norm, and will start to replace their 3-5 years old car.

This week is just a knee jerk reaction, where everyone promised to drive their car for 10years.

Just look at the super high HDB and private, everyone also say very expensive, etc. But then hor once stability sets in, people will accept the norm and continue buying high priced property.

yes i will...this is no place to raise a family or retire. But is it fair that citizens r forced out of their own country by PAP?

Bro, if you feel you are being shortchanged/conned by the govt, just migrate lor. I know one day I will but now need to save up $$ first. ^_^

Many rules/laws/procedures implemented by our loving Gahmen just dun seem to make any sense to me. I believe things are going to get worse and worse for peasants here unless Singaporeans find the courage to face the unknown (can be better or worse) by not voting for PAP. Well, that's very unlikely to happen next year.

Hello, its not a "small number"....1stly the insurance policy applies to ALL DRIVERS so if it does not cover COE ALL drivers are affected.

And secondly many of the drivers also drive to Malaysia and as all of us know many have lost their cars in Malysia either via accidents or being stolen.

Thirdly this is just one of numerous measures implemented by PAP to suck us dry. The measures dont work in isolation, they work IN TANDEM as part of a greater whole to herd and rip us off.

If you STILL DONT GET IT, picture helpless mice in a maze which used to have numerous exits to freedom, slowly each exit is closed off to lead it to the only exit to the cat's mouth.

AND IF U STILL DONT GET IT compare this to the ERP system where one by one alll the free exits are blocked....every exit into and out of the city...n we are taxed even at nites when we leave the city. And there are gantries erected within less then 1km apart on same stretch of road with no exits in between. And the same gantries stay on AT NITE TILL AFTER 10.30PM.

AND IF U STILL DONT GET IT its ok u msg me privately and i take out big coloured crayons (from my kids pre-school kit) and draw a picture for u.

And finally, no other country implements such redicullous measures to "control traffic". If they are really honest about controlling traffic there are plenty of other ways. Coincidentally no other country also have ministers that pay themselves million dollar salaries....hmm now lets try to connect the dots....to see the big pic...

Yes. LTA formulated their policy specially so they can rip off all the tiny number of people who lose their vehicles each year.

Why are you so concerned about this issue anyway? Did you happen to lose your vehicle or were you planning to lose it?

they're not forcing you out of the country. they're just making OTHERS feel more welcomed.

besides, every viking ship needs a bunch of slaves to pull the oars below deck.

point is, everyone has a place in sillypore. you're just expected to know your role and shut your mouth.

[drivingcar]

Hello, its not a "small number"....1stly the insurance policy applies to ALL DRIVERS so if it does not cover COE ALL drivers are affected.

And secondly many of the drivers also drive to Malaysia and as all of us know many have lost their cars in Malysia either via accidents or being stolen.

Thirdly this is just one of numerous measures implemented by PAP to suck us dry. The measures dont work in isolation, they work IN TANDEM as part of a greater whole to herd and rip us off.

If you STILL DONT GET IT, picture helpless mice in a maze which used to have numerous exits to freedom, slowly each exit is closed off to lead it to the only exit to the cat's mouth.

AND IF U STILL DONT GET IT compare this to the ERP system where one by one alll the free exits are blocked....every exit into and out of the city...n we are taxed even at nites when we leave the city. And there are gantries erected within less then 1km apart on same stretch of road with no exits in between. And the same gantries stay on AT NITE TILL AFTER 10.30PM.

AND IF U STILL DONT GET IT its ok u msg me privately and i take out big coloured crayons (from my kids pre-school kit) and draw a picture for u.

And finally, no other country implements such redicullous measures to "control traffic". If they are really honest about controlling traffic there are plenty of other ways. Coincidentally no other country also have ministers that pay themselves million dollar salaries....hmm now lets try to connect the dots....to see the big pic...

chill man. some people choose to live within the matrix. best we leave them inside their happy bubble full of rainbows, butterflies and friendly men-in-white cuddling up with them in bed.

Having just come back from the US, rented a car and driven there (almost 700 km), it has become quite clear to me that the powers-that-be here are shameless profiteers.

Cars are dirt cheap there to begin with. There *is* the occasional congestion at certain times in the downtown district (of San Diego), especially now that it's the holiday season, but NOBODY talks about increasing the prices of cars, or taxing them into the stratosphere, or imposing ridiculous prices for a piece of paper. Gasoline is around USD 3.25 per gallon, equivalent to around SGD$1.12/litre. That's for PON87 "regular" - compare that with our own RON92 prices. Street parking is almost always free, at least for the first two hours. This, despite the fact that it's sometimes very difficult to get a space, especially in the evenings during holiday periods. Yet noone breathes a word about charging the citizens more.

And it was a joy to drive in the US - people signal their intentions early, about 90% of the time. When one signals, they give way, even slowing down to let one merge. Even without a real practical knowledge of the "give way" priority, it's still a breeze to drive there, since everyone is cautious and polite enough to get a firm read of the other person's intentions first. Freeway etiquette is impressive, an impression reinforced when I came back to Sg and got into the cab from hell. And yet they manage to maintain speeds of 80-90mph (130 to 140 km/hr) on their freeways, in contrast to our own pathetic speeds with self-righteous hoggers-galore.

It seems that the main effect of the gahmen profiteering in this country has been to drive us (pun intended) to become completely stressed-out a------es on the road.

And, inevitably, when one of our resident bootlickers sees this post, he's going to tell me to migrate. And just as inevitably, I'm going to tell him to boil his empty little head, since it's my right and privilege as a citizen to vote for a party that doesn't have a track record of making shameless profiteering its first priority. I'm not so naive as to believe the ruling party is the be-all and end-all of our social ills in Sg, but they're a damned good start.

If the beng next door suddenly moves into your home, kicks u outta your master bedroom, ask u to sleep in the hall, and appointed u as "SLAVE", imposes a "CPF" on your monthly savings which directs it to his personal account, and then brings in his indian FT frens also, so that your wife can cook n wash for them and u can pay for their living expenses....

i guess you will "know your role and shut your mouth too".

and do u know what will happen if the local school bully walks over on your 1st day at school and takes your lunch and lunch money and you "know your roles and shut your mouth"?

What do u think will happen in day 2, 3....4555..99999...and with each day that the bully goes unchallenged it becomes harder to say no to him as he has entrenched himself...and new comers will be subject to the same fate...

YES LETS ALL "know your role and shut your mouth too."....

they're not forcing you out of the country. they're just making OTHERS feel more welcomed.

besides, every viking ship needs a bunch of slaves to pull the oars below deck.

point is, everyone has a place in sillypore. you're just expected to know your role and shut your mouth.

[drivingcar]

This part I do not understand. Why should the insurer compensate the loss of a used car with a new vehicle with a new COE, unless it is a vehicle that is insured as 1 to 1 replacement within the first year?

For all other cases, the insurer normally makes a payout that is roughly the market price of a replacement car of same make/model/specification/age. Where does COE come into the picture in those cases?