Add more bedrooms to HDB flats for more privacy

Latka

Haven't married thinking of how many rooms he need to start a family.

He shud have blamed his parents for having too many kids though.

Since he still single, he needs privacy to view porn on his PC? No enuff privacy to PCC I guess.

Feb 25, 2011

Add more bedrooms to HDB flats for more privacy

AS THE Government thinks of schemes and bonuses to help boost Singapore's low birth rate, it should address a pressing need for individual privacy and update the design of Housing Board flats.

I live in a unit with three bedrooms. My sister has her own room and I share one room with my brother, while my parents have their own bedroom.

This was never a problem when we were young, but once we reached our teens, our home became more cramped, especially with our need for more privacy.

Most HDB flats - even five-room and executive - have only three bedrooms - one for the parents, and two for the children.

If a family unit comprises grandparents as well, then that leaves only one room for the children.

With such limited rooms, why would a family want to have more children only to squeeze them all into one room?

Future HDB flats should provide more but slightly smaller rooms for children - for example, four bedrooms instead of the standard three. This would offer more space and privacy for each child to grow up and eliminate some of the worry of couples planning to have children.

Mark Woon

he has a point. 0r d parents can divide d r0om int0 2.

I guess new generation wants everything to be served on a platter to them, not willing to rough it or live according to their circumstances.

During our grandparents time, family units were between 5 to 10 in size, but can live together in a 3 room flat. They just lived with it.

If u compare the size of new flats to old ones...the size is getting smaller but price...getting "bigger"...is it a hint from the gahmen not to have too big a family or dun stay with your parents or just want to cut cost and earn more...

about 20yrs ago a 5-room is about 120-140 sq..now about 110...if u want bigger go for executive flat which of coz cost more...

Adding rooms on your own...save the trouble...extra cost, reduce space and the house even more cramp...

That fark too good life...share room with 1 brother still KPKB...ok mah...need to PCC after watching porn?

If u compare the size of new flats to old ones...the size is getting smaller but price...getting "bigger"...is it a hint from the gahmen not to have too big a family or dun stay with your parents or just want to cut cost and earn more...

about 20yrs ago a 5-room is about 120-140 sq..now about 110...if u want bigger go for executive flat which of coz cost more...

Adding rooms on your own...save the trouble...extra cost, reduce space and the house even more cramp...

That fark too good life...share room with 1 brother still KPKB...ok mah...need to PCC after watching porn?

That goes w/o saying. [:p]

There's a price for everything.

He can either aim for a 4 bedder condo or make do with the current place.

Same as transport mah. Either get a car as personal transport or make do with public.

Simple as ABC.

I stay in a 5rm flat (not executive not maisonette) with 4 bedrooms, but many people I know knock away one of the bedroom to make bigger living room.

So for those who wants 4 bedrooms, just buy resale, have many of these in many areas, Woodlands, Choa Chu Kang, Hougang, etc all have.

Its time for him get married and move out lar!

Expect gahment to cater for his individual needs? Dreaming [laugh]

Its time for him get married and move out lar!

Expect gahment to cater for his individual needs? Dreaming [laugh]

Maybe he can convert the store room to PCC room...complete with tissue, small TV, DVD and PC.. [rifle][rifle]