Coupecabriolet Clutched March 20, 2011 Share March 20, 2011 Just recalling the things, the stupidest things I did to my car...in most of innocent situations. 1) leaving site office after meeting, moving off from covered lot. turned right too soon and brushed the rear right fender against the column. so malu, female colleague was beside me. after dropping her at a bus stop, got down the car and gan jiong wanna "rub" away the scratches. but the reddish brown markings would not go away 2) reserve park in a HDB carpark to take lunch at a market in Dover. bang quite hard into a lamp post. fortunately the dent rebounded back and left a not so obvious mark, almost in the centre of the bumper. sheesh, whoever design the carpark ought to be shot, there was not much clearance from the lot and its smack right in the centre behind the lot. Observed that the lamp was almost dropping, probably a lot of ppl hit it while reverse parking 3) reversing in a petrol kiosk and scrap the top of the boot lid against a portable metal signage 4) after grocery trip, rest the trolley against the rear bumper rubber, open the boot and the lid actually swung out and kanna the trolley, leaving a scratch 5) finished washing the front windscreen with the wipers in the upright position. proceeded to open the bonnet...the rest I leave to your imagination 6) at tanjong pagar area, while waiting for CO, itchy backside shift here and there until knocked into a Honda Stream, no dents on the Stream front bumper except that my exhaust left a circular mark on it. left a note on the windscreen and the owner actually contacted me. I wanted to pay for the scratch but owner said dunno how to count cos his bumper already a lot of dents and scratches. Till today still keep the SMSes in case kanna $80k claim 7) attempted a three point turn at one of those rich ppl estate. made of of the slope to one of the houses, front up but when reverse back, the whole front lip scrap heavily and almost ripped off. after that go some deserted carpark to check and re-adjust/secure the front lip Darn, sometimes I just to the darndest thing. wow.. speechless ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched March 20, 2011 Share March 20, 2011 lol! you are amazing. so far i haven't done any stupid things yet :/ haha maybe down the road? and no.6 -> that guy quite kind never claim haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yagami85 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 when i just got my license and car... i drove almost close to 30 mins with handbrake on... damn dumb man anyway will spoil anything anot ah? although that was more than a year ago.. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 (edited) 5) finished washing the front windscreen with the wipers in the upright position. proceeded to open the bonnet...the rest I leave to your imagination I did this stupid thing too....leaving a scratch at the edge of the bonnet... Edited March 21, 2011 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 I turn off my igniton switch.. close my door & forget to pull out the key.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 My expensive phone was saved by teh cover which has a magnet! It stuck to the roof :) Yeah I do wonder with all the inertia and the forces acting on the car...why didn't our things fall off? Well... once in your case anyway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 I bought the nutrisoy carton soya bean... the 1 liter type. Come out from paying for petrol and drink at the same time...then find my keys and drove home about 2 min away...when parked and got out of car, realised that the carton is still on top of the car roof, how it didn't drop off i dunno. Your driving skill very smooth and good. Can go be part of Initial D already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 TS time for you to take refreshing course, u quite a "hand gun kid" translate to hokkien :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tzarh1974 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 when i just got my license and car... i drove almost close to 30 mins with handbrake on... damn dumb man anyway will spoil anything anot ah? although that was more than a year ago.. haha hey i did that too but abt 5mins...keep laughing at myself whole day thinking abt it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cotrox Neutral Newbie March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 1 super blur evening,left my old nokia 3xxx series (no colour lcd,super basic type) on the car roof. happily drove off. heard something tumbling across the roof but didnt give much thought to it. 2 hours later den realise i left the bloody phone on the rooftop and that the tumbling sound was the phone sliding across the roof! went back to the spot where i figured the phone must have dropped off and found the phone...in pieces. assembled the front and back casing,the rubber keypad,the battery and the phone itself and hey presto! it still works! just alot of scratches on the casing. Nokia basic phones are really durable =D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilatz 1st Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 that's twice that initial d is mentioned... i should watch that movie... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 I find something worth self pwning to post here. I drive off about 5mins then realize my left side mirror was close, my car dont have automated one and I dont usually close the left side mirror, somemore I was alone. End up have to use water bottle to push the mirror like one idiot at the traffic light. do u believe if i told u tat my previous car's side mirror got closed by the wind as i made a turn quickly?.....i had to stop the car along the road to open the side mirror.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 when i just got my license and car... i drove almost close to 30 mins with handbrake on... damn dumb man anyway will spoil anything anot ah? although that was more than a year ago.. haha wah, 30 mins quite long leh.....years ago i drove for abt 30s with handbrake engaged while going thru a carwash at a petrol station....luckily i was driving at a slow speed, or else muz change brake pads liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 (edited) i guess all of us learnt thru experience... perhaps that's why my dad kept telling me to get 2nd hand coe car when i was sourcing for my first ride.. some of those bloopers i can recall off-hand.. collectively from all the cars i owned 1. yes..opening the bonnet right after finish washing the windscreen with the wipers upright 2. making tight turns but misque the rear wheel.. sometimes the rear mount kerb or the mid-section kenna kerb. that one the bodykit came off and i had to use a wire to hold it in-place 3. reverse the car without realising a stupid short pole right in the middle.. i was looking at the rear and side mirror.. causing a dent 4. underestimating a turn again.. corners scrape pillar 5. forgot to close the passenger side door (after loading groceries there), then happily drove off.. the door swing and closed itself *whew* 6. not really a screw-up, but keep forgetting whether the sunroof was closed or not.. had to run back to the carpark to check.. till i had enough is enough, i banned myself from opening it ever again 7. gotta blame hdb for this.. some of their darned kerb was built so high-up.. my then front-lip keep scrapping on them till one day it dropped off at one side 8. kenna kerb while making turn into the raffles city carpark.. wasn't paying attention.. deep gashes on my prodrives 9. went for tyre rotation, but forgot where the lock nut (or key whatever u call it) was kept 10. goddamned c0ckroach flew in my face while driving... almost kissed wall.. then onwards, food/drinks are banned Edited March 21, 2011 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 wah, 30 mins quite long leh.....years ago i drove for abt 30s with handbrake engaged while going thru a carwash at a petrol station....luckily i was driving at a slow speed, or else muz change brake pads liao Hand brake and foot brake use different parts - leave handbrake on does not affect foot brake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 (edited) 5) finished washing the front windscreen with the wipers in the upright position. proceeded to open the bonnet...the rest I leave to your imagination I did this stupid thing too....leaving a scratch at the edge of the bonnet... Both of u lucky. I was even cleaning the wipers so they were splayed T shape. When I lifted it one wiper slammed down first - windscreen chipped but not cracked. Edited March 21, 2011 by Karebu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 Last time i was using the Wire Ear-piece to listen my phone if anyone calls... Once i was driving, someone actually call me.... I can't find my ear-piece though Then i just Fcuk it... Drive in expressway, 90-100 km/h... Suddenly, got sound one leh....How come it's vibrating? Reach the destination, i found the ear-piece when i open the door Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear March 21, 2011 Author Share March 21, 2011 6. not really a screw-up, but keep forgetting whether the sunroof was closed or not.. had to run back to the carpark to check.. till i had enough is enough, i banned myself from opening it ever again for me is sometimes forget whether I have pulled handbrake after parking, walk back to double check. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...