Fierydog2002 Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Hello there everyone, Im in a bind! see we have gotten hand of a second hand subaru WRX, however due to my age of being 19 the car dealer says its impossible to find an insurance company. The thing is my I need to be insured for the vehicle, at whatever quotation. Would any of you knows know companies who have approved. Any help is seriously greatly appreciated. Cheers guys and have a good one just put ur mum or dad name. if they got no driving lisc also nvm. can put insured but not driving. if met with accident. Excess surely 3k up one. i also driving WRX and insurance under my mum who got no driving liscence. classified under insured but not driving. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 This is the kind of irresponsible parenthood we see alot in Singapore... 19yo..so i think probably the car was pay by the parent... if pay by parent sure have the say over the type of car the 19yo going to drive... just close both eye and bought the car for the kid... 19yo and WRX.. is a deadly combo...i believe alot of ppl will agreed... I agreed. Want to crash and burn it's his problem. Just don't drag other innocent people down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 but if put under his parents name, his parents give him the permission to drive. aka car owner's permission. so technically, its allowed negative, certain insurer will classified some make/model as high risk, only name driver(s) able to claim. Unname driver will not be entertained even a written permission is given by the owner of the vehicle in the event of any claim initiated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Kum lan. Buy car already then seek help about insurance. Really c--k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Kum lan. Buy car already then seek help about insurance. Really c--k. actually, can insurance in singapore is really c--k. just follow US. insure based on car+CC+turbo+OMV. thats all. wont cross 3kUSD de. here got simi below 26 la p plate la high risk la this la that la i think abt it also i dulan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Tot Rex is not considered high performance car? I was quoted immediately when I asked for one last year without even a single delay by all the insurers...... 16k premium..... Gosh I can pay for at least 4 years insurance for my STI......... Rex is considered as a performance car. Insurance company consider the few points: 1. Drivers age, experience and records 2. Car model and type 3. Accident rate / history for this type / model of car. So the TS as a 19yrs old asking for insurance coverage for WRX is a deadly combo. Even for me as a 37 years old with 50% NCD, the quotation for WRX is ard $2400 and $3400 for STI. Consider damn ex for me cos I have never paid more than $1500 for car insurance for my past 5 cars during the past 16 yrs of driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Rex is considered as a performance car. Insurance company consider the few points: 1. Drivers age, experience and records 2. Car model and type 3. Accident rate / history for this type / model of car. So the TS as a 19yrs old asking for insurance coverage for WRX is a deadly combo. Even for me as a 37 years old with 50% NCD, the quotation for WRX is ard $2400 and $3400 for STI. Consider damn ex for me cos I have never paid more than $1500 for car insurance for my past 5 cars during the past 16 yrs of driving. referring to point 3: why does other ppl's problems become our problem? Just increase theirs la. zzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 13k is cheap for such a high risk car and high risk driver. just a light bump already can incur 3-5k per side. the remainder 10k not even enough to cover should it be abit more serious. if he insures under parent's name, when something happens, insurer loses, and the cost is spread to us again... so how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soran 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 This is called never do homework Before signing the dotted line, should have gotten all the side paperwork like insurance out of the way first. Especially for a "accident-prone" car like WRX where getting a good insurance quote is a already a pain in the ass for experienced driver He can try Aviva, but considering this is a second-hand WRX 1)it's probably modded like siao (they dont take modded cars) 2)The registered driver has to be one of his parents, provided one of them got driving licence. If neither have, GG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 i have a friend, 28yrs old buy rx8 his insurance is 6k 19yr old drive wrx you can expect 9k insurance, i'd advise you to get another car instead 6K for a 28 yrs old driver for WRX is consider cheap liao... my lao ah beng friend (50+) "upgrade" his old civic to WRX, 1st yr insurance still okay, come to 2nd yr renewal, with his 50% NCB, his premium shoot all the way to 5K+, after looking for a few quote, finally settle with around 4K.... the insurance premium is more than enough for my petrol + maintainance liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Most insurance companies will not accept a 19 year old dirving WRX. It is considered a high risk. I had worked in insurance company and I was told by my udnerwriters that these group is considered inexperienced driver. In addition, 19 year old driving WRX will have a high tendency to speed and it will be high risk of accident. A sane underwriter will reject it outright. Good luck for your search. Even if your parents buy the insurance and add you as secondary driver, it is still a high risk and it will still come with a higher premium. apparently, ur underwritter is not an experience 1... there is no insurance that insurance company wont sell... its just the matter of how much premium to be charged. 10K not enough to cover the risk? slam with 20K, still not enough? slam another 20K.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 13k is cheap for such a high risk car and high risk driver. just a light bump already can incur 3-5k per side. the remainder 10k not even enough to cover should it be abit more serious. if he insures under parent's name, when something happens, insurer loses, and the cost is spread to us again... so how? depending on how much the wrx is worth in the 1st place a 2nd hand wrx can cost only 50 - 60k, over 5 years of 10k insurance you'd be paying 100k for the car! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 depending on how much the wrx is worth in the 1st place a 2nd hand wrx can cost only 50 - 60k, over 5 years of 10k insurance you'd be paying 100k for the car! if the wrx rear ended a merc or worse, ferrari how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblack Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 depending on how much the wrx is worth in the 1st place a 2nd hand wrx can cost only 50 - 60k, over 5 years of 10k insurance you'd be paying 100k for the car! if the wrx damage is ok, i think we must not forget the other party vehicle n property tat insurance company is worry about Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 if the wrx rear ended a merc or worse, ferrari how? if the reverse happened how? merc and ferrari rear ended wrx? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 6K for a 28 yrs old driver for WRX is consider cheap liao... my lao ah beng friend (50+) "upgrade" his old civic to WRX, 1st yr insurance still okay, come to 2nd yr renewal, with his 50% NCB, his premium shoot all the way to 5K+, after looking for a few quote, finally settle with around 4K.... the insurance premium is more than enough for my petrol + maintainance liao.... 5k with or without NCD? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Deposit refundable if he can't secure loan or insurance? Only if stated in contract.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snooker147 Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 ahem. u got a problem? Envious. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...