2011 Jaguar XF

Halo111094

Jaguar XF is a beautiful car but with suspectable transmission. It has problem down-shift quickly. Depend on your driving style, it could stall while down-shifting. A real shame for such a gorgeous car.

It happened with the current 8-speed transmission. THe 6-speed is ok.

Jaguar XF is a beautiful car but with suspectable transmission. It has problem down-shift quickly. Depend on your driving style, it could stall while down-shifting. A real shame for such a gorgeous car.

Really? Can elaborate what it means by stall during downshift? Engine die down?

Edited by Fourth

Is it a ZF GB for Jaguar too? ZF 8 speeder is doing wonders for others like BMW and Lexus!

http://www.netcarshow.com/jaguar/2012-xf/

New 8-speed automatic

The engine is perfectly complemented by the all-new 8-speed ZF automatic gearbox. Specifically adapted by our engineers for its first-time application in a Jaguar, the transmission offers a host of benefits including both improved acceleration and economy. Gearchanges are completed in just 200 milliseconds - four times faster than the average human resting heartbeat - while driver control is enhanced by the ability to perform multiple downshifts using the paddleshift technology.

http://www.netcarshow.com/jaguar/2012-xf/

New 8-speed automatic

The engine is perfectly complemented by the all-new 8-speed ZF automatic gearbox. Specifically adapted by our engineers for its first-time application in a Jaguar, the transmission offers a host of benefits including both improved acceleration and economy. Gearchanges are completed in just 200 milliseconds - four times faster than the average human resting heartbeat - while driver control is enhanced by the ability to perform multiple downshifts using the paddleshift technology.

Thanks for the info. ZF 8 speeder is a success all over. Was wondering what is this thingy "stall during downshift"?

You have to be quick, if you want the 2.2D, as i was told they have limited stock, not sure if how true is that. $199K is no guarantee COE, and rebate at 50K.

No further discounts? and do they offer the 3 years free servicing...?

I dont know if the $199K is still valid (due to limited stock, as i was told last Friday). 3 years free servicing was included then.

Edited by Passat57

Managed to test the XF 3.0SC just the other day to try out a supercharged engine. I must say for most of the time, the XF 2.0T is good enough luh. For some strange reason, the steering from the XF SC felt incredibly heavy, and the brakes were super soft (lack of feedback).

The power also comes on in one lump if you floor the accelerator, and is not like BMW's wafting kind of power. The gearshifts using the paddles as manual over-ride was quite harsh too. Haha. But the engine sound is shiok though!

Agreed on the sales people attitude. There were 3 receptionist seating in the front desk. When I requested for a brochure, they were like, "Can you fill up this form first"? Then after filling it up, they asked me to wait.

Super cocky lah their sales attitude. Fortunately I knew one of the sales person, so at least end of the day I got attended to. There were a few people who were also seeing the XF, but weren't attended to, so they stormed out of the showroom.

Agreed on the sales people attitude. There were 3 receptionist seating in the front desk. When I requested for a brochure, they were like, "Can you fill up this form first"? Then after filling it up, they asked me to wait.

Super cocky lah their sales attitude. Fortunately I knew one of the sales person, so at least end of the day I got attended to. There were a few people who were also seeing the XF, but weren't attended to, so they stormed out of the showroom.

Is it because they recognize you.....

So receptionists or sales cocky? In what way?

Are you a sales rep from Wearnes? Why ask so much?

If you are, please go and witness how your receptionist don't even bother to greet your customers.

And if you're not, there is already another potential customer who experienced the same treatment I got.

No wonder people are buying BMW and Mercedes. The treatment I got while looking around in their showrooms was completely different.

Seriously....

Does anyone know how much was this car selling for when new, back in Jan 11.

http://wearnespreowned.com/available-cars/...s?car_id=335606

Whats the difference between this and the current offering?

That car was about $255K in Jan 2011. Currently, you can only get 2.2D (4 cyclinder engine, 8-speed gb), whereas the used unit 3.0D is a dual turbo V6 6-speed gb. Very different in drive and comfort.

Edited by Passat57

I am not sales sorry to disappoint. However if you do constructive complaint or feedback, it is always good to quantify. Don't smile immediately, treat me as king, etc also can be considered as cocky depending threshold. Seriously most showroom I went, mostly not cocky.... Except one time with Subaru. I asked price for Tribeca. Sales replied me: sure? That is our most expensive model you know?

In any case, if you so happy with BMW, merc or other makes pls go ahead lor. Lol.

Edited by Fourth

If there's nothing for me to complain, I won't purposely find some nitpicks and make it a whoo-haa.

But seriously, the sales people from jaguar has to improve. Otherwise, their reputation will never be on par with the german marques. If you ask me, I probably won't want to step into Jaguar Land Rover showroom ever again.

That car was about $255K in Jan 2011. Currently, you can only get 2.2D (4 cyclinder engine, 8-speed gb), whereas the used unit 3.0D is a dual turbo V6 6-speed gb. Very different in drive and comfort.

if thats the case, the pricing of this 2nd hand unit looks quite attractive.

Can U share which, in your opinion, is better in terms of comfort and drive?