Invigorated Supercharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 (edited) If we are talking 3rm(old) to 3rm(new), they can still afford lah. If they are really cash strap they can rent out one room and earn some rent money. If their children let them stay with them they can even rent out the whole unit after 5 years. I dun like to say this but after they pass on this asset will go to their children. It's up to them what to do with it. Please note that 'afford' shouldn't be the point here but 'compromise'. They have to downgrade to a house that is about ~20% smaller, pay for reno and clearance, and like you said, 'rent out if they are cash strapped'. Will anyone who's old look forward to this been shoved in their face? Eventually the compensation wouldn't even outweigh the losses. Plus, those who have bought their houses before as resale will have to pay a resale levy, like others have said. Please see this as an illustration. Edited April 24, 2011 by Invigorated ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Digging their own grave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 having lived in this area for more than 30 yrs, i know those blocks like my two dingdongs... the ppl there are old and are drawing down on their CPF. now HDB ask them to move, do reno.. move to a smaller place with stupid layout... for wat? New place? I think the residents are happy enough with the old ones... go onto streetdirectory.com and look at the location... barely 100m to the MRT, bus interchange and new mall... after giving all these amenities with taxpayers money, they evict the residents.. of course residents can stay... at a price!!! MBT trying to do a Lim Tong Hai at this time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 I am saying 4 room flats... 3 room flat, pai sei lah... unfair comparison leh... hahah Don't care 3 or 4 room, we all go by psf price. This is hardly any compensation at all. Other than 4-rm to 4-rm (92sqm), the rest are paying more psf. Don't forget, you still need to spend a sum to renovate. Compensation 3rm 82 sqm: $395k - $445k 882 sqft = $447.84 - $504.53 psf Avg PSF price = $476.18 psf 4rm 92sqm: $490k - $545k 990 sqft = $494.94 - $550.50 psf Avg PSF Price = $522.72 psf Above does not include estd reasonable expenses because it is meant to pay for removal, stamp and legal fees of replacement flat. Selling Price 3rm 67sqm: $346-$407k 721 sqft = $479.88 - $564.49 Avg PSF Price: $522.18 psf 4rm 85sqm: $443K-$521k 914 sqft = $484.68 - $570.02 Avg PSF Price: $527.35 psf 4rm 92sqm: $468k -$548k 990 sqft = $472.72 - $553.53 Avg PSF Price: $513.12 psf 5rm 110sqm: $574k - $681k 1184 sqft = $484.79 - $575.16 Avg PSF Price: $529.57 psf The above selling price w/o 20% discount (up to $30k) because there is still a resale levy of 20% of the selling price of replacement flat OR need to pay fixed quantum levy, pegged to the flat type of the 1st subsidised flat as follows: 2-room: $15,000 3-room: $30,000 4-room: $40,000 5-room: $45,000 Exec Flat: $50,000 So LPPL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 this line misleading lah.... do proper counting will be assuming both are top floor - 491K-454K = 40K top up. for a same size house then HDB will tell you. i give you 99 years, your flat less than 70 years liao as a excuse for low flat price. all those talk about appriating value Good. For once you are not dreaming.. Seems like, a lot of people conveniently assume the 30 years lease is $0 value. Might as well give all HDB flat as freehold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Any further news/updates from those people living there who are affected. Would be interesting to see what they have to say, more details on the SERS thing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 see buy sell, they also want to squeeze your balls. Malboro must fall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Wah.... 4rm $450m?! Which future you from?! j/k har... TR-syndrome. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 (edited) Which act are you refering to astroturfing? to be honest, they ( i am sure you know who i am referring to) have engaged in astroturfing on so many issues, i have lost count already. I asked that question because i would like to know whether you are aware that they might be astroturfing. Edited April 24, 2011 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chengwh492 Clutched April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 PAP lackey also live in kampong one meh? i tot these days they either come from up north or india or some elite uncaring face sick father. no wonder you still stay in hdb flat. i tot u got 3mil worth property? Well put. The kampong I grew up with has alot of fond memories, but now no more to make way for present Tampines new town. As a young boy, I have no choice but I know my parents (farmers) have never complained about it, at least not that I had any memories of it. Maybe last time, people accepts the concept of nation building more? Anyway, not being shortchanged alot afaik. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 yes $450,000 is daylight robbery just wondered if there is a typo error anyway ruling party will come out stating that they have no power over HDB as they are independent BUT will talk to them to help residence WAYANG They might be jus creating problems and when they step in and talk to HDB. miraculously they solve the problem and people love them...again. Smart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 They might be jus creating problems and when they step in and talk to HDB. miraculously they solve the problem and people love them...again. Smart. If HDB give them special concesssion then MIW more problems lor. Deep blue sea and flying pan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 If HDB give them special concesssion then MIW more problems lor. Deep blue sea and flying pan. Then it will be setting a trend for future cases.. lagi worse.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 (edited) so now... say I'm living happily minding my own business in the home I've had for the last 30years... just finished, or finishing paying off my 30year loan... and then you come and say "Dude, you gotta downgrade to a smaller home. Here's $40K .. go buy yourself some new furniture. Now fark off from my elite uncaring face already". Yep... I just so look forward to growing old in Singapore. Well, it depends how one look at this thing. A pessimistic and calculative person will look at it like what you mentioned. An optimistic one will look at it that since I am already old, getting a smaller new place plus some extra cash may not be that bad afterall. Edited April 24, 2011 by Icedbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FromA2B Neutral Newbie April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 actually why does HDB need to reclaim that land? It is not that they are building MRT etc that will benefit the general public. If they are building condos or newer flats, how does that benefit the general public. If they are doing it for profit, isn't that sounds like those bad guys in those old HK movies?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Good deal or not, only the residents of these 3 blocks will know. There must be something amiss or inappropriate. Otherwise, why would anyone complain about a "good deal". if you have renovated your home, then it's not a good deal. if your home last renovation is 20 or 30 years ago, it's a good deal. when my parent sold theirs ( blk 322) 10 years ago, i still remembered the window grill are already rusting ( after 20 years), still have a lot of old friends and neighbors living there.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 oh iirc,got 2 enbloc at clementi rite?so these batch is interchange one? ya la thats why i said old people sure kb one ma another one is near expressway coming up?? from what i understand. the enbloc to the ones at clementi interchange is only temporary..aka holding area ( when the new ones are rebuild) the residents are allow to choose new units and move back the current setup to the gov is a great waste of space.. look at the carpark space and the area btw block 321 and 324.. at least 150mteres and 323 till clementi mrt at least 200 meters other than carpark space can be increased... by having mscp currently the 3 blocks flats are 10 floor high,, each floor the most abt 12-14 units.. total 420 units if enbloc the whole area,, can build at least 5 to 6 point blocks.( packed closely) ( each floor 6 units, 30 to 40 floors) one block already 240 units ,6 block 1440 units and then sell for 500k 600k each in the open market.. ( why not) damn good for the reserves :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 from what i understand. the enbloc to the ones at clementi interchange is only temporary..aka holding area ( when the new ones are rebuild) the residents are allow to choose new units and move back the current setup to the gov is a great waste of space.. look at the carpark space and the area btw block 321 and 324.. at least 150mteres and 323 till clementi mrt at least 200 meters other than carpark space can be increased... by having mscp currently the 3 blocks flats are 10 floor high,, each floor the most abt 12-14 units.. total 420 units if enbloc the whole area,, can build at least 5 to 6 point blocks.( packed closely) ( each floor 6 units, 30 to 40 floors) one block already 240 units ,6 block 1440 units and then sell for 500k 600k each in the open market.. ( why not) damn good for the reserves :) this is how they justify their millions dollars pay. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...