Dafansu Turbocharged March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 For the 5-year coe you can also sell or de-register and get your money back. The issue is whether he's taking loan to renew the coe. If he already taken up loan to pay to renew coe and he sees the opportunity to change car after that and take up another loan or do an early redemption(pay penalty) is also LPPL what. i think 15 years for a car is more than enough, nowadays the trend is every 3 to 4 years already change, some even shorter ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 i think 15 years for a car is more than enough, nowadays the trend is every 3 to 4 years already change, some even shorter To me it's a matter of how to maximize the money part and yet enjoy the luxury of having a car. I just dun like to spend extra that yield no returns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 car coming to 10 yrs in June 2011, if i failed to get a new 10 yrs COE by then, what will happen to the car? Can i still keep it and keep trying to get a COE? What is your current Parf value? If it is 10k plus PQP $40k = $50k for 10 years. $5k per year. If renew 5 years, $10k+20k=$30k. $6k per year. If renew 5 years and ready to scrap in 3 years when COE become lower => $10k + 12k(3y coe) = >$7k per year. If parf is $6k 10 years is $4.6k 5 years is $5.2k 3 years is $6k It might be better to get a 6-7 yo car. 2004 Altis is $30k. Parf is $8k. Depreciation is $7+k. Just for your reference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 i think 15 years for a car is more than enough, nowadays the trend is every 3 to 4 years already change, some even shorter the trend of changing car every few years is ending soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 i think 15 years for a car is more than enough, nowadays the trend is every 3 to 4 years already change, some even shorter Used to change car every 3~4 years. Now maybe...10?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonl 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Qns: why change if the functions of the current car is still the same?? What is the purpose?? For transport or for face value??? For speculation like the HDB flats?? If everyone want to make money out of reselling car, i think we will reach a point like hdb flats. Too ex to change as u want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Salmon 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 TS didn't mentioned what car, sikali he's driving this Then it make sense to renew COE lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 TS didn't mentioned what car, sikali he's driving this Then it make sense to renew COE lah. if he driving that, he will not need to come mcf and post this thread Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Another option is to get the 5 year coe http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...hicle/coe1.html This makes more sense as 5-year coe you pay 50% of the PQP instead of a 10-year coe. At the same time it buys you time to shop for your next car hopefully by then the coe has dropped(I'm being optimistic). Who knows within these 5 years, you might strike 4D/Toto, de-register your old car and get new car. But the no good thing is you die die must de-register your old car when the 5 year is up. The decision is yours to make, I'm only giving you a suggestion. actual cost for 5 years COE is higher... If car is less than 10 years old, PARF value will be there.. If Parf at 20K + PQP 80K = 100K / 10 years = 10K per year. *If renew at 5 years, (20K + 40K) / 10years = 12K year. *Then if wanna sell at the 2/3/4 year, no ones wants it because no matter what, the car need to go to the junkie at the end of COE... Cannot extend lifespan.... If car kaput major parts, not worthwhile to repair also.... But car with limited lifespan is the most dangerous game... http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...889&DL=1120 If anyone buys this junk at 8K, dealer consider strike 4D already. Yet dealer asking 9K for this.... :angry: .... Talk is cheap but I believe this only worth 6K per year..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Used to change car every 3~4 years. Now maybe...10?! Some people regardless how much the COE is, they still stick to changing car every 4 years. Like my uncle, all his cars max he drive is 4 years then change another car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Some people regardless how much the COE is, they still stick to changing car every 4 years. Like my uncle, all his cars max he drive is 4 years then change another car. last 2 cars, 8 months each... Current car, tell myself hold for 3.5years.... But now, see whether go anyone dumb to take over or not already ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...