Darthrevan Supercharged April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 I eat the same (even leser), exercise at the same rate (tennis twice a week). Still the tummy keep getting bigger and bigger just like pregnacy .... the amount of food matters less..its abt the amount of calories intake..have to count the calories for every meal ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Been fat my whole life. Lost weight a few times through sheer calorie counting and eating less and exercising more. Always gained back the weight. Until I found out the foods that make me fat and hungry. Cut them out, and the weight just melted off. Now, I'm up to 70kg because of heavy lifting. But it's lean mass. My waist now is the same as when I was 65kg (29"). i quite ok accept the love handles...knn...dun know if i should keep them for my wife to hold or wat...hahaha difficult to get rid...coz like to eat too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 I eat the same (even leser), exercise at the same rate (tennis twice a week). Still the tummy keep getting bigger and bigger just like pregnacy .... Well, I guess this is part of aging and what that is more important is that we have to learn how to age gracefully. becos ur metabolic rate slows down with age.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 slow jog as in what kind of pace? 6min/km pace consider slow jog? Distance covered will be between 5-10km... I cannot only do interval trainings, got 25km passion run coming up....so i will need to do clock some distance too... most prob i will do each once a wk, so total of 2 training sessions. if u are mid 30s, 6min/km for 10km is quite fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunnysaxena Neutral Newbie April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 (edited) Many people have shared good pieces of advise here. And I agree with most of them. You certainly do need to lower your overall body fat. Since you have a tummy too big for comfort, I think you need a lot of patience. Fat doesn't reduce from any particular part of the body. It reduces from the entire body. Workout is certainly important to get flat stomach, but at this point, you need to concentrate more on diet. Here is a thumb rule - Burn More Calories Than You Take Everyday - And Consume Less Calories Than You Need Everyday Read that again, if you can understand it well, eventually you'll have a flat stomach. Once you have a flat stomach, you can concentrate on workout that can help you get well defined six pack abs. Because Abs are muscles that need to be worked out to show up. Hope this helps. Edited April 13, 2011 by Sunnysaxena Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hjteo 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 There is no such thing as spot reduction. Without getting your body fat down to a level where your abs show through, no amount of any ab exercise will help them become more visible. In fact, the opposite is true. If you increase the size of your ab muscles with a 30% body fat level, you stomach is going to appear even BIGGER than if you don't do any ab exercise. The layer of fat in front of your ab muscles will hide whatever abs you have. However, even if you don't do a single ab exercise and lose body fat through diet alone, you are going to have visible abs once you hit a certain body fat level 10-15% usually. The lower your body fat, the more obvious your abs will be. It is at this time that it makes sense to exercise your abs for the sake of aesthetics. In other words, you want abs? Go on a diet first. CBS, with you. Once the fat levels drop - the more obvious the abs. I was actually aiming to reduce weight and got 'free' abs (actually it was there all this while). Now doing 'planks' to build the core muscles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtbike Clutched April 13, 2011 Author Share April 13, 2011 CBS, with you. Once the fat levels drop - the more obvious the abs. I was actually aiming to reduce weight and got 'free' abs (actually it was there all this while). Now doing 'planks' to build the core muscles. Read that "planks", try to maintain for 2min? How many sets do you do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 CBS, with you. Once the fat levels drop - the more obvious the abs. I was actually aiming to reduce weight and got 'free' abs (actually it was there all this while). Now doing 'planks' to build the core muscles. Way to go bro! Glad to know your success on the lifestyle. You know what are killer ab exercises for me? Pull ups, barbell back squats and renegade rows. Never fails to make me sore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 tummy getting too big for comfort. Anyone got any good abs exercise to recommend? Read online that doing crunches dont really helps. jogging is the best way! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hjteo 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 The planks am doing now is core set from Marks Daily apple. Maintain 90 secs then change over to the sides (45 secs each). Currently just a set or two each day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hjteo 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 Power! didn't know squats are that powerful. just started on normal squats to strengthen leg muscles. Didn't know that pull ups and renegade rowing are killer ads exercise. Thanks . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 (edited) Do ab roller. It will kill your abs. Even if you are doing 100 cruches/day now, nothing beats the ab roller. Warning : Look easy, but very difficult for beginners. Do slowly at the start, and go lower when you get better at it. Now, if your abs sore for the next one week, please don't blame me. BTW, you can only do this if your abs is relatively flat. If you have a tummy, don't even try. You may just kill yourself as well Edited April 13, 2011 by Icedbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 Need to soften/ breakdown the fats before excerise rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 Way to go bro! Glad to know your success on the lifestyle. You know what are killer ab exercises for me? Pull ups, barbell back squats and renegade rows. Never fails to make me sore... CBS finally go gym liao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 CBS finally go gym liao? Yeah. Haha. Wanna do as little as possible, as little time as possible to maintain muscle. Doing 3-5 reps. Don't wanna grow too big. But lifting this heavy really taxes my nervous system. Although short sessions, I have to really concentrate on not screwing up my form. So far, it's working. Can maintain (even grow a bit), not putting on fat, and more time for life while eating as much as i want. Shiok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 Need to soften/ breakdown the fats before excerise rite? No such theory leh. I think go for massage also cannot soften fat... It's already as soft as it can be... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 Power! didn't know squats are that powerful. just started on normal squats to strengthen leg muscles. Didn't know that pull ups and renegade rowing are killer ads exercise. Thanks . Bodyweight squats won't tax your core much once you are more advanced. But put a heavy weight on your back or front, and it's a different story altogether. You have to fight to maintain a straight back or you will topple over. Not really fun when that happens. In fact when I first started barbell squatting, my core took some time to catch up to my legs. As I squatted, I tended to want to fall to the front. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbao999 1st Gear April 13, 2011 Share April 13, 2011 i am 1.71m and weight 64kg ... seem like a decent size ... but i dun have nice abs (very sad) when take off my cloths , can see my tummy, fats around ... I dun eat a single vegetable at all for the past 27 years !!! I mostly eat meat, fried food, and alot of rice .... I jog at least 3 time a weeks. lucky I enjoy exercise so to control my weight ... last time when i am 22, I use to weight 78kg , after NS slim down a bit ... I slowly discover that diet is the main reason that I can't get nice abs ... Now I going for my wedding shot in May, I controlling more on my diet .. Morning eat biscult and drink milo ... afternoon eat some food without rice and not too much .. dinner i take early and not too much also ... rest for 2 hour go for jog. after jogging i do some abs training. I avoid any food few hours before sleep. Slowly, I am seeing result in my abs ... but still long way to go ... hopefully can make it before my wedding shot in May hahah .... Anyone have a better idea/ solution for a faster result ... Was once though of sucking out my fat through operation, but high risk, not worth it .... regards ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...