Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 My vocation was a hated one so best not reveal here haha combat & infantry-trained though considered service vocation...ROD around 92 i think after i came back from U to serve my remaining time. ya MCV was the crown jewel then & the MGBs were slated to be second-class after they arrived. no one knows you can actually swim inside the lst water tank haha thought u guys like to hang around the quarterdeck to have your meals? the galley too cramp le my time they fumigate the ship before setting sail. it succeeded & serve the purpose but we suffered! stupid rats got killed somewhere & we get o smell rotten meat the entire cruise &**%!! you mentioned boarding so Sea-soldier or NDU? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 The last time I went onboard the Taiwanese Frigate, they had free flow of soft drink and ice cream. The ice cream is dispense from those sundae machine like in 7-11. Our current Frigate has soft drink machine, not free thou but cheaper than the canteen. So u see, most countries, navy is the most welfare oriented forces. Take a look at this natgeo/discovery channel miniseries called "Carrier".. see what's like on board a US Aircraft Carrier during 6mths deployment into the gulf.. makes all other arms of US Armed Forces looks damn shiong.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endure201 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 During my time when those officer was in the crossing ceremony, we no give chance one, even if he is our HOD......but no hard feeling.....we even have boxing game once during one of the MSTD trip. We had a crew that fight with the Log O.....but it is only a few mins fight as co worry that someone may get injured..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 The last time I went onboard the Taiwanese Frigate, they had free flow of soft drink and ice cream. The ice cream is dispense from those sundae machine like in 7-11. Our current Frigate has soft drink machine, not free thou but cheaper than the canteen. So u see, most countries, navy is the most welfare oriented forces. FREE SOFT DRINK AND ICE CREAM??? how to pass ippt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 My vocation was a hated one so best not reveal here haha combat & infantry-trained though considered service vocation...ROD around 92 i think after i came back from U to serve my remaining time. ya MCV was the crown jewel then & the MGBs were slated to be second-class after they arrived. no one knows you can actually swim inside the lst water tank haha thought u guys like to hang around the quarterdeck to have your meals? the galley too cramp le my time they fumigate the ship before setting sail. it succeeded & serve the purpose but we suffered! stupid rats got killed somewhere & we get o smell rotten meat the entire cruise &**%!! i was touring the LST last month and im curious dont you guys feel claustrophobic under deck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 MCMV = Mine Counter Measure Vessel MCV = Missile Covette Vessel RSS XXXXX = Republic of Singapore Ship XXXXXXX A little bit of navy answers for u. thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Take a look at this natgeo/discovery channel miniseries called "Carrier".. see what's like on board a US Aircraft Carrier during 6mths deployment into the gulf.. makes all other arms of US Armed Forces looks damn shiong.. u watch behind enemy lines can liaos. kick football into the wind and eat jell o Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 no one knows you can actually swim inside the lst water tank haha In MCV, we also top up the forward ballast tank with freshwater during long overseas trip. It can contain 8 tons of water. 1) To have adequate freash water supply for the trip. 2) To keep the bow in the water. After reaching the port of call, we will drain the tank and top up with freshwater. During this time, its swimming time!!! The tank is abt the size of a five-room HDB living room. Shhhh dont tell ppl abt it!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 In MCV, we also top up the forward ballast tank with freshwater during long overseas trip. It can contain 8 tons of water. 1) To have adequate freash water supply for the trip. 2) To keep the bow in the water. After reaching the port of call, we will drain the tank and top up with freshwater. During this time, its swimming time!!! The tank is abt the size of a five-room HDB living room. Shhhh dont tell ppl abt it!!! the water filtration so good ah? later drinking halfway got hair Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 During my time when those officer was in the crossing ceremony, we no give chance one, even if he is our HOD......but no hard feeling.....we even have boxing game once during one of the MSTD trip. We had a crew that fight with the Log O.....but it is only a few mins fight as co worry that someone may get injured..... ya lo we were a bit hesitant when dealing with them but they were game enough to say bring it on. still lighter touch was administered thu... double standard hor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endure201 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 My vocation was a hated one so best not reveal here haha combat & infantry-trained though considered service vocation...ROD around 92 i think after i came back from U to serve my remaining time. U frogman har? Are you a regular? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 MCV decomissioned alr? LST officers wardroom very nice too bad the normal galley look like mcdonalds style did get get to see the CPO or JR mess? normally folks do not go to other people's mess. even officers have to ask for permission (those days) to enter a CPO or JR mess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 you mentioned boarding so Sea-soldier or NDU? haha after i tell you my vocation i have to send folks to do a terminate-with-extreme-prejudice mission Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 My vocation was a hated one so best not reveal here haha combat & infantry-trained though considered service vocation...ROD around 92 i think after i came back from U to serve my remaining time. U frogman har? Are you a regular? no la not a regular. no way... an instructor in physical activities la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 did get get to see the CPO or JR mess? normally folks do not go to other people's mess. even officers have to ask for permission (those days) to enter a CPO or JR mess not sure leh. toured the whole ship but i believe i did. can you describe how is it like ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 haha after i tell you my vocation i have to send folks to do a terminate-with-extreme-prejudice mission its okie me lao jiao liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 not sure leh. toured the whole ship but i believe i did. can you describe how is it like ? The ship u toured is different from the ship Vulcann was attached to. Although they are same name, but they are totally different ships. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 The ship u toured is different from the ship Vulcann was attached to. Although they are same name, but they are totally different ships. but it looked very old from the inside leh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...