How to reduce traffic on the road - The Real; Solutions

Majordan

1. Impose smaller quota for < 1600cc cars. If you realise, those are the ones that causes slowdown on slopes because they crawl like turtle

2. Charge COE based on volumetric size. Why does Honda Civic 2L pay the same COE as Camry 2L where Camry is clearly the bigger car? Afterall, traffic is contributed by how much space each vehicle takes up on the road

3. Give COE rebates with family with kids. we want them to maximise the use of transportation in a car, not taking up space on the MRT with that stroller

4. Implement a car pool lane, they have that in USA. Any car with more than one passenger can use the lane.

1. Impose smaller quota for < 1600cc cars. If you realise, those are the ones that causes slowdown on slopes because they crawl like turtle

2. Charge COE based on volumetric size. Why does Honda Civic 2L pay the same COE as Camry 2L where Camry is clearly the bigger car? Afterall, traffic is contributed by how much space each vehicle takes up on the road

3. Give COE rebates with family with kids. we want them to maximise the use of transportation in a car, not taking up space on the MRT with that stroller

4. Implement a car pool lane, they have that in USA. Any car with more than one passenger can use the lane.

the golf and swift sports are under 1600cc. i do not see them crawl like turtle on slopes

Edited by Picanto

1. You own a >1600cc car.

2. Most likely a Honda Civic 2.0.

3. You are married with kids.

4. You car pool your wife daily.

last time already had the smaller cc car COE... it was scrap as more like the 1.5/1.6L car vs sub 1L.

also now european car are 1.2/1.4L turbo... dont think ur scenario will work out

like that lorry.. bus .. the COE will be hitting the roof liao...

single pax already been victimise on the HDB housing liao... dont think it fair to subject them to car too...

what abt the good son/daughter who is not married but ferry the parents...

USA is USA... Singapore is Singapore.... we cant afford to have lane for bike dont we...already the bus lane is giving some driver problem liao... pls commerical car driving on 1st lane... now with the car pool lane....where u expect the cars to drive on??

Edited by Wolfy3769

I think many Singaporeans are not understanding the roots problem.

TS wants to reduce traffic on the road...but gave 4 useless examples!

There is two main point to reduce traffice on the road.

1) Reduce the car population

2) Reduce the car using the road.

for 1)

- Make COE replacement 50% of deregistered cars. Meaning a negative growth in car population. However this will still take a long time (maybe 10 years) before the road can be smooth.

- Make all cars Euro IV compliant immediately! Those non compliant will have to scrapped immdeiately!

- Make motorcycle COE $1, many will drive motorcycle to work instead of driving a car with only the driver inside to work!

for 2)

- Keep the current COE quota. But enforced the licence plate odd/even system for cars to drive on the road.

- Make ERP $50 per pass-thru. CBD carpark $5 per hour. Shopping center carpark $4 per hour.

- Increase petrol prices.

for 1)

- Make COE replacement 50% of deregistered cars. Meaning a negative growth in car population. However this will still take a long time (maybe 10 years) before the road can be smooth.

- Make all cars Euro IV compliant immediately! Those non compliant will have to scrapped immdeiately!

- Make motorcycle COE $1, many will drive motorcycle to work instead of driving a car with only the driver inside to work!

for 2)

- Keep the current COE quota. But enforced the licence plate odd/even system for cars to drive on the road.

- Make ERP $50 per pass-thru. CBD carpark $5 per hour. Shopping center carpark $4 per hour.

The examples given seems to tilt in TS favour. Nevertheless he is making some suggestions which the LTA can consider.

I like your points number 1 and number 2, so I help you to merge them into one point ok -->

Impose smaller quota for >1600cc cars, traffic is contributed by how much space each vehicle takes up on the road, >1600cc cars usually are bigger than <1600cc cars based on volumetric size.

how about lorries? should ban all lorries from highway?

So what Camry is bigger? 1 lane is 1 lane.... u find me 2 cars that can squeezes into 1 lane side by side than maybe yr theory will work.

wont that contribute more to congestion? u trying to improve road congestion or MRT crowds????

I always drive my wife to work, so does many ppl, so consider car pool? so almost 80% of ppl can use that lane so whats the diff... don create more stupid special lanes....

for 1)

for 2)

Toaylly agreed on option 1......chopped & stamped..it will definitely work.. but it will never happen becoz of $$$$$$...who don't agree with me ??

i think pt 3 makes sense. argh...very ma fun if got stroller in mrt- takes up space and usually its harder for the parents of the kid in the stoller to get off the train. might as well say improve on our PT?

u guys will be surpised at how the car pool lane is useful... a lot of CBD drivers only have the driver in the car, what a waste of space

if u line up 10 camrys, i'm sure they are the same as 11 civics or thereabouts - u save one car length there. and correct lorries and buses must pay more COE by that logic.

GENERALLY, < 1600cc cars crawl slower than >1600cc cars. of cos there are turbo cars around but this is speaking generally.

u guys will be surpised at how the car pool lane is useful... a lot of CBD drivers only have the driver in the car, what a waste of space

if u line up 10 camrys, i'm sure they are the same as 11 civics or thereabouts - u save one car length there. and correct lorries and buses must pay more COE by that logic.

GENERALLY, < 1600cc cars crawl slower than >1600cc cars. of cos there are turbo cars around but this is speaking generally.

Errmm, what is the top speed of <1600cc cars, and what is the speed limit of our highway, and at what speed do you get license revoked? Pls help answer these 3 questions. Thanks.

hmmm.. you are not asking very smart questions

the upslope crawling has to do with acceleration/pick up. nothing to do with top speed. i used to drive 1.5L car and upslope CMI and i always hog up the lanes.

hmmm.. you are not asking very smart questions

the upslope crawling has to do with acceleration/pick up. nothing to do with top speed. i used to drive 1.5L car and upslope CMI and i always hog up the lanes.

I admit I am not very smart to begin with.

So u drive 1.5L go up slope CMI, I see. Is the car CMI or your driving CMI huh?

So u r saying if some <1600cc car moving at 100kmph, then he hits a slope, he cannot maintain the 100kmph speed while going up slope is it? So your car can? Then according to you hor, what minimum CC car is needed to achieve that, 2000cc?

Sorry, more stupid questions.

Edited by Sgnick

YOU JUST MOVED TO SINGAPORE AH?.... [hur]

Sheares bridge upslope towards Changi not steep enough ah?

maybe he drives a Ford Mustang so even 80 degress also not considered a slope