Unltd 5th Gear March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 Maybe he should stand for Presidential election instead. He is more than qualified Maybe that's exactly what he is planning.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 One side has been fielding elites all these while. Now they are faced with a far superior elite. See what the other side gotta say. . simple..they wud probably dig up his past if any n say how can u guys trust someone with a dubious past. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 Don't the govts in many other countries, including Singapore's current govt, welcome returning citizens from overseas? ....... if these returning citizens have the desire to serve the people in Singapore, should the country deny them the opportunity just because they have been away to make a living as what you are trying to promote in your post?..... Whether the returning citizens is rich or not, there's no need for you to speculate too much. The first part of what you said is very true - government will always welcome returning citizens back to contribute to society. BUT, it is another matter altogether for that returning citizen to want to seek public office IMMEDIATELY after being away for like, 30 years? Or that being the reason for the person to come back! Surely he/she will have lots of experience to share, but didn't logic tell you that he should start lower, like doing grass-root work for a few years? Then, after proving their capabilities and winning credibilities with the slogging, seek public office? This is pure common sense isn't it? Do not be naive, or purely desperado and just welcome anybody that jump out. This will be the end of Singapore if it repeats a few time. It is so easy for foreign power to groom successful and willing sinkies to be their puppets to control this land. PS. Personally I have nothing against this Chen Show Mao. But I will reserve judgement till after he speaks and knowing more about him. Credentials, however spectacular, speaks nothing about his character which is the most important part of good candidate. If he is really sincere and good, I will be happy to welcome him. But, please do not be naive to give hero welcome just because he stood out without even knowing more about him. Ask yourself, have you ever exaggerated your CV, or the role you play, when you apply for jobs? And does a excellent CV makes a excellent MP? You are electing a MP, not a minister. However good the opposition candidate is, I do not think he will end up being a minister. So, other traits of characters might be equally important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 One side has been fielding elites all these while. Now they are faced with a far superior elite. See what the other side gotta say. . To make matter worst, the new candidates that pappy field are a bunch of mediocre with questionable backgrouds.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 (edited) Some info on Rhodes Scholarship :http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhodes_Scholarship Quote : The Rhodes Scholarship, named after Cecil Rhodes, is an international postgraduate award for study at the University of Oxford (in Oxford, England).[1] It was the first large-scale programme of international scholarships,[2] and is widely considered the "world's most prestigious scholarship" by many public sources (such as Time Magazine,[3] Yale University Press,[4] The McGill Reporter,[5] and Associated Press).[6] whether his concerns is more rooted to the ground or not, doesnt matter. Coz i cant feel that the ruling party's concerns is anyway. Edited April 1, 2011 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megatop 3rd Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 The first part of what you said is very true - government will always welcome returning citizens back to contribute to society. BUT, it is another matter altogether for that returning citizen to want to seek public office IMMEDIATELY after being away for like, 30 years? Or that being the reason for the person to come back! Surely he/she will have lots of experience to share, but didn't logic tell you that he should start lower, like doing grass-root work for a few years? Then, after proving their capabilities and winning credibilities with the slogging, seek public office? This is pure common sense isn't it? Do not be naive, or purely desperado and just welcome anybody that jump out. This will be the end of Singapore if it repeats a few time. It is so easy for foreign power to groom successful and willing sinkies to be their puppets to control this land. PS. Personally I have nothing against this Chen Show Mao. But I will reserve judgement till after he speaks and knowing more about him. Credentials, however spectacular, speaks nothing about his character which is the most important part of good candidate. If he is really sincere and good, I will be happy to welcome him. But, please do not be naive to give hero welcome just because he stood out without even knowing more about him. Ask yourself, have you ever exaggerated your CV, or the role you play, when you apply for jobs? And does a excellent CV makes a excellent MP? You are electing a MP, not a minister. However good the opposition candidate is, I do not think he will end up being a minister. So, other traits of characters might be equally important. It is true he will not be made Minister since he is an opposition candidate. At least if he is elected as MP, he can debate and voice issues in Parliament, and keep the PAP Ministers on their toes. More check and balance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megatop 3rd Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 (edited) delete Edited April 1, 2011 by Megatop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 It is true he will not be made Minister since he is an opposition candidate. At least if he is elected as MP, he can debate and voice issues in Parliament, and keep the PAP Ministers on their toes. More check and balance. maybe he can kaopeh what GIC and Temasek Holdg is doing wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 It is true he will not be made Minister since he is an opposition candidate. At least if he is elected as MP, he can debate and voice issues in Parliament, and keep the PAP Ministers on their toes. More check and balance. This I fully agree, if he turns out to be credible. But if he managed to get enough votes to be a MP here, he will need to be able to spend considerable time here to discharge his duty well; especially important for an opposition figure to work doubly hard to make sure his fold will continue to support him in next election. This will be interesting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 maybe he can kaopeh what GIC and Temasek Holdg is doing wrong. certainly will be good if he does that intelligently and forcefully.... not so difficult given his legal background Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 Some info on Rhodes Scholarship :http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhodes_Scholarship Quote : The Rhodes Scholarship, named after Cecil Rhodes, is an international postgraduate award for study at the University of Oxford (in Oxford, England).[1] It was the first large-scale programme of international scholarships,[2] and is widely considered the "world's most prestigious scholarship" by many public sources (such as Time Magazine,[3] Yale University Press,[4] The McGill Reporter,[5] and Associated Press).[6] whether his concerns is more rooted to the ground or not, doesnt matter. Coz i cant feel that the ruling party's concerns is anyway. this says it all............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 It is true he will not be made Minister since he is an opposition candidate. At least if he is elected as MP, he can debate and voice issues in Parliament, and keep the PAP Ministers on their toes. More check and balance. Or maybe he will be sympathetic and say, "you win some, you lose some! So long as no fraud or negligence is found is ok. If you can find me a company that make money all the time, tell me, I go and buy. Only stupid people expect to be able to win all the time! " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 (edited) The first part of what you said is very true - government will always welcome returning citizens back to contribute to society. BUT, it is another matter altogether for that returning citizen to want to seek public office IMMEDIATELY after being away for like, 30 years? Or that being the reason for the person to come back! Surely he/she will have lots of experience to share, but didn't logic tell you that he should start lower, like doing grass-root work for a few years? Then, after proving their capabilities and winning credibilities with the slogging, seek public office? This is pure common sense isn't it? Do not be naive, or purely desperado and just welcome anybody that jump out. This will be the end of Singapore if it repeats a few time. It is so easy for foreign power to groom successful and willing sinkies to be their puppets to control this land. PS. Personally I have nothing against this Chen Show Mao. But I will reserve judgement till after he speaks and knowing more about him. Credentials, however spectacular, speaks nothing about his character which is the most important part of good candidate. If he is really sincere and good, I will be happy to welcome him. But, please do not be naive to give hero welcome just because he stood out without even knowing more about him. Ask yourself, have you ever exaggerated your CV, or the role you play, when you apply for jobs? And does a excellent CV makes a excellent MP? You are electing a MP, not a minister. However good the opposition candidate is, I do not think he will end up being a minister. So, other traits of characters might be equally important. long essay, good work! let's just wait for the actual performance of of all candidates (ruling and oppo), sweet? meanwhile, at theis point no harm compare CVs, and willingness to stand on the underdog side (ie prepared for hard fight, instead of hiding under skirt of some mighty 'clan'), the courage is admirable on its own. talking about character (most important as per your words), 'honest mistake', 'lets move on', etc... pretty good characer hor? Edited April 1, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 Or maybe he will be sympathetic and say, "you win some, you lose some! So long as no fraud or negligence is found is ok. If you can find me a company that make money all the time, tell me, I go and buy. Only stupid people expect to be able to win all the time! " losing in business deals is acceptable, but lack of transparency while using people's money, and making loss thru lack of proper due dilligence is another. If you dont not understand this, we are happy to change topic to suit your knowledge, chill! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 Foreign talent to handle family matters? I sincerely rather not. But it's interesting becos we have chosen to use FTs to solve many of our problems. So perhaps this is just another instance. Haw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 losing in business deals is acceptable, but lack of transparency while using people's money, and making loss thru lack of proper due dilligence is another. If you dont not understand this, we are happy to change topic to suit your knowledge, chill! Sometimes we are too simplistic. Every time temasek announced loss, everyone cry blood. But how do you know the staff never exercise due diligence when discharging their duties at that point of time? Only when making money means exercised due diligence? Is it they must list down the details of the impending and current mega investment deals for all Singaporeans to see, since it is done using tax-payers' money? How to justify this price Temasek paying for this building or company is fair? Need to get consensus from all parties before can sign the deal? Crazy, isn't it? Maybe you can list down the governments that are very transparent to list out all their assets and properties for everyone to scrutinise? So clear that you know exactly how much is in the government coffers, investment in local and foreign firms, properties, etc? We always like to kpkb when bad news are released. But you know what ASSUME mean, don't you? And you know what is horse-behind-canon? Alot of us are very good at this. We are all clever people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 Sometimes we are too simplistic. Every time temasek announced loss, everyone cry blood. But how do you know the staff never exercise due diligence when discharging their duties at that point of time? Only when making money means exercised due diligence? Is it they must list down the details of the impending and current mega investment deals for all Singaporeans to see, since it is done using tax-payers' money? How to justify this price Temasek paying for this building or company is fair? Need to get consensus from all parties before can sign the deal? Crazy, isn't it? Maybe you can list down the governments that are very transparent to list out all their assets and properties for everyone to scrutinise? So clear that you know exactly how much is in the government coffers, investment in local and foreign firms, properties, etc? We always like to kpkb when bad news are released. But you know what ASSUME mean, don't you? And you know what is horse-behind-canon? Alot of us are very good at this. We are all clever people. because there are bad news more than good news, the one on top got her job through connections Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 because there are bad news more than good news, the one on top got her job through connections We live in an imperfect world. When I queue to buy at my favourite prawn mee noodle, I was given more and bigger prawns because I have been buying from the aunty for more than 15 years. Can somebody just come and demand the same treatment? But of course is a different matter if happen at higher office. It might be called corruption since public money is involved. I also reserve judgement on capability of this TPL lady. But I interested only to hear from her, and not the mill. I am not sure when she stomped her feat in frustration when blunder, she knew she was going to be chosen for this job. It was in a joyous occasion and done infront of own kakis, and should not be taken as a indication of whether she can deliver. Very bubbly people do it all the time, as they tends to use gesture and animated expression to express or reinforce their feelings. These do not reflect whether they can perform or not, IMHO. But we will know when they stand on podium to give rally speeches. Be patient, bro. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...