Timex1441 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 lol..does anyone knows the reason for reclaiming these block of flats?...... Normally if one were to seize the land and evict, the reasons are either for safety measures or for public good like MRT lines, libraries etc........If reason is to build more flats or condo, than that is a private company mentality as the gains are private and not for general public. go n ask those ppl who experienced SERS in hillview (now bt batok) area....for a while the land of the demolished flats was left standing empty.....then i think private condos were eventually built.,...so wat's the motive? it's so obvious lah.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 go n ask those ppl who experienced SERS in hillview (now bt batok) area....for a while the land of the demolished flats was left standing empty.....then i think private condos were eventually built.,...so wat's the motive? it's so obvious lah.... The hillview folks were relocated to the empty land parallel to the MRT tracks along Gombak station... part of the empty land has been sold for condo development though most of it remains empty till now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 The hillview folks were relocated to the empty land parallel to the MRT tracks along Gombak station... part of the empty land has been sold for condo development though most of it remains empty till now. ya, i know....but dun be surprised if the land is sold to private developers in the yrs after GE...anyway, if the govt is truly sincere in upgrading flats for its ppl, there r MANY old flats tat they shld choose for SERS but it hasn't been done....the cynical part of me says tat it's becos not profitable enough for them to do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 so yours is the site for the future DBSS clementi? no, DBSS and SERS are two completely different things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 if the govt is truly sincere in upgrading flats... the only thing we can be sure of that the govt is truly sincere in is making more money from us Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 Ermm. In future, more and more sers coming up. Prob more and more similar cases. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) What if property market starts to decline? These ppl LLST? Edited April 25, 2011 by Mike1234 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) put it this way, regardless p@p or whoever is next garmen, theyll face the same pressure. In 2004, HDB prices were flat bottom, everyone kan garmen for screwing up & oversupplying & price dropping. Now is the other way round, not enuff supply & price increasing. Yet garmen cannot keep changing policy every 6mths to keep up w the mkt. if say wp takes over HDB, wp will face the same s--t of pple screaming at them one lah as i mentioned previously, even if they find a balance between BTO & supply first, still wont solve the problem 100%. The only solution is to scrap HDB & let private developers fark up the mkt, then see if the public prefer HDB or private developers. by then all hell break loose & sg is gone case liao Edited April 25, 2011 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 I know where you are coming from. The main gist is there is no longer true subsidy by HDB and also price have increased while wage levels have not kept pace. Since government is in the position to provide AFFORDABLE housing for first timers, they should be seen as doing so and not term it as market discount etc etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koko 4th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 1. thats the point i also mention in my point 6. 2. China, indonesia. most of their tenures are abt 50yrs. 3. china 4. this is also a point i have serious problems w, but this is thread is abt HDB, not URA DC on private property, so lets stick to the thread topic? 5. as i mentioned in point 4, if there isnt an income ceiling system, i can tell u most of the HDB will b owned by a couple of rich individuals who become sg's biggest landlords, then u will have public revolt on that too. The number of multi-millionaires dying to buy cheap housing to rent out is huge. WIthout this income check, the avg person has zero chance to outpay these rich pple for hdb flats For China, the land is 75 years. So what next after 75 years? If the garment need the land, they will pay you back the property price. If the the owner don accept, there is why they got 丁子户. If they do not need the land, they will ask the owner to top up the land lease again. Don know if rule have change, since i came back from china in 2008. When you bought the house, it already belong to you. you lease the land. For Indo, if i did not remember wrongly, the lease is 50 years. the condition is almost same as china. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 put it this way, regardless p@p or whoever is next garmen, theyll face the same pressure. In 2004, HDB prices were flat bottom, everyone kan garmen for screwing up & oversupplying & price dropping. Now is the other way round, not enuff supply & price increasing. Yet garmen cannot keep changing policy every 6mths to keep up w the mkt. if say wp takes over HDB, wp will face the same s--t of pple screaming at them one lah as i mentioned previously, even if they find a balance between BTO & supply first, still wont solve the problem 100%. The only solution is to scrap HDB & let private developers fark up the mkt, then see if the public prefer HDB or private developers. by then all hell break loose & sg is gone case liao yes, fully agree with you. but your fellow pampered singaporeans will tell u that they cant do it. having pte developers take care of housing needs is fine for every country in the world but not for pampered singapore. For us, we need PAPPY to tell us where and how to live. singaporeans will complain that if all flats are handed to pte developers, they wont be able to afford it. yes in the current system where 80% of housing is by the govt monopoly. if 100% of housing is by pte developers, the laws of demand and supply will take over, JUST LIKE IN THE REST OF THE WORLD! singaporeans wont ever open their eyes. they are screwed cos they let the gahmen screw them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 We are victims of our own success. Home owners: dun we all wish to sell hi hi n profit? New home owners aka somebody's kid:wish housing was more affordable. So how do u allocate the value fairly? The vicious cycle starts when I buy hi now I sell even higher else dun sell. One unpopular alternative is to control hdb's appreciation. Eg 5% of purchase price yr on yr. This benefits the future gen but screws up the current gen. Similar to fixed resources. The more u use now the less ur future gen has. Think fishes n oil n global warming. realistically we rather save us now or whine for ppl to clean up their act and deal with tml's problem tml. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) yes, fully agree with you. but your fellow pampered singaporeans will tell u that they cant do it. having pte developers take care of housing needs is fine for every country in the world but not for pampered singapore. For us, we need PAPPY to tell us where and how to live. singaporeans will complain that if all flats are handed to pte developers, they wont be able to afford it. yes in the current system where 80% of housing is by the govt monopoly. if 100% of housing is by pte developers, the laws of demand and supply will take over, JUST LIKE IN THE REST OF THE WORLD! singaporeans wont ever open their eyes. they are screwed cos they let the gahmen screw them! theres no perfect system for housing globally. pple say oz or uk is attractive to stay, but uk got 20% VAT & oz mortgage rate is above 7% now. malaysia mortgage also high. hk is facing a huge ponzi bubble now propped up by chinamen. US is dead meat as prices keep falling. dont talk abt middle east coz its huge oversupply now theres no perfect place, so just choose the one with the least problems. & agree we r victims of our own success. Edited April 25, 2011 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 yes, fully agree with you. but your fellow pampered singaporeans will tell u that they cant do it. having pte developers take care of housing needs is fine for every country in the world but not for pampered singapore. For us, we need PAPPY to tell us where and how to live. singaporeans will complain that if all flats are handed to pte developers, they wont be able to afford it. yes in the current system where 80% of housing is by the govt monopoly. if 100% of housing is by pte developers, the laws of demand and supply will take over, JUST LIKE IN THE REST OF THE WORLD! singaporeans wont ever open their eyes. they are screwed cos they let the gahmen screw them! if the started off with private developers, market will be able to fund a stabilising point where price = dd meet ss. thing is garthmen wan fatten coffers, come up with land sale prices peg to private developers sale rpice and put in valuations anyhow peg, which increase the bubble but hey we started with grand vision of 90% home ownership and minister who collect 5x obama salary, so u collect they pay, u do the job, u skrew up with property bubble , u should take responsibility just like in the corporate world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) if the started off with private developers, market will be able to fund a stabilising point where price = dd meet ss. thing is garthmen wan fatten coffers, come up with land sale prices peg to private developers sale rpice and put in valuations anyhow peg, which increase the bubble but hey we started with grand vision of 90% home ownership and minister who collect 5x obama salary, so u collect they pay, u do the job, u skrew up with property bubble , u should take responsibility just like in the corporate world. again i need to mention that if say we change to private developers now with no concept of income ceiling, u will see the developers sell bulk to rich pple, & end up most of the mkt is owned by a few pple & i tell u public revolt will b even worse than now. Private developers dont care who buys their units, willing to pay will sell, they dont care if 90% of us cannot afford housing. This scenario is real, which is y hdb came out to stop dual ownership of hdb & private simultaneously. Edited April 25, 2011 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 Alot of people here keep harping on the costs the lucky sers people have to bear to take up the new units. But what if they take the compensation money and get a similar unit in nearby blocks? Will they be better off financially since the compensation is quite fair? Compensation 3rm 82 sqm: $402k - $454k 4rm 92sqm: $500k - $557k Will a 3rm flat in neighbouring block goes up to $400k? Somebody can check the transaction price of a 3rm flat in nearby block? Space wise should be similar since built around same time. Most probably they could still have some change to do up the place nicely. Would it be the best of both world? But I am not familiar with sers law, whether the residents need to live there for another 5 years before can sell? or can sell now before getting the new flats are ready, now that the sers has been confirmed? I didn't know about the resale levy. For forced SERS like this, they should waive the resale levy. This is not voluntary leh, its compulsory. Why should it be taxed? I assume its like stamp duty? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) looking at all these... guess the best is to have a FH property? Specifically landed? If you can afford it, buy pte with 999 years or freehold if you are looking at long term for your kids cos property ownership will be hard if they stay in SG. Selective SERS target at redeveloping prime areas. The rest of non-prime areas get lift, hdb and neighbourhood upgrading. So I wonder what's next after this? 99 years expire and your kids are left with nothing for something you have worked hard all your life? Edited April 25, 2011 by Alim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 if the started off with private developers, market will be able to fund a stabilising point where price = dd meet ss. thing is garthmen wan fatten coffers, come up with land sale prices peg to private developers sale rpice and put in valuations anyhow peg, which increase the bubble but hey we started with grand vision of 90% home ownership and minister who collect 5x obama salary, so u collect they pay, u do the job, u skrew up with property bubble , u should take responsibility just like in the corporate world. now they're saying that cos property prices are so high, if we push it down, home owners will suffer. duh! i dont need top notch skolar to tell me that. they over inflated the prices, in order to fix it, the people will have to suffer. if they dont fix it, the younger generation will suffer. Mickey Mouse recently said that our property prices are 10x our neighbours, like it is a good thing! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...