Be afraid.....be very afraid....

Give oil prices have a direct impact on price of goods, why is msia able to sell ron97 at 2.7 rm n SG sell ron98 at wat 4.6rm ? Isn't this a structural problem?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1125633/1/.html

I scaaaaaaaaaaaaaat [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

SINGAPORE: After the financial crisis, and after the economic rebound, the People's Action Party (PAP) leadership sees "dark clouds" ahead.

No fewer than five Ministers, including Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean, sounded the warning on Thursday as the PAP sought to build on its election manifesto of securing Singapore's future.

The message to voters - said at the party's walkabouts, at its election rally and in its political broadcast last night - comes after weeks of framing the 2011 General Election as the one that will usher in a fourth-generation leadership to take Singapore to 2020.

Now, the PAP has filled in the backdrop to their message of leadership renewal, and brought sharply into focus a string of global events happening as the May 7 polls approach.

In the PAP's first party political broadcast, for instance, PM Lee cited the challenge of an "ever-changing and uncertain" international environment.

He said: "We can see dark clouds on the horizon - the political upheavals in the Middle East, the tsunami and nuclear disaster in Japan, serious debt problems in Europe, and a crisis in government finances in the US.

"Our neighbouring countries also face security challenges from extremists and terrorists.

"All these could impact our growth, stability and security."

The PAP's sketch of the global context and how it is expected to affect Singapore - "dark clouds in the next five years", Home Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam told reporters in a constituency walkabout - was a sharp contrast to a message that the Workers' Party (WP) has carried through for three weeks.

Just as WP secretary-general Low Thia Khiang had said previously that now was the best time to buy "political insurance", his party colleague Pritam Singh said in WP's political broadcast that the time was right "to take advantage of our economic and political stability" to vote the Opposition into Parliament.

The question that DPM Teo posed on Thursday night, as he spoke at the PAP rally in Buangkok, was this: "Can we be sure that the path will be smooth for us in the future? Who knows what challenges and crisis we will face in the coming years?"

The experience of the last 10 years shows that the unexpected can strike, he said, citing the World Trade Centre attack, SARS and the financial collapse in developed countries in 2008.

This year, Singapore's economy is expected to grow by between 4 and 6 percent, but the call for continued vigilance resounded yesterday.

In his May Day message, Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong said: "There could be significant volatility in the global economy ... We must remain vigilant in monitoring these developments and be ready to respond if global growth falters."

The effects are already being felt, Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan said in the morning as he described the problem of rising costs not just as a local issue but a global one.

In particular, he said the Middle East crisis could greatly impact oil prices and the lives of Singaporeans.

"We talk about cost of living. That will affect us in a very drastic way if the crisis were to filter into Saudi Arabia, which is the largest exporter for oil," he said.

But while the PAP sees this challenge lying in wait for Singapore, the party also believes the answers can be found in its manifesto.

PM Lee said last night in its 12-minute broadcast that the PAP will create better-paying jobs, ensure that low-wage workers are not left behind, strengthen the education system for all children as well as help seniors stay active and healthy.

He acknowledged current issues such as cost of living and how the Government is giving out utility rebates and the Growth Dividends from the Budget, among other offset measures.

As for public housing, he said: "We're building many more new HDB flats. We promise that young families will get their flats sooner, and at affordable prices."

These issues were raised at the Opposition rallies on Thursday night, as they have been in the lead up to the GE. For the PAP, the next phase of the campaign has begun.

Asked on Thursday night if the PAP will keep up its message about the uncertainties of the future, DPM Teo said simply: "If you look at the next 10 years, I honestly can't predict what might turn up. This is one of the things we worry about. We spend a lot of time thinking about it, and it's a reality we live with every day." - TODAY

I believe tghe main issue is that there are too many malingers among the current People Avoiding Party members. They simply raise the cost (apply most expensive solution), so we dare not expect much eventually. Example: If Nicole along can handle NSP rally, why PAP needs six-member malingering within GRCs?

I never knew with million dollar salaries, one can still speak of dark clouds. Maybe billion dollar salaries will then remove all dark clouds

they can. watch Martin Brundle's interview with our PM .. he can use chilli and onions!!

I'm trying my best to understand why (according to the PAP) opposition candidates cannot do as well if not better than the incumbent in whatever the future climate may be. It only holds true if each and every PAP candidate is better than their election opponent, but that is not the case (in my view). But the PAP selection process has shown that it is not foolproof. Neither do I believe that the PAP will do more right than the next opposition candidate each and every time. Sure they do right many times, but they have gotten some things wrong too, in certain cases horribly wrong.

I'm totally into the idea of having more opposition in the parliament. However, for the opposition to claim that they can do this do that (like chasing out foreigners and bringing better jobs for Singaporean), I'm taking it with a big pinch of salt. Once you are on-board in the government system and you see the data, then you will start to know why things are as what it is. Things are not as easy as what they claim they can do.

Quick bring in the clothes - wait rain - clothes will get wet....

Nope - as FM933 advertisement said - bring in the sandbags. Its gonna flood again in Orchard Rd.

I'm totally into the idea of having more opposition in the parliament. However, for the opposition to claim that they can do this do that (like chasing out foreigners and bringing better jobs for Singaporean), I'm taking it with a big pinch of salt. Once you are on-board in the government system and you see the data, then you will start to know why things are as what it is. Things are not as easy as what they claim they can do.

I agree, chasing out foreigners or not will probably be taken with a large handful of salt.

But at least someone will be there asking why are we not looking towards being more discriminating in who we bring in? And what is the hidden agenda for trying to attract, and perhaps turn these foreigners into citizens?

"As for public housing, he said: "We're building many more new HDB flats. We promise that young families will get their flats sooner, and at affordable prices."

Are you sure? I thought your MP MBT said high prices is good for Singaporean? So what's what now?

their "affordable" level is very different from yours and mine and their "high price" also of different level.... i think in general, i can safely assume in general, for a 4-rm hdb flat, MBT so call high price is in the range of 800k-1mil (that's what he is pushing for i think in 5yrs time if to follow current "affordable" appreciation rate..) so, with current market of 300-400K for new BTO and 400-500K in open market is actually still very affordable according to his yardstick.... dont worry.... [:p]

The rising cost of living should not be compared to other big countries, LSL likes to compare us against other during erection campaign.

Why don't he understand simple logic, if he likes to compare, ok that will brings us back to colonial days, How ere we then and then now?

Comparision between 2-3 counties will not makes us stronger, only weaker, we are only tiny red dot, a city and a nation, what is there to compare?

Achievement are made thru citizens's sacrifices and nation-building thru sheer hard work and loyalty brotherhood.

The olden days policemen wore short-pant as compare to today modern men in blues, what is the comparision in nation-building? Either you have it or you don't. Simple isn't it

My old joe used to tell me tis before he kick the bucket, he said, " Son, grow up and be a good citizen." I replied, " Yes Pa.", Even now, I dun know how to be a good one, instead, I've been marginalised, penalised & persecuted for speaking the honest truth which my ex-boss can't accept to know the true, so . . . Tis was what happened to me. " Comparison between 2 person in terms of working rich and dying poor are 2 elements, many will die poor, few will die rich and some, in between . . .

Can anyone tell me what in the future for Singaporean in the next 10 years down the road, I can't, for sure If I can I be somewhere up there.

In short, it is not nice to compare against poorer countries/nation in the Asian Pacific, we are looking for a Party who can lead /show us the way to financial freedom and not telling us to Pay & pay till we drop dead. Yes, every citizen will be taken care of, every senior citizen will be given medical

/hospitalisation benefit, but the waiting time was a " pain ", Every elected MP can go up the stage and promised we will fight for you this/tat/everything under the sun, They can talk till the cow comes home, but it is still a sick cow.

MP are supposed to serve people's problem, I hardly bring problem and solve my own problem but I feel it's time Gahmen set aside time to time and reflex upon the given opportunity to give back to society, especially Old folks and handicapped people, They are the nation-builder who worked hard and supported the PAP founding fathers, w/o those men/women, we were not here sitting down typing away. Where are your souls?

Politics are made of this, was it supposed to be this way, Of course not, It was meant to be heard what one party can provide, promised and deliver on time, minus the frills, THe voters are matured to judge and decide for I care less, to know, my mind are made up, I may not know all of them, For all I care, I want my 3 meals a day, I want a roof over my head and I want a good fight.

The GenerationY of today are very different kettle of fish altogether, intelligent, matured and good speaker of human character, one party should not go around discredit another Singaporean of coming home after 30-40 years to serve the people here, does it makes us any different, I recalled our MM Lee spoke about venturing forth to another land for exploration for business opportunity, we did that, our children were sent overseas for further education/Uni, some came bk, some don't, Are we accusing them of being a traitor for jumping ship to the land greener up north or down south? We cannot be judgmental, we are democratic and capitalist thinking, In Pri/Sec school, we are not told to think outside the box, school should ahve proper education to teach kid about lateral thinking, I wasn't the brightest or smartest ass around, But I always thought the grass was greener on the outside.

Only if R Kiyosaki can convince MOE to change our education system, our kid will & can be better equipped to face the outside world, adapt faster and face the challenges ahead of times.

So, I summary, I pledge for the Gahmen to think of your people 1st and do not allow history to repeat itself, I know that you're watching us and reading the thread, for I am not alone and I will sleep well every night.

I never ask for anything that does not belong to me and I will do things to change to suit my need, If I elect for the gahmen who care for us, God bless U to go out and do those stuff you need to do or I will come and kick ass. For those party that I may vote or may not vote for you, it does not mean I do not like you, simply we need more time to know U, Your time are limited, we can relate to that & I salute you for your comittment and responsible attitude.

Majullah Singapura

you see, the main idea for co-driver is not to take over the wheel, why we need a co-driver? give you an example:

when a lady driving a lexus hit a cyclist, but thought she hit a tree branch and wanted to continue the drive home, the co-driver could slap the driver to wake her up and stop the car, check out the injury and call ambulance, imagine without the co-driver, just the driver alone, she would drive all the way home dragging a bicycle under her lexus without knowing it, is that what people want?..... [laugh]

Just back from lunch..this Retail Price Watch Group thing is a sham..I asked for extra rice..usually I am big on rice..(berng tang) and the costs has gone up from 30cents to 50cents..since last year

Just now saw this usual stall which I eat which a few days ago still charge rice at 50cents..now charge 80cents!!! I was like wtf..AND IT HAD THE RETAIL PRICE WATCH GROUP STICKER pasted loud loud at the front..I asked why the price went up despite pasting the sticker, the auntie said costs has gone up..so no choice .. [rifle]

What

Just back from lunch..this Retail Price Watch Group thing is a sham..I asked for extra rice..usually I am big on rice..(berng tang) and the costs has gone up from 30cents to 50cents..since last year

Just now saw this usual stall which I eat which a few days ago still charge rice at 50cents..now charge 80cents!!! I was like wtf..AND IT HAD THE RETAIL PRICE WATCH GROUP STICKER pasted loud loud at the front..I asked why the price went up despite pasting the sticker, the auntie said costs has gone up..so no choice .. [rifle]

What's the use of pasting this decal when prices still go up?? This is PAP's style of controlling inflation..by getting folks to paste useless decals? :angry:

u mean u didnt know they like to have all funny kind of campaign for wayang which doesnt work most of the time??... [laugh]

their "affordable" level is very different from yours and mine and their "high price" also of different level.... i think in general, i can safely assume in general, for a 4-rm hdb flat, MBT so call high price is in the range of 800k-1mil (that's what he is pushing for i think in 5yrs time if to follow current "affordable" appreciation rate..) so, with current market of 300-400K for new BTO and 400-500K in open market is actually still very affordable according to his yardstick.... dont worry.... [:p]

One quick thought for you..."affordability" has an absolute limit no matter the loan term.

At a rate of interest of 2.3% the most you can borrow (assuming repayments of $1000 per month) is $521,730 - after this your monthly interest is more than your monthly payments.

Dark clouds and uncertainty ahead?

Precisely the point.

After claiming that they are first world government with highest salaries which they shouldn't be ashamed of......

After claiming that they were selected over many cups of tea sessions....

And still have no clue how to handle national crisis....

My resolve becomes stronger never to put them in charge of the country.

you see, the main idea for co-driver is not to take over the wheel, why we need a co-driver? give you an example:

when a lady driving a lexus hit a cyclist, but thought she hit a tree branch and wanted to continue the drive home, the co-driver could slap the driver to wake her up and stop the car, check out the injury and call ambulance, imagine without the co-driver, just the driver alone, she would drive all the way home dragging a bicycle under her lexus without knowing it, is that what people want?..... [laugh]

Yes, I agree.... Thus I said, to have more opposition in the parliament will be good. It's just like what you mentioned about the analogy of being a co-driver. But to say, you CAN or WILL is a lot different matter...

Give credits when it's due.. but when s--t happens, take responsibility too..

I cant deny the fact that it is a global problem, Spoe is only a nation, we depend alot on other big nations to support us, we have nothing, practically nothing at all, only brains to " keng " so in a way if other producing counties are affected, in a way, it will affect us in no times, it makes sense too.

Im not a pappies fan either am i a loyal OP, wat I like to hear are logical and practical things that need attention and adhere, I dun protest for the sake of protesting, if one bark at the wrong door, another door opens up, what next, Do U sincerely think OP can counter if given the chance to read the data/stat? I can't help much either but agreeing, however, we must not give up hope for those unsung hero/heroine who makes the moves to makes us stronger than weak, makes us fearless than coward, gives us courage to overcome difficulties.

I agree to disagree that Gahmen should take the rap for all responsibility/misdeeds, not all at at faults, only a few good men are.

as i watch yesterday news telecast of PM lee speech, it seemed to me he is trying to pass the message that the inflation and rising cost of living is a global phenomenon and not to attribute it to PAP. he say look around and compare to other country.

the other message he tried to bring across is that though things look good now, but beware the pitfalls that could come from the global economy so a strong pap is needed to help them tide over any potential economy downturn.

to them, whenever the economy does well it is due to their effort and talents and good work. and whenever there are problems it is a global problem and nothing attriutable to them.

if global problems can affect singapore as like other countries, it only shows that our ministers are not out of the world talent as they said when they justify their multi million salaries. please learn not to have the cake and eat it too.

on the cost of living, he conveniently push it to global price and omit the fact tat his liberal immigration policies is one of the root cause of the high prices. global food price high yes, but food is food, 100% increase also immaterial in the CPI basket.

they earn S$2 - 4m per year. $800k hdb they can fully pay using 4.8 months or less of salary. of course they are being very honest to say it is affordable in their perspective.

so how to correct this? pay them $400k salary per year at most. then their definition of affordable is more in line with ours

haha good one [thumbsup]