Japan Heavy Earthquake 8.4

Rollagt

Was packing my luggage to go Japan on Sat when I saw the news.

KNN no need to go liao lor! [bigcry]

Bro, fret not you can still go to Korea....

the dream of having a nice home near coast is out of the window !

Oh pls dun scare my FT colleague who just moved into a nice villa at Sentosa Cove..paid for by my company.. [laugh]

the dream of having a nice home near coast is out of the window !

pple really believe this stuff that is depicted in movies and media? do they actually believe the condo brochures with a couple sipping champagne? or a car that will get u hot chicks? [laugh]

Was packing my luggage to go Japan on Sat when I saw the news.

KNN no need to go liao lor! [bigcry]

Instead of Knn, you should thank that it happen before u can go there

Earthquake of magnitutde of above 8 is very very HIGH.. [sweatdrop]

I think if my memory serve me right....the highest record was only in the lower '9 region' that was ever recorded.

Think it was somewhere in Soth America..

Major earthquakesMain article:

List of earthquakes

The largest earthquake that has been measured on a seismograph reached 9.5 magnitude, occurring on 22 May 1960.[16][17] Its epicenter was near Ca

Where are the people complaining about flooding in Orchard Road?

oh sh1t! that mean we have to increase their salary again, pegging our flood with Japan.

One Honda worker died and think 5 injured. Toyota shutdown 2 assembly plants and Nissan shutdown 5.

It was said that Hard-hit Miyagi Prefecture is the source of only 1.7 percent of Japan's gross domestic product, and damage to industrial and commercial facilities in the area appeared to be limited.

Regards,

Check this out.. Their structural engineering is damn awesome. Not a single building collapse in Tokyo. totally earthquake proof..

http://technolog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/...omain=cosmiclog

Its not awesome as the quake is about 400km away from Tokyo. If its happen within 100km radius of Tokyo at the magnitute of 8.0, I belief they will collapse ........ [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Latest from CNA : Tsunami hits US West Coast

LOS ANGELES: Tsunami waves from Japan's huge quake sparked mass evacuations on Hawaii and the US West Coast Friday, damaged boats and left one man missing after racing thousands of miles across the Pacific.

Surges of eight feet (2.4 meters) high crashed ashore on the coasts of California and Oregon, up to 12 hours after the 8.9-magnitude quake triggered tsunami alerts in dozens of countries across the Pacific.

"We have at least 35 boats that have been crushed. We have boats on top of other boats," said Cindy Henderson, emergency services manager in Crescent City, 350 miles north of San Francisco.

Crescent City -- some 7,000 miles (11,265 kilometres) away from Japan -- is in Del Norte county, one of five California counties ordered to evacuate coastal areas as the scale of the tsunami became clear overnight.

The US Coast Guard added there had also been damage to about six boats in a marina in Santa Cruz, further south, after they collided with each other due to the buffeting tsunami waves.

post-21853-1299901269_thumb.jpg

Edited by Picnic06

Its not awesome as the quake is about 400km away from Tokyo. If its happen within 100km radius of Tokyo at the magnitute of 8.0, I belief they will collapse ........ [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

depends on when the buildings were built as the earthquake-buildings act keeps getting updated from time to time

from those videos played, Japan Tsunami is not destructive as Bandar Aceh one in 2004 as most of Japan building are made of cement block whereas the Indon one are make of wood........

Videos showing a woman waving a white cloth from her bungalow and most of the cement building are standing except for water entering their houses.

but the Sendai airport is in total lost ........ :ph34r:

japan wouldnt need aid actually....the country is a rich country in itself.....

look at how japan rose to an economic power after world war 2

also they are really very pro at these kind of disasters....

its just that countries NEED japan...thats y aid is pouring in...

Japan is a self sustaining country in itself

Edited by Ithunk