Flykite Clutched January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 (edited) Sim Lim Square revealed, buyer beware. Want to claim refund and salesman scold CCB http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VErigDTlriM This video is made for my friend, who was cheated from Sim Lim Square #02-72, 'Square United Cam' (also known as Compact Electronics LLP). I have been helping him to claim refund from the shop. CASE had sent them a warning letter but they still unwilling to give refund. Details of the receipt: Sanyo HD2000 32GB SD card Samurai tripod 3000 Sanyo 0.7x wide angle lens case total: S$1760 The dude did his research. In the first place he wanted to buy a SONY high end camera. Since he is not knowledgeable about camera, the salesman talked 2 hours to convince him that Sanyo model is better, so he paid the premium price for it. He realised the camera was crap so he returned 2nd day to claim refund, saleman Patrick refused, and to console my friend, the salesman gave him a 2.5x convertor lens for 'free'. Price break down from a 'more genuine' shop: Sanyo HD2000 - S$900 0.45x wide angle conversion lens - S$180 2x conversion lens - $150 32GB SD card - S$100 total S$1330 Remind everyone, do your homework before you shop at Sim Lim! Shop there only if you know your stuff. Or ask your camera guru friends for advice. Other stories I found from the very same shop: http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/3552/4128/197098 "While I had bought the batteries from another shop, I felt compelled to highlight this humiliating experience and I hope that Sim Lim Square's management, CASE and Singapore Tourism Board can take appropriate measures/actions against the shop." http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-2890...are_singapore-i SQUARE UNITED CAM Sim Lim Sq : I am another victim By A Yahoo! Contributor, 1/4/11 They introduce me the Sanyo CG-10 camcoder, they told me is latest model, and have warranty in my country, Penang Malaysia. I bought it for SGD 700.00. And assure me is the cheapest. I wasn't do my homework, because I am not intended to buy one. But I see it was fascinating gudget, so I bought it. And when I come back, I found out it was a year old product and almost face out. And now it only cost SGD 200.00 Edited January 26, 2011 by Flykite ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 bad... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pyramid_sg Clutched January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 I think there is nothing much that can be done....... Hope your friend will still get a refund. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sinetic8 Neutral Newbie January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 wah flykite, i feel for your friend man. after he scolded CCB, as a outsider see liao also du lan. SIMLIM is a place famous for being cheated, thats why when I need to get anything, I will at least get a quote from 3-4 shops before buying. And the attitude of the salesperson from the video so damn f**ed up. The best is to post up their shop name here or other forums like hwz so that ppl will boycott their shop. Hopefully they know they are in the wrong and do a refund for you guys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whatisthis04 Neutral Newbie January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 Sim lim like that wan la...the IT repair shop also same..u come back wif same problem after repair they will push blame on other problem n u in the end pay more... Carefull of all shops as most of them owned by same boss...chg name wen they turn bad... Harvey Norman n courts extended warranty also engaged these repairers from sim lim...my frens having bad experiences with them...send in more than 7x but problem not solve...best thing he fed up open up found out the hard disk replaced is a used not brand new claim by the repairer... They got a cheek to tell him warranty states to replace same value or higher...but not brand new... So juz b careful wen dealing wif them... Btw the repairers tink is Adavance IT... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 (edited) your avatar gf quite cute leh. Edited January 26, 2011 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 Want to buy at least buy those got the plaque from wtb star retailer or something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 Want to buy at least buy those got the plaque from wtb star retailer or something. As a general rule of thumb. AVOID the ground floor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 As a general rule of thumb. AVOID the ground floor. Especially level 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 Go simlim is prepare get chop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 Want to buy at least buy those got the plaque from wtb star retailer or something. Star retailer also have f**k up salesman from my experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 Especially level 2 And few on level 3.... sound like the whole building is a con-mall [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 How come no body complain and ask for refund from AD when the same car can be had from a PI at a much cheaper price. This camera only kena conned by few hundreds. But singaporean who buy cars from AD vs PI are willingly paying premiums of $20,000 to $60,000 difference. How come on one complain to case hur??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benjamin00000 1st Gear January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 SL is so famous. wondering why did anyone would go to SL? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 to shop at SLS, you need to do your homework first, and stand by any decisions you make.. don't let their sweet talking change your mind.. now with all the web surfing on-the-go, it should be pretty simple to check the prices.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 what a jerk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 And few on level 3.... sound like the whole building is a con-mall [laugh] especially those sitting on the chairs along the walkway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged January 26, 2011 Share January 26, 2011 gangster con-shops at Sim Lim hard-selling tactics at Orchard white van selling hifi at carparks still around after all these years still got people kena scammed sigh... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...