Mllcg 3rd Gear February 23, 2011 Share February 23, 2011 yes it is 16k with 4k excess. anyway, for a 19 yrs old wanted to drive WRX, he don't have much choice. This 16k can be used to pay for my car insurance for the next 20 years is it possible for him to have a higher excess and lower premium? 16k? can cover half my car loan already. or the road tax for the rest of the car's life with the extras for season parking until scrap. he can only be 2nd driver. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged February 23, 2011 Share February 23, 2011 is it possible for him to have a higher excess and lower premium? 16k? can cover half my car loan already. or the road tax for the rest of the car's life with the extras for season parking until scrap. he can only be 2nd driver. Actually I am still drinking kopi with my insurance friend. According to his experience for quotations that he has done, for main driver age between 19 to 21 yrs old who wanted to buy WRX, the insurance range from 13k to 16k with excess about 3 to 5k. According to him, most probably NOT more than 3 insurance companies are willing to take in this kind of business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear February 23, 2011 Share February 23, 2011 19yr old boy boy, please check the passenger seats, may have lots of 'other juices'... keep your pampers on too! buy evo, likely all carmat are wet too. good luck to your 2nd hand buy.. cheers for the juices left behind .. He's the 19yr old not the previous owner... the juices apply only if the previous owner was young too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 23, 2011 Share February 23, 2011 Actually I am still drinking kopi with my insurance friend. According to his experience for quotations that he has done, for main driver age between 19 to 21 yrs old who wanted to buy WRX, the insurance range from 13k to 16k with excess about 3 to 5k. According to him, most probably NOT more than 3 insurance companies are willing to take in this kind of business. btw, is his quote for 3rd party or comprehensive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged February 23, 2011 Share February 23, 2011 comprehensive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 23, 2011 Share February 23, 2011 comprehensive ok la. if 16k for 3rd party. lols anyway, u got to assume the TS is a p plater. so how much is the 3rd party assuming comprehensive is 16k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged February 23, 2011 Share February 23, 2011 Well, my friend also no idea cos he has never quoted 3rd party before for WRX. Anyway, my friend informed that it's not recommended for 3rd party for WRX and also not sure whether any insurance company willing to take in 3rd party insurance coverage for main driver 19yrs old driving WRX. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 he can only be 2nd driver. some insurance companies only allow 2nd driver to be 25years and above or no p plate i'm not sure if its legal for him to purchase under parent's name and drive, it might still be illegal because the insurance doesn't cover him so technically he's still driving without valid insurance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 16k? I think is it cheaper for u to sell back the car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 19 years old and a powerful car.... does it mean our premium is going to be more expensive? And TS couldn't even spell insurance right.... doh!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fresh Clutched February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 lol... oh great. keep us informed of whether you can get insurance, how much it is, or you have to ask your daddy or mummy to use their name, and how long your ride stays on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 i have feeling he bought the car liao... then dealer tell him about insurance..... who wanna bet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kerwen 6th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 16k can redeem my loan liao haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Car ownership can be transferred without insurance coverage? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 This is the kind of irresponsible parenthood we see alot in Singapore... 19yo..so i think probably the car was pay by the parent... if pay by parent sure have the say over the type of car the 19yo going to drive... just close both eye and bought the car for the kid... 19yo and WRX.. is a deadly combo...i believe alot of ppl will agreed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alg 5th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 $16k to him should not be a problem since he mentioned he die die must insured himself. Must be paperworks all done. Dealer laughing all the way to bank liao................ Just hope he not going to kill or injured other people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 But how to get ownership transferred without insurance coverage? He should have budget threshold leh, $16k for insurance per year! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinwhoong Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Most insurance companies will not accept a 19 year old dirving WRX. It is considered a high risk. I had worked in insurance company and I was told by my udnerwriters that these group is considered inexperienced driver. In addition, 19 year old driving WRX will have a high tendency to speed and it will be high risk of accident. A sane underwriter will reject it outright. Good luck for your search. Even if your parents buy the insurance and add you as secondary driver, it is still a high risk and it will still come with a higher premium. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...