Jamesgetz 4th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Yes,Esso,SPC & Caltex all get their fuels from S'pore Refine company,only their additives is not the same. Esso doesn't take from SRC. it has its own refinery on jurong island... i drive past it every day to work Esso and Mobil are now part of ExxonMobil ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 i used to think the same abt SPC when i was driving my lancer for the 1st few years...only pump shell, Ron98. Until 1 fine day, i realise my friend, driving a Benz, pumping SPC. Telling me the only different is to my pocket. So i tried switching, SPC Ron 98. True enuff, no diff (or maybe becuz i have a big ass so cant feel? ) But 1 thing for sure, i have better FC for Ron98 compared to Ron95, Shell or SPC, same. Tested, proven. After changing my ride, it seems like the better FC no longer stands. The only petrol that i could really feel a diff is V-power....but the power is so good that, my FC got worsen, cuz foot got even heavier. And seriously, i would really really like to try out something... For those of you who swear blind that SPC is really much much lousier, why dont we have an experiment? We get bottles of petrol from different brands, brands unknown to the drivers. U test it, and pick the one u think is SPC. Can have side bet also...winner walk away with a free tank of petrol? Anybody onz?? i've read on several tests done in mags.... if car is tuned to run on 91octane (most normal cars are... my Sunny/Sentra stock is)... then using 95 will get better mileage than 98... if your car is high com and tuned to run on 98 and you pump 95 (or maybe 97)... knocking occurs and FC goes up... all petrol stations hv different additives and that determines how smooth the ride... (and smooth usually feels like got more power)... it is commonly said that Patronas and SPC is not as good as the big boys... probably due to less additives... but this is usually from the performance cars/lightly modified cars... but for the bread and butter cars... seriously to me all petrol will be almost the same... all in the mind.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Don't mind trying. I frequently use octane boosters and stuff lidat anyway. Where to buy and how much ah? Can be used in conjunction with octane booster? from my experience, can be used with almost anything... 2t is 2stroke oil can be bought everywhere... all petrol stations hv... but for very good and cheap get from ah boy Putoline 959 ester tech 100% syn racing 2T you can google this product... 10ml per 10 liters is a good start... up to 20ml per 10 liters is shiok... too much you get smoky exhaust go search a few thread on 2T in cars here in MCF... you never read before meh?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 oh yah the putoline is only like $15-16 for 1 liter... if you pump 40liters a tank... you can use 20 over times... MUCH cheaper than riduclous and hopeless octance boosters... 5th gear did octane boosters test all failed... car less powerful after adding... but i believe 'some' injector cleaners are good... eg... redline... HKS... but too expensive.... best way to clear carbon is ALWAYS full throttle to red line!!!!... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 oh yah the putoline is only like $15-16 for 1 liter... if you pump 40liters a tank... you can use 20 over times... MUCH cheaper than riduclous and hopeless octance boosters... 5th gear did octane boosters test all failed... car less powerful after adding... but i believe 'some' injector cleaners are good... eg... redline... HKS... but too expensive.... best way to clear carbon is ALWAYS full throttle to red line!!!!... Thanks for the explanation mate! Sorry never read those threads. You mean it's like an engine oil for motorbikes which you add into your petrol? Can meh?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Its actually very normal for different cars to have different results with the same fuel. Its the ECU, not the driver. How the ECU mapping is done at the factory and what type of petrol they car manufactuer uses when they program the ECU. Different petrol has different additives and even the RON varies as well (RON98 does not means its exactly 98, can be 98.5 or 98.1). I won't be surprise to see some even slightly lower than 98, afterall which one of us is able to measure the RON? Some additives in the petrol is slightly better, some allows ECU to run more lean or advance more timing etc..... Many many factors. If you want your ECU to be specifically tuned for one fuel, it can be done but you will get worse performance/mileage when you switch petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 oh yah the putoline is only like $15-16 for 1 liter... if you pump 40liters a tank... you can use 20 over times... MUCH cheaper than riduclous and hopeless octance boosters... 5th gear did octane boosters test all failed... car less powerful after adding... but i believe 'some' injector cleaners are good... eg... redline... HKS... but too expensive.... best way to clear carbon is ALWAYS full throttle to red line!!!!... Actually, the 5th gear test is totally flawed. Octane booster is not a power booster, it does not make your engine produces more power, it only makes the RON number of the petrol higher. Some octane booster also has additives to clean valves, injectors etc..... So whats the purpose of octane booster? Is it snake oil? No, octane booster does work as advertise and its not snake oil. You only use octane boosters when you need it. for eg. Your car requires min RON95 and you pump RON92 instead. Due to this, the engine pings and you lose power as a result (engine will also suffer damage in the long run). So what can you do? Add octane booster to make it to RON95 to solve the pinging and restore the power. Octane boosters are also useful for track purpose. Eg. you tune your car so aggressively (just for track purpose) and your engine pings even on RON98 petrol. Other than getting racing fuel, you can add octane boosters to get it to RON100 or higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 haha have never tried other brands of petrol yet, have always been using caltax95.. thinking of trying caltax 98 for once but not sure if it's worth the money.. any bros have any recommendations? me driving a min. 91 ron vehicle.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 (edited) haha have never tried other brands of petrol yet, have always been using caltax95.. thinking of trying caltax 98 for once but not sure if it's worth the money.. any bros have any recommendations? me driving a min. 91 ron vehicle.. You can give it a try but I don't think there will be much improvement (if any). You are unlikely to notice any difference. Both 95 and 98 as techron so cleaning properties is the same. 98 has extra anti-friction additives to aid lubrication of upper cylinder and valve seats. But its minimal. I am using caltex 98 solely because of my car pings when using 95 (its tuned more aggressively, hence need 98) and I use Caltex because of discount. If not, I won't both with Caltex and use Esso or other brands instead. I use both Esso 98 and Caltex 98 and found absolutely no difference and Caltex one is more expensive. If you die die want to use 98 can. Get a piggyback like Unichip or flash your ECU. Advance the timings and adjust AFR, cam phasing etc..... Make is so aggressive that you need 98 else your engine will ping. Can be done. Edited May 5, 2011 by Mona-vie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 due to sky high fuel price, have to switch over from Caltex to SPC to earn another 7% discount (Caltex 11% vs SPC 18%) I now pump during the weekends at Caltex. 15% off using OCBC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 You can give it a try but I don't think there will be much improvement (if any). You are unlikely to notice any difference. Both 95 and 98 as techron so cleaning properties is the same. 98 has extra anti-friction additives to aid lubrication of upper cylinder and valve seats. But its minimal. I am using caltex 98 solely because of my car pings when using 95 (its tuned more aggressively, hence need 98) and I use Caltex because of discount. If not, I won't both with Caltex and use Esso or other brands instead. I use both Esso 98 and Caltex 98 and found absolutely no difference and Caltex one is more expensive. If you die die want to use 98 can. Get a piggyback like Unichip or flash your ECU. Advance the timings and adjust AFR, cam phasing etc..... Make is so aggressive that you need 98 else your engine will ping. Can be done. Haha ok, shall try it this weekend or something. just out of curiousity. anyway, how much discount you getting at caltax? me usual 11% with hsbc card.. but you now can get 15% with hsbc on weekends if i remember correctly? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 (edited) Haha ok, shall try it this weekend or something. just out of curiousity. anyway, how much discount you getting at caltax? me usual 11% with hsbc card.. but you now can get 15% with hsbc on weekends if i remember correctly? Don't know. Cause I don't have HSBC. Using Safra to get 11% nia. I only have a DBS card nia (not applicable for Caltex). So I only use Safra. Edited May 5, 2011 by Mona-vie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typoerror Neutral Newbie May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 I have been using spc 98 due to credit card preference. Recently send my car to be tuned by rhommel. He mentioned spc is one of the better fuel for performance car based on his experience. Not sure abt FC though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 Thanks for the explanation mate! Sorry never read those threads. You mean it's like an engine oil for motorbikes which you add into your petrol? Can meh?! nono... 4stroke bike engine oil is 4T.... usually 20W/50 2stroke bikes for engine is gear oil usually 80W/90 none of these... i mean 2T... its 2stroke oil to be mixed into the petrol for 2stroke engines.... bikes/jet skis/snow mobiles etc... most 2stroke bikes have an autolube system.. except some motocross off road bikes... 2stroke GP bikes... and very old Vespas... wha we are putting is 2T... 2stroke oil... many car owners hv been using it for years liao... like owners of the legendary Mazda RX-7.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 due to sky high fuel price, have to switch over from Caltex to SPC to earn another 7% discount (Caltex 11% vs SPC 18%) but some friends told me SPC fuel quality is not as good as other world famous brands (Caltex, Shell, mobil etc), FC and performance both are discounted, and if long term using, might shorten engine lifespan is it?? i think we need someone with a degree in chemical engineering for opinions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 fyi, SPC and Caltex get their petrol from the same refinery (SRC) on jurong island. i've been using SPC for past 3 cars of which 2 are turbo-charged and heavily. SPC 98 has consistently gives the best performance in terms of power output during tuning and is the most resistant again engine knocking. shell vpower is the worst in terms of engine knocking in terms of mileage, i've tried the different brands and all gives very similar mileage. FC depends heavily on driving pattern, road conditions and the car itself. yes second that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 Actually, the 5th gear test is totally flawed. Octane booster is not a power booster, it does not make your engine produces more power, it only makes the RON number of the petrol higher. Some octane booster also has additives to clean valves, injectors etc..... So whats the purpose of octane booster? Is it snake oil? No, octane booster does work as advertise and its not snake oil. You only use octane boosters when you need it. for eg. Your car requires min RON95 and you pump RON92 instead. Due to this, the engine pings and you lose power as a result (engine will also suffer damage in the long run). So what can you do? Add octane booster to make it to RON95 to solve the pinging and restore the power. Octane boosters are also useful for track purpose. Eg. you tune your car so aggressively (just for track purpose) and your engine pings even on RON98 petrol. Other than getting racing fuel, you can add octane boosters to get it to RON100 or higher. totally agree with your previous post on the RON issues.... but bro the octane boosters in the local market now... full bottle the most can up a few numbers... which is probably only like 1RON.... so seriously dont thnk its much help... but then maybe good for the Swift sport or FD2R when they pump petrol in MY... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 haha have never tried other brands of petrol yet, have always been using caltax95.. thinking of trying caltax 98 for once but not sure if it's worth the money.. any bros have any recommendations? me driving a min. 91 ron vehicle.. Bro, ur vios pump 92 also no difference from 95 Only pick-up lose abit.. Try one tank and u shall know that there is no difference. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...