Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 (edited) Definately a bit of homesick. But we had lots of things to do onboard to keep us going. Like watching finish 50 VHS tape/VCD/DVD movies. Playing lan games on our own laptop. Running round the ship butt naked chasing after the birthday boy. The best is having a chef/cook who can whip up local delights. We had wanton mee, laksa, char kway teoy, prawn/fishball noodle soup, fried hokkien mee, roti prata, ice kacang, teochew porridge, fried rice, chili crabs, mee soto, mee rebus, too many to recall!!! And the usual hotdog, fish fillet, luncheon meat, sardine, canned fruit c0cktails, etc........ Basically out at sea we run a routine of 1 on, two off. On watch for 4hrs and rest 8hrs. Plenty of time to catch up on reading or doing ur own stuff. Otherwise, just watch the sunrise and sunset, moonrise and moonset. wah lan eh officer never complain ah navy sound like sibei welfare Are all naval chefs excellent at cooking local food? i thought cannot bring laptop? Edited January 5, 2011 by Cerano ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endure201 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Iraq war was in the 1990 and tat was the year i went for my upgrading course. I had went through 2 crossing equator ceremonies, first time i kana tegan and the second time my turn to tegan people .... Indeed you are right, there is a muslim cemetry there, there is another chinese cemerty somewhere leading to the old officer block too. In reply to cerano, no worries, nowaday Mids is very good life unlike those days that they used to sail in the old county class LST. The modern LST is much bigger than the county class, much more comfortable and training will be more relax compared to the older days. They sail, learn to navigate, 'see stars', perform look out, attend classes. play games, learn basic knowledge in the engine room etc.....Just will 'est good' and 'sleep good' u can peace of mind if your boy goes to attend the Midshiment school.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Iraq war was in the 1990 and tat was the year i went for my upgrading course. I had went through 2 crossing equator ceremonies, first time i kana tegan and the second time my turn to tegan people .... Indeed you are right, there is a muslim cemetry there, there is another chinese cemerty somewhere leading to the old officer block too. In reply to cerano, no worries, nowaday Mids is very good life unlike those days that they used to sail in the old county class LST. The modern LST is much bigger than the county class, much more comfortable and training will be more relax compared to the older days. They sail, learn to navigate, 'see stars', perform look out, attend classes. play games, learn basic knowledge in the engine room etc.....Just will 'est good' and 'sleep good' u can peace of mind if your boy goes to attend the Midshiment school.... ho say liao how much sleep you guys get per day? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 ive never sailed so im quite curious as to how you guys feel when away from home without proper internet and phones on long deployments bro, those days in the early nineties no LAN, no internet & defintely no MOBILES!! Only thing some of them had was the pager in the infancy stage-big ones with only numerical display. Sorry nothing to get entertain yourself other than the old VHS tapes in the wardroom or CPO mess. Some of us took to running around the main deck & during foul weather, the tank deck below. Long deployment? As comparedtother more established navies like the US, our time at sea was considered short liao, typical a few weeks with ports of call in between so not that bad. Our MSTD was about 6-7 weeks with about a weeks sail without seeing or touching land. Morning wake up & go to the main deck to watch sunrise was a wonderful experience for us city boys. The deep blue waters was a pleasant sight & occasionally the bow would frighten schools of flying fishes which then literally "flew" away above surface all over-GREAT VIEW! Food wise so so my MSTD time. They would pack the ship with fresh food like veg & fruits & when all these run out, start cooking frozenn stuff. Smelling the "sweet" fumes & having our meals at the quarterdeck was a daily affair hehe Life on board ship requires some getting used to though. Defintely nothing as compared to Star Cruises!! My experience as compared to the old salts was nothing also. One gruffy old WO was telling me in their younger days life was even tougher... There were no AC on board!! Now I believe only the ROC navy has no AC onboard their Countys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Definately a bit of homesick. But we had lots of things to do onboard to keep us going. Like watching finish 50 VHS tape/VCD/DVD movies. Playing lan games on our own laptop. Running round the ship butt naked chasing after the birthday boy. Sometimes we have kite flying competition, best crossdress competition, bingo, treasure hunt, all kinds of games when u attend D&D but uncensored version. The best is having a chef/cook who can whip up local delights. We had wanton mee, laksa, char kway teoy, prawn/fishball noodle soup, fried hokkien mee, roti prata, ice kacang, teochew porridge, fried rice, chili crabs, mee soto, mee rebus, too many to recall!!! And the usual hotdog, fish fillet, luncheon meat, sardine, canned fruit c0cktails, etc........ Basically out at sea we run a routine of 1 on, two off. On watch for 4hrs and rest 8hrs. Plenty of time to catch up on reading or doing ur own stuff. Otherwise, just watch the sunrise and sunset, moonrise and moonset. your time good life liao as compared to the oldies... your cook really whipped up some good stuff in the galley hor? Gota give it to them for being able to survive in the cramp place & preparing meals for some many mouths on board What you all do for dog watch activities? Ours mainly exercise, exercise & still exercise. Sometimes we had volleyball sessions at the tank deck. Highlight would always be the equator crossing ceremony... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 wah lan eh officer never complain ah navy sound like sibei welfare Are all naval chefs excellent at cooking local food? i thought cannot bring laptop? Yes, navy is the best welfare among the three armed forces. SAF need to keep us modivated out in the open sea. Imagine having 12 days of shore leave in a single deployment. So far my bro tell me his r&r in army is max 3 days only. I have 12 days of shore leave when I was in Taiwan and in Australia. Not all naval chef are good cooks. I met some F up ones too. Only know how to cook hotdog and fish fillet, rice and campbell soup. Kena F by coxswain and XO. Can bring laptop in for overseas trip only. Basically, CO will submit a list to base commander, then the laptops are collected and sent to NSO for screening and then allowed onboard. Once back to SG, it must be removed from ship immediately. Depends on the welfare of the ship CO. We had a great CO then, he chiong with us at the pubs, open his house for us to gamble, first one to drink with us onboard the ship and will mix with us. He will drag all the nerdy officers from their cabin ta a few cans of tiger b4 they can sleep. But comes to work, super super on on. Dont play ard with him when it comes to work. He is now the SQN CO of the Frigates. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 nice CO what is this equator crossing ceremony? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan39 Neutral Newbie January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Anyone from 41SAR??Ord in dec 2001?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Iraq war was in the 1990 and tat was the year i went for my upgrading course. I had went through 2 crossing equator ceremonies, first time i kana tegan and the second time my turn to tegan people .... Indeed you are right, there is a muslim cemetry there, there is another chinese cemerty somewhere leading to the old officer block too. In reply to cerano, no worries, nowaday Mids is very good life unlike those days that they used to sail in the old county class LST. The modern LST is much bigger than the county class, much more comfortable and training will be more relax compared to the older days. They sail, learn to navigate, 'see stars', perform look out, attend classes. play games, learn basic knowledge in the engine room etc.....Just will 'est good' and 'sleep good' u can peace of mind if your boy goes to attend the Midshiment school.... wow that means we were roughly at the same time serving our nation then. haha pollywogs will never understand what the ceremony is all about-let them find out lo, fellow shellback BTW you still have the big brownish cert? they say this is valid for life though most of us may never step on board another naval vessel again in our lifetime... The cemetry really is creepy near evening time... how time flies... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 I have this weirdo cook in my unit, didn't know he existed until the day I was tasked to escort him back from DB. Then realized he enlisted like 2-3 years before me. His favourite pass time? AWOL, 2 weeks later he awol again. 2-3 years b4 me + 2 years when I was in unit and I ROD already, he still in DB. Longest serving NSF? Reason for AWOL. No money, Army gave him place to sleep and eat. Damn fit cause in DB most of the time. no need go DB wat, liddat he also can ORD 1st then come out n rob or steal, if kena caught go jail also can get free food n lodgings? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 your time good life liao as compared to the oldies... your cook really whipped up some good stuff in the galley hor? Gota give it to them for being able to survive in the cramp place & preparing meals for some many mouths on board What you all do for dog watch activities? Ours mainly exercise, exercise & still exercise. Sometimes we had volleyball sessions at the tank deck. Highlight would always be the equator crossing ceremony... My time was late 90s to early 2000s. Ya, pretty good life. I would say so too. My ship is an MCV so not much space to exercise so we had various activities to keep us entertained. Like I mentioned b4, various competitions that keep the crew happy. Basically every single one joined in the competition one way or another. We are grouped according to departments, Nav team, CIC team, Tech team, Officers team and Outriders team(they are base personnel attached to the ship during long deployments like divers, medics, various tech personnel). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 nice CO what is this equator crossing ceremony? google & you can find out more abt the ceremony :) basically it is a old brtitish seafarer tradition when you get initiated when crossing the equator & other lines around the globe. ragging, torturing or whatever you name it will happen to poor pollywogs, the lowest living liveform in the ocean, who after the initiation get to become higher ranked Shellbacks, all in the name of King Neptune, the mythical ruler of the sea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Seems like you navy boys got all the good deal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endure201 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Is abot 6-7 hrs of sleep/day..... In the 90's where have LAN? Laptop? But my CET have a mobile phone (water bottle type) during 1991, i still remember when we came back from overseas trip, once we in Singapore water and hp signal is good, we will start to on call taxi. Once we are about to alongside tuas, the jetty is flooded with taxi to pick us up ..... I am lucky to have a very good chief cook onboard, we had mee siam, chicken rice, char kway teoy, fired prawn noodle, western food, etc etc.....for meals during overseas trip. During my time, we had the best cook in the RSN onboard our vessel, we always look forward to meal time And during my time our ship is famous for......... Those early 90's LST crew will know wat we are famous for, infact some of those used to attached our ship's army personnel know too. Really miss those sailing days..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 nice CO what is this equator crossing ceremony? Its a ceremony that u will never forget in ur lifetime. You will be wet, oily and smelly. Need to bath twice to remove the smell. It is fun and if no females onboard, it will be fully uncensored. Only the navies practise this tradition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 My time was late 90s to early 2000s. Ya, pretty good life. I would say so too. My ship is an MCV so not much space to exercise so we had various activities to keep us entertained. Like I mentioned b4, various competitions that keep the crew happy. Basically every single one joined in the competition one way or another. We are grouped according to departments, Nav team, CIC team, Tech team, Officers team and Outriders team(they are base personnel attached to the ship during long deployments like divers, medics, various tech personnel). but your corvettes were the envy of everyone in the service then. my time the MGBs were the ruling champions. agree even in LSTs space was also not much & our bunks were also cramped like hell. saw many first timers knocking their heads onto bulkheads all over & having bruises. Some had injuries on their fingers (OUCH!!!) bec of slammed hatches. Definitely not easy to be a crew on board. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Seems like you navy boys got all the good deal. You can go and sign on and join the navy. See their ads recently??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 Is abot 6-7 hrs of sleep/day..... In the 90's where have LAN? Laptop? But my CET have a mobile phone (water bottle type) during 1991, i still remember when we came back from overseas trip, once we in Singapore water and hp signal is good, we will start to on call taxi. Once we are about to alongside tuas, the jetty is flooded with taxi to pick us up ..... I am lucky to have a very good chief cook onboard, we had mee siam, chicken rice, char kway teoy, fired prawn noodle, western food, etc etc.....for meals during overseas trip. During my time, we had the best cook in the RSN onboard our vessel, we always look forward to meal time And during my time our ship is famous for......... Those early 90's LST crew will know wat we are famous for, infact some of those used to attached our ship's army personnel know too. Really miss those sailing days..... only folks who were on board as a ship's company or attached personnel would know what life is all about on board May have to check some old photos if we had boarded your vessel then for MSTD. Did you go to any? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...