Ahtong 1st Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 I guess the moral of the story here is the same as doing charity. Want to be a nice guy also do it with eyes open ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 dont be surprised with the figures they can earn per month. Nv Nv under estimate their earnings yeah i do heard of some people earning their millions from internet trading. but i just not sure how much we can make from low value items like this.....i may be wrong though. but somehow i think low value items like this will take a lot of effort buying in and selling out....so even if the profit is good it is probably something with lots of hassle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 Bro, there are lots of strange characters around. Like there are people who buy a lot of stuff from department stores when there are discounts then hey presto, there is suddenly an influx of the same items online the next day. Then there are others who cheong the stores at opening time to sweep up all the popular collectibles then sell them online. Profit margin is less than $30, need to hold bulky stock and even take leave to sweep up those stuff. Personally I think it's not worth the effort but what to do? yep, i thinking even if the zim gets her supply of the baby wear free, she only earn $30 from it. even if the gross margin % is so high, the absolute $ profit is low. the work required is persuading people to give it to her free and overpromising prospective buyer about the quality and condition. the work to be done is still substantial. definitely in my opinion to much to justify the $30 earned. plus like u say, this business comes with having to stock pile items at home. another inconvenience! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 well isnt that tactic use by salvation army? what tactic? did they use the money for personal gain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 1st of all hor... why buy 2nd clothing for newbore....i mean it is ok to get from relative but from other you donno....who know were those cloths from??? Blame it on the seller's dishonesty and greed and the buyer sting mentality there are a lot of reason why newborn - grown out too fast. no elder sis/bros or relative have nb clothing so, resort to buy online. for them, paying $30 is fine. but utterly disgusted them is that the clothing is not even washed or disinfect loh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 spare a thot for the young one lah...... is kena skin problem the lagi jialat.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 15, 2011 Author Share February 15, 2011 (edited) A lot of ppl dun read the whole link I put in the first post. The little tikes exersaucer, asking for $100 when it's a giveaway. Dan there's also a pram, also a giveaway but they are selling in a forum for $180, same item on a online website for $375. Ppl keep looking at that $30 bundle of clothes. Haha.... they are making big bucks from giveaways. Somemore got what office wear and her "son's" clothes for sale when she only have a baby girl. I think there are lots more. Edited February 15, 2011 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 A lot of ppl dun read the whole link I put in the first post. The little tikes exersaucer, asking for $100 when it's a giveaway. Dan there's also a pram, also a giveaway but they are selling in a forum for $180, same item on a online website for $375. Ppl keep looking at that $30 bundle of clothes. Haha.... they are making big bucks from giveaways. Somemore got what office wear and her "son's" clothes for sale when she only have a baby girl. I think there are lots more. actually i read. very interesting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 i read thru all the 17 pages...the seller is doing no capital business.... she did con ppl of "donating" stuff to her... but since it was given to her, if is hers lor......right? Go for new one lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gumbokins 1st Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 OH HAI EVERYBORDY I see my post made it here. I am Roz, the "stupid/one-kind" (to quote two of the posters here) buyer. The discussion is a bit hard to follow, maybe my settings for the forum are not right but just to clarify/add on: 1) To quote Josho "When come to mummy integrity, they all trade base on trust because they do anything for their kids." Why didn't I check the clothing? Because my initial thoughts was her dad had passed me the wrong bag, and I had dealt with the seller TWICE before and those went well, that's why. She came across as a genuine person. My biggest mistake was trusting her. 2) I also don't see anything wrong in reselling items that were given to you. But some of the people who gave her things were led to believe that she was collecting for needy single mums, when actually she was selling them off for profit. Also, she was very 'liberal' with the description of the items. Instead of 30 pcs of good brand, no stain, going out clothes, I received 12 pcs, no/cheap brands, some stained, for home wear clothes. 3) The title of this thread "Dishonest Couple", hmm. Her husband emailed me a few times to insist he had no idea what his wife was doing the whole time. All he did was to collect/exchange on his wife's behalf. So he's threatened to lodge a police report against me for putting his picture and number there. 4) Selling and buying second hand clothing is common on parenting forums. Babies outgrow them so quickly, and they're not that cheap brand new. So to be offered 30 pieces of good brand clothing for $30, what a bargain! You can barely buy a brand new piece for $1 outside, cheapest is what, 4 for $10? And that's for going market type. I want my baby to look stylo, but I don't want to pay nosebleed prices. 5) Initially I did it to get my $ back, but when more and more mummies came up to me to tell about me about their similar experiences with the seller, I knew there was a lot more at stake. And yes, I had a lot of time. I had just delivered a baby, was home on 'confinement', it was either the Internet or watching my baby sleep. A lot of my 'research' was also done while nursing my son at 3-4AM in the morning. 6) Yes, there are a lot of dodgy people on the internet. Buyer beware, indeed! Now, can anyone recommend a workshop to do 40k servicing on our chevy? Thank you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 15, 2011 Author Share February 15, 2011 Haha..... Hi Roz, I'm glad you can make it here to clarify things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 hehe good to hear your personal account of the story. some dishonest sellers are probably banking on the fact that small amounts of money like $30 may not sufficiently motivate buyers to go through the hassle to recover the money. well, some buyers went through the hassle to recover not because of the amount of money at stake, but more as a principle to deter dishonest sellers pulling a fast one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 Wanted you baby to look stylo get new one lah..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 Welcome to MCF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gumbokins 1st Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 Thanks, Thor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gumbokins 1st Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 Wanted you baby to look stylo get new one lah..... People ngeow what. Sometimes, baby wear 1-2 times, then cannot fit already! The clothing is as good as new..that was what happened to a lot of my #1 child's clothes. Waste not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 People ngeow what. Sometimes, baby wear 1-2 times, then cannot fit already! The clothing is as good as new..that was what happened to a lot of my #1 child's clothes. Waste not... anyway hor, baby wont be going out much in the fist few months mah.... few piece can liao....slowly buy lor...for my case....me and my sis passing to and fro......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 People ngeow what. Sometimes, baby wear 1-2 times, then cannot fit already! The clothing is as good as new..that was what happened to a lot of my #1 child's clothes. Waste not... agreed. thats why my babies clothing are often given by relatives. =) sometimes, there's no need to waste money. the only times we buy NB clothings are usually "buying for other babies" welcome to MCF. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...