Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 army... different culture altogether haha u can relate to me ma, i used to be from there... which branch? armor, arty, infantry or special ops ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 My batch boys, in the beginning, there were 14 of us. Now only two stayed with the navy as their career. The rest of us left after our 6 yrs contract. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 It is not up to the individual ship CO to decide whether to sail or not. It is the Fleet commander decision. But for small training exercises, it is the individual ship CO. He has to seek permission from the Sqn CO 1st too. Small exercises, I refer to gun alignment, anchoring exercise, heli ops, RAS(refuelling at sea), narrow channel navigation and other secret sensitive exercises which I cannot mention. So far my CO, none is above 40 leh. But that is life in the Navy. Sailing is the way of life. Without us at sea, others cannot enjoy the peace. So even if "others" attack SG, our other asserts are out there and can counter ASAP. Anyway, those 3D2N sailing for MCV mostly happen in the weekdays. Weekends are mostly free apart from major exercises or overseas deployment. If you need to see ur family everyday, navy is definately not for u. Thatz why the low manpower issue that they are facing now. How many SG ppl wana go out to sea as a career??? how old before you get a permanent staff tour? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 haha u can relate to me ma, i used to be from there... which branch? armor, arty, infantry or special ops ? too old loh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 is he in Maju one?alot ang kong? nope, not in maju and no ang kong. indian chap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 So many navy men.. U all know the girls who died in the naval ship crash? 1 was my sec school classmate sia..so sad. She sign on army to support family, vary tom boyish but nice girl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 too old loh infantry? guards? in any case, those days are over liao. for me the 2.5 years plus all the years of ICT were quite an experience. only someone who had served NS would know what it was like... the next time I guess I will step into a lion & tiger base will be during my son's BMT parent visit day haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 So many navy men.. U all know the girls who died in the naval ship crash? 1 was my sec school classmate sia..so sad. She sign on army to support family, vary tom boyish but nice girl. sorry to hear that. IIRC there were 4 victims, all females. only 3 bodies were recovered whereas one was never found... really heartbreaking case... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 infantry? guards? in any case, those days are over liao. for me the 2.5 years plus all the years of ICT were quite an experience. only someone who had served NS would know what it was like... the next time I guess I will step into a lion & tiger base will be during my son's BMT parent visit day haha your son in primary what now? many years to go Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 your son in primary what now? many years to go N2 only So that will be what, 15-16 years from now? maybe by then no more compulsory NS... the defence part may be outsourced to other folks then... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 N2 only So that will be what, 15-16 years from now? maybe by then no more compulsory NS... the defence part may be outsourced to other folks then... u finished your ICT alr? you should be very young mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 u finished your ICT alr? you should be very young mah Just reached the statutory 40-year age few months back & they sent me a letter to throw me out. That was the only time in my life I felt so relieved being "rejected/retrenched" by an organisation!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 wah lau.. weirdos in NS becomes RSN talk.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 how old before you get a permanent staff tour? This one has to depend on ur paper qualification upon sign on. If scholar, its like a speeding bullet. If farmer, sit one corner and wait for ur turn. During my time, I have two scholar CO and one female scholar officer. She went thru most appointments like bullet train. Then I also see normal degree(scheme A) officer, two yrs onboard still a NO. All scholars are under scheme C, if president scholar, I heard is scheme C++. My colleague here, his son is a president scholar with RSAF. Currently studying in UK for his degree, fully paid by MINDEF and got allowance in pounds somemore. When he sign on, a major took the contract to his house and discuss with my colleague and his son before he sign on. When I sign on, I must ownself go CMPB depot rd. Different life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 wah lau.. weirdos in NS becomes RSN talk.. haha partly responsible for the OOOOT on navy, paiseh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 Oh no the RSN talk continues... please start a new thread.. I want to read about weirdos.. not RSN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 This one has to depend on ur paper qualification upon sign on. If scholar, its like a speeding bullet. If farmer, sit one corner and wait for ur turn. During my time, I have two scholar CO and one female scholar officer. She went thru most appointments like bullet train. Then I also see normal degree(scheme A) officer, two yrs onboard still a NO. All scholars are under scheme C, if president scholar, I heard is scheme C++. My colleague here, his son is a president scholar with RSAF. Currently studying in UK for his degree, fully paid by MINDEF and got allowance in pounds somemore. When he sign on, a major took the contract to his house and discuss with my colleague and his son before he sign on. When I sign on, I must ownself go CMPB depot rd. Different life. bro, that's why there are farmer- & scholar-classification even for the officer corps. iguess those "farmers" will hanta kaki at certain rank & not move on any more. probably at the end of their contract they will be released to the market if their appraisal are not up to the mark. that's life... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 Oh no the RSN talk continues... please start a new thread.. I want to read about weirdos.. not RSN i did contribute on weirdos le... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...