Itsec 2nd Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 just keep doing.. my height is 1.76 and i weigh 66kg... i consider those 'skinny' type and i can do 2 only... enlisted to PTP batch.. pass out can do 8... if 'play cheat' type... can do 13... bunk mates all like that... pass out easily 6-8..good ones can improve from 3-4 to 12.... let the trainer train him.. no need to worry that much... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 Underweight? Maybe, according to BMI. But now to do chin-up, actually easier if he weighs less e.g. I could do 12 or so when young and weighing 50 kg; now more than +10 kg later... after 5 already struggling . I don't think my arms grow weaker (in fact maybe stronger from carrying kids and grocery shopping, compared to youthful days), but the additional weight overcome any increase in strength... you got a point! But I different leh, my weight remain the same, was 68kg, now still about 68kg, but as I grow older I pull lesser leh , now I do 5, got to stop, strugge the next 2 and by the time I let go, have to hug the pole liao........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 you got a point! But I different leh, my weight remain the same, was 68kg, now still about 68kg, but as I grow older I pull lesser leh , now I do 5, got to stop, strugge the next 2 and by the time I let go, have to hug the pole liao........ 68kgs but muscle all go to stomach, boh siang. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shicyj Neutral Newbie April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 Hi All, My relative now is at Pulau Tekong BMTC, but he is difficult to pass the chin-up test can anyone how to achive the goal tks alot Can start from 10, build up gradually. 20 spider pushups (palms form a diamond, legs spread apart) 20 regular pushups 20 star pushups (arms and legs spread apart) 20 to 30 sit ups or crunches in between the sets (for ab muscles which are also essential for pullup) twice daily (morning and evening) daily assisted pullups (twice daily) grab the bar, cross the legs, assistant support the ankle from behind (knees form loose 90 degrees) assistant support only, don't hold or grab, if not, when your hands slip, then you will pok kai assistant try not to use strength to support. Idea is to reduce the swing, which is normally the killer wasting your strength. Try very hard not to kick your way up. I used to do 1 only, after 3 months, I finished with 8. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaybhari 1st Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 He must be too fat or too thin or unhealthy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 my experience first day of recruit= i did 8 chin up next day during 5bx felt a sharp pain around the left chest area while doing push-ups and i could do only 2 chin-ups things got worse then on as my chin-ups numbers to started decline and i was not able to do even a single one for a few weeks. the rest of the station was not a problem but i was regarded weak by the ncos and was tekan everyday till i was even confined during weekends to try and boost my chin-up. nothing worked until the week the ippt test was spose to be held. The sunday (i was confined)of the sposed ippt test the first thing the nco did was ask me to do chin-up and Lo and behold! i could do 11. donno wat really happened that caused my poor chin-up numbers but throughout my ns days after bmt i never again had problem with my chin-up. maybe a torn muscle or some other thing! this i swear is true! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 Set of 5 wide push up, 5 normal push up, 5 diamond push up. Watch for your push up stance. Important to keep palms in line with the shoulders. For normal & diamond push up, arms should be tuck in to the body while going down (elbows almost touching the body when at down position). Rest a while and repeat set. Gradually increase set each week till chin up can pass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cwong2910 2nd Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 To relate my own experience, the only way to improve chin up is to do chin up. I find machines don't help. Probably because the weight assist machine allow your body to be stable whereas in the actual chin up, the stability is not as good. If zero fighter, either get someone to help you at the chin up bar or just kick jerk your way up then HOLD it there as long as you can. Repeat as many as possible and if possible do it daily. I previously weigh 96 kg(body composed mostly of fats) when i could do 6. No gym no other weight training. Just go and pull everyday and motivation was to siam RT. I find that crossing my legs at the ankles helps too because it improves stability and prevent swinging everywhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 dun bother la.i go in as zero fighter after bmt got 12. ask yr relative dont siam here siam there during PT/gym training sure can get 12. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyckh 5th Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 You need to train your abdominal muscle as well. I can't do even 1 chin up when i was a recruit. Had to knock it down 30 before every meal. The PTI trained us by : lying on my back, both legs raised to 45 deg. Start counting to 30. Then slowly lower your legs. Repeat for 30 mins. For 2 months, they used quite a number of training methods to strengthen our stomach muscle. After my POP, i can managed 8 chin up with SBO, helmet and rifle. That's my greatest achievement during my recruit time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 Serious, unless your friend is obese, which he is not, he shouldn't have a problem at the end of BMT. Just put in normal effort whenever training. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 Hi All, My relative now is at Pulau Tekong BMTC, but he is difficult to pass the chin-up test can anyone how to achive the goal tks alot Ok, 1.8m 70kg? That's my bio data too, except I'm lighter by few kgs The secret to chin up is your upper body strength and abominal strength Many ppl only think need upper body strength, can already. Wrong. Abominal muscle is impt too. When pulling up, it's natural to use abominal muscle to pull yr body up. The stronger the abominal, the lighter your body will be when u are pulling up. My own experience; do push ups. Do diamond style, normal style and wide style. start with 10 each. Set of 5 Then train the abominal muscle by doing leg lifts and sit ups. Leg lifts do 10 times, count to 20 each time. Then sit ups do 20. Then go pull up. Pull as many as u can. Then do the 3 diff styles of push ups, then do leg lift and sit ups. Do this 5 rounds everyday I can guarantee your chinup will improve. If no improve, I chop my hands off As long as yr relative is not overweight, he shld do chin ups, after following my advise.. The most effective push ups is the diamond style. U can actually yr chest go bigger and muscle grows on it. And this helps the upper body strength. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...