Ken4555 1st Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 My car is 40k km and fuel consumption went up I think cos of dirty fuel injector. So I added redline SI-1 and the fuel consumption when back to normal. Is the same stuff as Techron from Caltex but it is very diluted in petrol. The bottle is concentrated. I also add 1 quart of Redline 5-40 engine oil to normal cheap syn oil. The Redline is 60% ester oil and is the best base oil you can get. Ester oil sticks to metal like a magnet and is good for start up protection. bro... just sharing some info... i think the only way to really clean injectors is to take them out and clean them... or full blast on NSHW.... i do not believe any liquid added in the fuel tank can clean fuel injectors... worst FC might be caused by sooooo many factors... i also tried the redline SI-1, no difference to 2T for me... $16 a shot very ex.... for 2t $16 can use more than 10 shots/times... and bro why you use only 1 quart of redline EO?... yes ester is very good base oil... best? most probably... but not everyone will agree. i think depends on make of car also... but i love ester based oils... even after hard driving oil still feels good... guess it maintains vocosity better than normal oils... as for oil to stick to metals, almost any engine oil will stick to metals... i think its the additives that make more oil to stick a thicker coating of oil on metal parts and not because of the ester?... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 5, 2011 Share January 5, 2011 according to a few bros here less can get more mileage out of a full tank... for me i think so too... but cause i drive hard very often... so my FC varies alot... buay zun one... i tried pennzoil TC-w3 ashless type... for marine jet skies... (bought at JB mid-night bike shops there) but did not get as good results as putoline RS959 100% syn... get from ah boy... ask for 959 in hokkien... $14 or $15 per liter. cheapest best value for $ racing grade 2T ester based... duchams brand is good also when i was riding... but have not seen it in a long time. castrol 747 2T is very good, but like ard $40 per liter... think any 100% syn 2T will be good to start with... its really immediate smoothness from the 1st tank... if you do some research on 2T in cars, you will find amazing facts... haha... i first saw RX-7 drivers pouring RockOil 2T (got some nitro boosters in the 2T) into their cars many years back when i was riding still. anyways for my car i started with 40ml every time i pump (approx 40 liters)... then i tried 80ml... every more shiok... but then more than 80ml wont have better difference... bro tiger shark also say the tcw3 pennzoil not so smooth... maybe cause not fully syn racing grade.. xie xie... i will try too. I remember i used to put 2t in my motor bike too. but cannot remember is any effect... too long already. hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrel 1st Gear January 6, 2011 Author Share January 6, 2011 Went to Esso at West Coast and NTUC Xpress at J Pt. Cant find MMO. Sian... Where is the distributor ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cynidejunkie Neutral Newbie January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 Went to Esso at West Coast and NTUC Xpress at J Pt. Cant find MMO. Sian... Where is the distributor ah? Eh? i got it at esso taman jurong. are you staying in the west? if you are you can get it from me? Pm me if you want. the distributor is at kaki bukit road 2. ideal parts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 I used 2T on my car. One time I put too much and it "wet" the plugs...too much oil. Then I used MMO without problem. So I prefer MMO on my petrol car. Now, I drive diesel I found 2T is better. It has no plugs to "wet" anyways...and diesel is basically oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 I used 2T on my car. One time I put too much and it "wet" the plugs...too much oil. Then I used MMO without problem. So I prefer MMO on my petrol car. Now, I drive diesel I found 2T is better. It has no plugs to "wet" anyways...and diesel is basically oil. Read a comment on BITOG that in the long run, the catalytic converter may spoil if put 2T mix with petrol. Dunno true or not. How long have members here practised adding 2T to petrol? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 I used 2T on my car. One time I put too much and it "wet" the plugs...too much oil. Then I used MMO without problem. So I prefer MMO on my petrol car. Now, I drive diesel I found 2T is better. It has no plugs to "wet" anyways...and diesel is basically oil. you put cooking oil in also can run... just filter the used oil properly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 Read a comment on BITOG that in the long run, the catalytic converter may spoil if put 2T mix with petrol. Dunno true or not. How long have members here practised adding 2T to petrol? i put 2T i tink around 6months up liao... sometimes i put double triple my regular doseage if i am going to 'whack' the car... never had wet plugs before... to get wet plugs must really pour too much... btw i got no cat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 Read a comment on BITOG that in the long run, the catalytic converter may spoil if put 2T mix with petrol. Dunno true or not. How long have members here practised adding 2T to petrol? Depends on what 2T you add in. There's always a possibility that cat can be damaged if the wrong chemical is added. Which is why engine oil are now API-SM to reduce even more phosphorus to "lengthen" cat's life. If anyone wants to try 2T, you should always try to get the best, like TC-W3 or at least some fully synthetic, low or ashless 2T. I find that MMO is a safer replacement for petrol engine. I believed the product Tech Manager mentioned it will not damage cat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 8, 2011 Share January 8, 2011 and bro why you use only 1 quart of redline EO?... yes ester is very good base oil... best? most probably... but not everyone will agree. i think depends on make of car also... but i love ester based oils... even after hard driving oil still feels good... guess it maintains vocosity better than normal oils... as for oil to stick to metals, almost any engine oil will stick to metals... i think its the additives that make more oil to stick a thicker coating of oil on metal parts and not because of the ester?... and bro why you use only 1 quart of redline EO?... Hi bro, no enough money to buy 3 quarts Anyway I think a small amount of Ester oil is enough and no need for 100%. Its not the additives that stick to the metal, its the Ester. Esters oil are polar by nature and so they are natually magnetic. Its also good some people dun like Redline, if everyone bought, the price will just go up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear January 8, 2011 Share January 8, 2011 and bro why you use only 1 quart of redline EO?... Hi bro, no enough money to buy 3 quarts Anyway I think a small amount of Ester oil is enough and no need for 100%. Its not the additives that stick to the metal, its the Ester. Esters oil are polar by nature and so they are natually magnetic. Its also good some people dun like Redline, if everyone bought, the price will just go up. oh... but Redline already not very cheap... most expensive EO in MX tradings (i think or at least one of the most expensive)... even more expensive than amsoil... but then the redline $ is standard ard Singapore EVEN at autobacs... good business sense for the distrubutor i guess... haha... but $17.50 per quart, i need 3 bottles for my oil change so i think still ok for an ester based oil... cheaper then if i get motul ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...