D3badge 6th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Hi there, I have just checked with my insurance friends and for your case, your car insurance is about 16k and with excess 4k if you are the main driver. Not worth it. wow I know pple pay 16k insurance for maserati GTS not WRX......... this is daylight robbery u pay 10 years (assume to quotation goes down due to no claim and NCD) is like almost buying another new WRX ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fresh Clutched February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 ... where is TS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soran 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 ... where is TS? Prob gone to ask mummy and daddy to change the WRX to their name ASAP.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Hello there everyone, Im in a bind! see we have gotten hand of a second hand subaru WRX, however due to my age of being 19 the car dealer says its impossible to find an insurance company. The thing is my I need to be insured for the vehicle, at whatever quotation. Would any of you knows know companies who have approved. Any help is seriously greatly appreciated. Cheers guys and have a good one hmmmm... are you sure whatever quotation and yet you can't even find one insurance company to cover you? ;-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Just curious how much the 3rd party insurance cost Or really no company wants to insure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovemyride 4th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 I'm not sure about performance cars. But for normal B&B cars, most insurers allow the so called young and inexperienced (P plate and/or below 26 years old) to drive. Just that if accident and claim, the excess is higher as compared to those on the named driver list. You do not need to add the young and inexperienced driver to the policy, as long as the registered owner give permission to drive the car. But with crazy quotations for young and inexperienced drivers, most parents will just say drive the car. Got accident then pay the higher excess. No accident then good. I think it is something like named driver is $500 excess, young and unnamed driver $2400 or something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 (edited) I'm not sure about performance cars. But for normal B&B cars, most insurers allow the so called young and inexperienced (P plate and/or below 26 years old) to drive. Just that if accident and claim, the excess is higher as compared to those on the named driver list. You do not need to add the young and inexperienced driver to the policy, as long as the registered owner give permission to drive the car. But with crazy quotations for young and inexperienced drivers, most parents will just say drive the car. Got accident then pay the higher excess. No accident then good. I think it is something like named driver is $500 excess, young and unnamed driver $2400 or something. my subie young+named is 1500 excess. un-named is 4-5k. so i just put my name in as 2nd driver. i find its safer than open driver esp when TP pulls u over. for my case, its below 26. i got no more p plate Edited February 24, 2011 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinigaimi Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 referring to point 3: why does other ppl's problems become our problem? Just increase theirs la. zzz Underwriting is based on portfolio basis. If not, say for health insurance, whoever claim this year will just kena a bigger premium next year. So what they do in this case is to try to restrict it to age/model so that other pples are less affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Underwriting is based on portfolio basis. If not, say for health insurance, whoever claim this year will just kena a bigger premium next year. So what they do in this case is to try to restrict it to age/model so that other pples are less affected. actually, the fairer way would be what u mentioned. u claim, u and only u have increased premium. on the other hand, those who dont claim have premiums discounted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 people are bucketed into risk groups... if you fall under a certain demographics, you are considered X Risks if u got high blood pressure, diabetes. even if you have never claim in your whole life, you are considered high risk individual if u are young, just passed your license and driving a turbo car - wah lau eh, who else can be higher risk group than this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 people are bucketed into risk groups... if you fall under a certain demographics, you are considered X Risks if u got high blood pressure, diabetes. even if you have never claim in your whole life, you are considered high risk individual if u are young, just passed your license and driving a turbo car - wah lau eh, who else can be higher risk group than this? some drive for face. not performance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 OT a bit: a few nights ago, a P-plate young driver in a Toyota was super impatient, tailgating me on a neighborhood road in the west....in the end i let him overtake me but the way he drove, i wonder how he got his licence....zig zaging all the while but still ended up waiting at the red lights with the rest of us. If he were to drive a wrx, chances r he won't be able to stop in time one day and his insurance premium will go even higher! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlim_1 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 (edited) bro seriously u gonna regret sooner or ltr. im 20 tis yr young and dangerous like u, haf been driving a cefiro 200jk since i pass my tp. guess wad? blood boil ma. i dunno u believe anot. i actually outrun a SiR? lol its funny and unbelievable rite? i was at expressway frm jurong headin back hm liao. midnight no ppl ma so i open window smoke and blast music. then SiR come over sideby side. look at me so i look back lor. he moved infront of me and kip tappin his brake so i dulan flash him den go beside him i pt middle finger at him and he blow at me and zhao. without thinking i juz floor the pedal go chase him lor.imagine road gt no camera? midnight no ppl? such a fukin heavy car with stock suspension and tyres? lol bodyroll like wanna fly out liao. at speed of 210kph anything could haf landed me below the bridge. the car is vibrating liao steering oso very light.can feel the car is floating. slight corner rear slide out oso nvr release pedal. in the end i won cauz he slowdown liao.i happily went arnd boasting. cool rite? 210kph stock buffalo car win SiR. nvm this is nt impt thing. one fine day i was at punggol end with 2 passengers wif me. driving abt 70kph nia wanna turn into the corner liao. saw a fukin bangala ride his bicycle left right left right macam his father road.i jam brake and whole car skidded. 270 deg spin hit curb. airbag nvr inflate. i was like heng ah every1 ok np. go down car chk only side skirt and rims gt dmg nia. so i continue drivin until like funny funny leh car dancing. i started to worry liao. fast fast drive to UBI tan chong. handed car to azmin ask him chk. after a few looks he say mayb 1k plus can settle liao bt i must leave it thr for detailed chkin. i took bus home. told dad abt it. he nvr scold me. he tot 1k plus shld be minor dmg nia nth 1. nx morning azmin call him. both front and rear axle dmg plus chasis crooked liao. driver side knuckle and bushing all spoil. nid change new rims oso. dad faster go down n see. woohoo dey access the dmg guess how much? bloody 6+k. nvm if use my name to report accident i might kena kantong n on top of tt 2k excess plus pay 30% bill.cauz y? P plate 19 Y/O. nvr say anything dad ask ppl sell away the car liao. can pay n repair for lower cost but license gone life might oso be gone. until now still dun wan buy car for me. wad can i say? lan lan suck thumb lor cauz i ownself find 1.even he his car oso dun let me touch. seriously regretted alot for not thinkin wisely. frankly speakin hor i utd people of our age wun learn until dey experience it. sum even nt scared can go chiong summore. im tellin u tis story cauz i dun wan another person to be like me. futher more u gg to drive a wrx? haha better think properly. wish u gd luk n find ur insurance soon Edited April 3, 2011 by Aaronlim_1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fathlon Neutral Newbie May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 hi guys.. sorry to hijack cause im still a newbie.. got a question to ask.. recently i got into an accident and the other party will be claiming me.. i went to workshop to get quote for my own veh damage and it works out to be around the same cost as my excess.. can any bro advise whether should i claim my own damage from my insurance company? since the other party will be claiming me, if i claim my own damage also, will it add even more to my premium when i renew my insurance? i know my next premium will surely increase because of 3rd party claim but some guy told me that if i dont claim my own damage, the premium will not increase that much.. is it true? any advise is welcome.. thanks.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bim5mer Neutral Newbie May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 19yo cannot= wrx. to pay insurance 16k per annum???? even bill gates or steve job find that ridiculous! my young brother, let us be rich but be rich n smart n not rich but dumb! no smart rich man would want to spend that kinda amt of insurance for wrx..at least a pagani zonda i would believe not a wrx dat if he wants to spend that amt money. think properly, just my view Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyeo Neutral Newbie May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 hi guys.. sorry to hijack cause im still a newbie.. got a question to ask.. recently i got into an accident and the other party will be claiming me.. i went to workshop to get quote for my own veh damage and it works out to be around the same cost as my excess.. can any bro advise whether should i claim my own damage from my insurance company? since the other party will be claiming me, if i claim my own damage also, will it add even more to my premium when i renew my insurance? i know my next premium will surely increase because of 3rd party claim but some guy told me that if i dont claim my own damage, the premium will not increase that much.. is it true? any advise is welcome.. thanks.. Was in your shoes last year and hope it does not happen again. How much your premium increases depends on how much is paid out by the company at the end of the day. For your info, I'll share my case. I was claimed by the other car (full claim) and I claimed for my own damages as well. Total for both claims came up to about $6000. I was fearing an astronomical increase in my premium this year, but the quote I got from the insurer (same company that handled the claims) was about $1200 more than last year's premium. I lost my NCD but I think the increase is quite fair for the $6000 claim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 Was in your shoes last year and hope it does not happen again. How much your premium increases depends on how much is paid out by the company at the end of the day. For your info, I'll share my case. I was claimed by the other car (full claim) and I claimed for my own damages as well. Total for both claims came up to about $6000. I was fearing an astronomical increase in my premium this year, but the quote I got from the insurer (same company that handled the claims) was about $1200 more than last year's premium. I lost my NCD but I think the increase is quite fair for the $6000 claim. its fair if the one who claimed has his premiums increased. its unfair if the rest have to pay coz of "car type" and others accidents ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...