Add more bedrooms to HDB flats for more privacy

Latka

you the one talking about executive condo leh.. you say they never build liao..

you mean executive flat is it?

opps typo. [laugh] yeah i mean executive apartment/Flat [:p]

too angry with current batch liao

Edited by Joseph22

If u compare the size of new flats to old ones...the size is getting smaller but price...getting "bigger"...is it a hint from the gahmen not to have too big a family or dun stay with your parents or just want to cut cost and earn more...

about 20yrs ago a 5-room is about 120-140 sq..now about 110...if u want bigger go for executive flat which of coz cost more...

Adding rooms on your own...save the trouble...extra cost, reduce space and the house even more cramp...

That fark too good life...share room with 1 brother still KPKB...ok mah...need to PCC after watching porn?

Wrong! Need to PCC while watching porn. -_-

Ah finally, someone know what i am talking abourt [laugh]

If different gender, then you get that case that was reported in TNP a while back - brother watch porn then instead of "talking" to Mrs. Palmer talked to his little sister. :angry:

There are a limited number of jumber flats in the north - but I don't want to think about the cost.

I have brought the issue up to local MP, and my thoughts are that HDB should more closely correlate their pricing to family income level.

To get a house big enough for four bedrooms I would had to think about the cost. I know that when got our place in 2005 the pricing went like this

90 SQM 4 room = $150k

110 SQM 5 room = $210k

130 SQM Exec = $330K

You do the math, between 4 and 5 room, extra 20 sqm is $60k.

Between 5 room and exec the same extra 20 sqm is $120k

So in today's market, if I wanted to have 2 girls, a boy and grandma plus my wife and I in a 130 -140 sqm (which is actually small for this size family) how much am I going to be paying?

Currently have two kids, I am happy with two and will be stopping here. A third has crossed our thoughts, but one of the big mitigating factors is: where would we put it? Grandma is now 65 - so she will probably still be around at least until the kids are teens - three kids in one HDB size bedroom, not very realistic right? (two can manage ok if same sex) and this is putting aside the thought of having mixed sexes.

Would I be able to afford a house big enough to fit the whole family if I had a third? Really dunno, and dunno if I would WANT to - guessing that to do so I would be paying somewhere in the $600-700k range (IF I was lucky enough to get from HDB, if private, it's going to be over a million I would think). Do I want to go from a $800 per month mortgage to a $2k mortgage? I don't think so.

I been inside 2 of these already lor, one belong to my friend's family, one my relative. Both in different part of AMK. Basically is 2x3rm flat with the common wall knock down. Then one of the Kitchen can convert into a mega Masterbedroom. Shiok ah, 3 masterbedrooms+2 common rooms+total 4 toilets. Most important is 1 owner.

the problem arise when they decide to en bloc your home. new flat cannot jambo liao. [bigcry]

Ah finally, someone know what i am talking abourt [laugh]

You and I agreeing on something (again?).

Quick everybody - go buy pork today. Tomorrow price will go up! (flying pigs are harder to catch) <_<

You and I agreeing on something (again?).

Quick everybody - go buy pork today. Tomorrow price will go up! (flying pigs are harder to catch) <_<

we agree on a lot of things lah <_<

OK...I am working now, so no time for full and detailed research, but here is one quick cite...

"The Canadian Crowding Index holds that a house is overcrowded if it has insufficient bedrooms according the Canadian National Occupancy Standard. The Standard states that no more than two people should share a room. Those who may share a room are couples, children under the age of 18 of the same gender, and children under the age of 5. A child aged between 6 and 17 should not share with a child under the age of 5."

* side note - I am not Canadian, this is just one site that popped up early on my google search.

Our rules are quite simple...

The maximum number of subtenants allowed in each flat is:

Flat Type

Total Number of Occupants

1-room and 2-room

4 persons

3-room

6 persons

4-room and bigger

9 persons

OK...I am working now, so no time for full and detailed research, but here is one quick cite...

"The Canadian Crowding Index holds that a house is overcrowded if it has insufficient bedrooms according the Canadian National Occupancy Standard. The Standard states that no more than two people should share a room. Those who may share a room are couples, children under the age of 18 of the same gender, and children under the age of 5. A child aged between 6 and 17 should not share with a child under the age of 5."

* side note - I am not Canadian, this is just one site that popped up early on my google search.

concentration camp has not human right [laugh] [laugh]

IMO, new hdb flats are suitable for the younger generations...

I have friends whom got married, have two kids, happily ever after...

While the older generations (like my family) tend to be quite cramped

Currently, i'm living wif my parents, and my 3other siblings (total :6)@ Executive apartment

While my uncle, my cousin's family staying (total: 5 adults, 2 young kids) @ 4-rm flat

[:)]

reject to knock down the wall. buy corridor also cannot since that its belong to 2 separate entities if i am not wrong.

yeah, ask my neighbour liao. they dont want to sell [laugh]

Yes you can jointly RENT common areas. Weren't you reading in the Ah Long thread [:p]

yeah. if the option is available of couse good. but will likely be rejected by town council when you submit the floor plan.

Nope you can get two 3 rooms (max unit size- as long as the combos involve 1, 2, and 3 room flats) that are next to each other under the conversion scheme. A passage between both units must be had, and it will be considered to be one unit.

The catch is that they cannot be sold separately again, and it will be called a multi-generation flat (aka jumbo flat).

MOP will be tied to the 2nd unit. Also you can buy under this scheme for BTO flats too!

last time can. now cannot <_< got friend tried liao

Are both units under his name??? For e.g. if one unit is his and the other his parents he cant. In order to do it, he will have to buy over his parents flat.

Are both units 3 room flats or smaller??? If no then cannot liao.

Most likely is allowed, but must reinstate at own cost before either unit can be sold.

Unless done illegally (i.e. two different owners), then you are right. Otherwise they cannot be separated once converted to a multi-generation flat.

Long long time ago, the govt asked the people to stop at 1. Ok 2 at max.

So the HDB is perfectly positioned for family with father, mother, brother and sister.

Then not too long ago, the govt started to ask people to have 3rd or even 4th child.

But..but... HDB bo cho kang. Forgot to review the new need. Still continue to build HDB with 3 bedroom....