Parkingidiot 1st Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 If you think the PAP Minister are overly paid, why not start with CST, SL and LTK? Can they accept being paid $1? They have not even ask for a allowance reduction. Like I said ... one is not unreasonable... can you live on $1? No, right? I definately can't... so why ask to pay $1 for the Ministers and MPs? Most sane and logical people are asking that the Ministers and MPs be paid reasonable salaries. Comparing to their counterparts around the world, salaries in the range of between $300K-900K per annum for the singapore cabinet members, incl SM, PM and President, are not unreasonable. Even at those rates, they'd still be the highest paid ministers in the world. You bring up CST, SL and LTK - if you get them into cabinet, I can bet that lowering the currently ludicrous pay scales would be one of their key agenda items - otherwise, come next election - the people would give them the boot as well. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 (edited) Is 1984 really good? I've got it lurking around the bookshelves somewhere, will dig it out and give a read since you recommend it so highly! '84 was also when Powerslave was released Live to Fly, Fly to Live!!! Oh and btw, this thread is rather quite irrelevant really! I mean the answer to that question is so obvious, it's kinda like asking if the sun will set tonight! Well, 1984 is "in your face", whereas AF is a thinly-veiled allegorical fable. Certainly, 1984 is far more adult. It is also exceedingly depressing. To me, it's the richer work, simply because of how many neologisms it's contributed to the vernacular - "doublethink", "Newspeak", "thoughtcrime", "Thought Police", etc. And whereas AF was somewhat narrowly focussed on satirising Bolshevism, 1984 is a brilliantly prescient cautionary tale about totalitarianism in general. You will find many uncomfortable parallels to our own wonderful home. Edited April 2, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 Does anyone know PM LHL, SM GCT and MM LKY 's total renumeration package for 2010? Thanks for the information. It will be great to have a link to the news report. I couldn't find anything current regarding this subject on Google. Minimum pay for them: 1) Basic remuneration <--- This is the only figure known publicly. 2) GDP Bonus 3) Growth Bonus 4) Pension 5) Additional Pension 6) Directorship The income benchmark for ministers and top civil servants is pegged at 2/3 the median income of all the top 8 earners in these 6 professions: lawyer, accountant, banker, MNC executive, local manufacturer and engineer. These means that we take the 48 top earners (top 8 from 6 groups), sort them according to their income, take the middle guy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 (edited) Maybe the poll should be ... how much more do you think they will pay themselves, if left unchecked? I think, if no one stop them ... we'd probably see the President and PM salaries hit $10million per annum by end of this decade. Some are way overpaid, some just about right..... how about name each ministers and have a poll to see how each of them fare?? ..... In fact, part of their salary should be variable subject to voters' assessment (thru a well designed poll or similar), but such a assessment should only determine part of the variable pay out, say 20% not full. No doubt it will be a burden to administer this, but at least the voters can have a say as ultimately the ministers are (or ought to be) answerable to the voters. Edited April 2, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 So orignally these candidates had the intention to be corrupted until they received high salary. Is that correct? Then if they have corrupted intentions, how can it be claimed that they have to be squeaky clean before they can be selected to stand for election? Hmmm..... Bribe myself so i won't be corrupted. i didnt say tat hor, u say one [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 asking whether they are overpaid is like asking whether the ocean is blue. or whether maserati, aston martin, etc are highend / supercars... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 You missed the point. Our standard of living are not the worst definitely. But remember, they are the best paid, so we deserve the best. If cannot bring us the best, don't be the best paid. Spot on!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 who's the 4 farker who say their pay reasonable ? kana ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 That's the problem with our gahmen...anyone dare to oppose them? Even if they announce they are getting 1 million dollar a month, can we do anything? Guess we just have to accept our fate...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 That's the problem with our gahmen...anyone dare to oppose them? Even if they announce they are getting 1 million dollar a month, can we do anything? Guess we just have to accept our fate...... We can vote them out. But everyone & their dog knows that Singaporeans are good to eat. They complain complain, but end up still vote them, still pay erp, still pay for their kopi they complain price up too much a week ago, & threaten to boycott. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 who in the world would benchmarks politician pay to ceo ones??? ceo renumeration is "profit driven". to compare this way is worrying. no wonder we are labeled Singapore Inc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funny88 Clutched April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 I think the salary should be: President : S$1 million a year PM: S$900,000 a year ALL Ministers: S$650,000 a year ALL MPs: S$240,000 a year BUT THEY MUST BE FULL TIME MP, NOT HOLDING TO OTHER JOBS/POST! We want FULL TIME MPs, why pay them S$15,000 a month to have a part time MP and they can make use of their power in their job? If our opposition parties can propose and declare to all Voters, they will be a FULL TIME MP once elected, and they are willing to draw the same salary that PAP's MPs are drawing, but they are willing to donate 50% of their pay , set up a fund to help those who are in need, I am sure, they will be able to make it this election. who in the world would benchmarks politician pay to ceo ones??? ceo renumeration is "profit driven". to compare this way is worrying. no wonder we are labeled Singapore Inc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 who in the world would benchmarks politician pay to ceo ones??? ceo renumeration is "profit driven". to compare this way is worrying. no wonder we are labeled Singapore Inc. Just be thankful they never compare to CEOs of top Fortune companies like Steve Job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 they can be overpaid, provided if the citizens are equally highly paid. look at the elderly ones who are still working with low salary plus long hours. how sad... MM said work until die................. But I really don't mind to work till 90yrs old if I get that obese pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 MM said work until die................. But I really don't mind to work till 90yrs old if I get that obese pay. Wonder what will he say if he would to try his hand 1 day working with those aunties and uncles cleaning and clearing plates in the foodcourt..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 who's the 4 farker who say their pay reasonable ? kana ...... Now there are 5 PAP dogs who voted. Don't tell me there is a team of PAP dogs help set up their facebook etc. and defend PAP online. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 Wonder what will he say if he would to try his hand 1 day working with those aunties and uncles cleaning and clearing plates in the foodcourt..... We need more such hardworking local people who are still strong despite their age. This will reduce the need to rely of foreign workers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 2, 2011 Share April 2, 2011 We need more such hardworking local people who are still strong despite their age. This will reduce the need to rely of foreign workers. But the sad thing is many of them have no choice but to work though they are suffering from various ailments. My colleague from overseas was astonished when he saw them, asking me why they are still working despite of their condition and age. I replied that in Singapore, you can die but you cannot fall sick! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...