Kiadaw 6th Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 I think its a matter of who should pay (or how much each of you wanna come out), rather than should it be paid. If pay hardball, can probably act blur since no black & white, but ethnically, we should pay him back lah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 why need to ask such question and think so much? still must have conditions? just because of $5k? u will not know what will happen if a guy is desperate. he should be desperate enough since more than 10yrs already, now den ask back money. just pay the the $5k and settle it. no point dragging over it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 1, 2011 Author Share April 1, 2011 what bank are we talking about? I would say dun need to pay at all, you so kind you go pay for TS lor 还是人情,不还是道理! already paid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 1, 2011 Author Share April 1, 2011 why need to ask such question and think so much? still must have conditions? just because of $5k? u will not know what will happen if a guy is desperate. he should be desperate enough since more than 10yrs already, now den ask back money. just pay the the $5k and settle it. no point dragging over it! before i started this thread, i already paid. i just wanna know how generally u guys feel. problem is, tat guy just call up today m ask for the $$$ to be paid asap! i mean, wtf man. even bank also will not be so efficient to pay out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 My motto has always been "Neither a borrower nor a lender be" - and I have my dad to thank for drilling that into me from a young age. Good for you Bro for this.... but sometime quite hard lar.... like for sure we will owe MIW $$$ one... one way or the other.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 My mind always like to wander..... and I wonder whether the "ex" and the "father" collaborated, and split the S$5k behind the scene. Have to deliberate very carefully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 Under the law there is a lache defence..more than 6 years..no claim will be recognised... If Bro here go by the book.... he wont even pay the fella lar.... no IOU, no black and white no nothing..... but good bro here feels he should honor it... and since he already pay... case closed already.... For me, heart will say pay the fella, since FIL say he did borrow.... but my pocket say cannot, because 自身难保。。。。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joemit7850 1st Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 u are right, he needs the $$$ to settle some ahlong debts honestly he is kind enough to ur FIL with o% loan for 10 yrs. no banker will do that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamtaroo Neutral Newbie April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 i think must pay lah, but ask him to write down in black and white paper, 5K received for loan made 10yrs back etc lol ... got to thank your wife ex also, cuz that time ur wife FIL have financial problem and he helped, not all people is willing to help de, some more he didn't mention interest or whatever. now he in financial problem, must return the favor lah, since ur wife already mah .. that means your problem and all the problem ur wife family facing, also your problem got to try to help lah .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanong11 Clutched April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 (edited) Pay, no questions asked. Cause family. My Fil would have done the same thing if it happens to me. Edited April 1, 2011 by Stanong11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 pay and cut relationship clean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 if i were you, i will kpkb but pay up lor.... what to do??? i think every man will be unhappy but try not to blame your wife for that, its not really her fault, its not worth to ruin the relationship just becos of 5K... as for the guy, i dont think he have to intention to get back the money and from how you describe, he seems to be in hot soup now, otherwise, he wouldnt try to get back the money 10 yrs later.. Just take it as paying your FIL the money he used to raise up her daughter and the daughter is you most valuable asset now... Hope my word could make you feel better.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 1, 2011 Author Share April 1, 2011 if i were you, i will kpkb but pay up lor.... what to do??? i think every man will be unhappy but try not to blame your wife for that, its not really her fault, its not worth to ruin the relationship just becos of 5K... as for the guy, i dont think he have to intention to get back the money and from how you describe, he seems to be in hot soup now, otherwise, he wouldnt try to get back the money 10 yrs later.. Just take it as paying your FIL the money he used to raise up her daughter and the daughter is you most valuable asset now... Hope my word could make you feel better.... i dun mind to pay since we owe him $$$. the funny thing is, i myself had hard time getting $$$ back from people who owes me, tats why i asking in general, is it a norm NOT repay loans? but somehow MCF bros here all seems like very nice, most will repay back one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hulk 1st Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 If this happens to u. Your wife's ex suddenly called her and said that he has loan a sum of $5k to her father 10+ yrs ago and now wants the $$$ back. After verification with her father, the loan did take place. So the guy demands the payment of the $5K immediately as he has urgent need. For me, its a damn TL thing. whole life only people owe me $$$ and dun pay, now someone related to me owes someone else $$$ and i have to pay om behalf no pay, 自身难保了 still pay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 no pay, 自身难保了 still pay? you got to give your FIL face don't you? Unreasonable the time frame might be but i absolutely wouldn't want any more lingering legacy from the past. If 5k does it, so it will be. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear April 1, 2011 Share April 1, 2011 If this happens to u. Your wife's ex suddenly called her and said that he has loan a sum of $5k to her father 10+ yrs ago and now wants the $$$ back. After verification with her father, the loan did take place. So the guy demands the payment of the $5K immediately as he has urgent need. For me, its a damn TL thing. whole life only people owe me $$$ and dun pay, now someone related to me owes someone else $$$ and i have to pay om behalf Yes for me, because of family and he is her (wife) father. "Ai Wo Ji Wo" this is in mandarin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 i dun mind to pay since we owe him $$$. the funny thing is, i myself had hard time getting $$$ back from people who owes me, tats why i asking in general, is it a norm NOT repay loans? but somehow MCF bros here all seems like very nice, most will repay back one you are not alone, i also have difficulties getting back my money from people, but most of the loan is 2 digit to 3 digit.. due to the poor experience, i dont give a chance to people to owe me anything more than $50. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 a lot has been discussed by many forumers....all valid points.... i juz feel tat honor is most important....in my case, i've lent ppl money (a few hundred to a few grand) n nvr got it back....i view these ppl as shameless n i know karma will hit them back i've also borrowed a huge sum (>10K) b4 fr a close fren....and i honored my word by paying him back asap.... it sometimes is disappointing to see how ppl behave in this world but hey, at least i have nothing to feel ashamed abt myself 生不带来死不带去 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...