RC remove from Aljunied GRC

Grindcore888

Join RC got free session parking Bo?

Heard from a friend who is a RC member: Free parking is only for within the constitution and no overnight parking. For own season parking still need to pay.

This only happens in Spore. This show how our country boss behaved. Chidlish & selfish. This make even more younger gen to vote against them.

This was what ST reported

LHH had the lowest - 40%

CP next lowest - 40+ %

GY - 50+%

Zainul - high 50%

Ong Ye Kung - 60%

Huh? How they know OYK is 60%? He is a first-time candidate with no division...

when come to $$ very sensitive must be very careful, especially when auditor come in & somebody surely is waiting to see if there is anything they can catch.

passing $$ just like that may not do them any good.

you may end up sobotaging them with messy account.

Hi yes, I especially concerned on this point.

While there are many well meaning Singaporeans willing to do their bit, we have to make sure that such activities are in line with WP's practices and policies for Aljunied.

Hence, I will probably try to arrange a meeting with one of the MPs in Aj or YSL to discuss this move.

I think that at the end of the day, despite the genuine well wishes for the residents by many forummers here, there are still political/legal angles to consider and I'm not in a position to do so.

Are you a RC member? If not, please do not provide mis-leading information. I used to be a RC member. We pay the same HDB parking rate, $90 for MSCP. As we may need to run around the constituency for RC work, we are entitled to free parking within the constitueny based on our paid HDB parking label. The information is all captured in HDB database via the RFID and IU no.

+1 I am a current RC member. I also do not get reduced season parking. Also do note that the Free Parking thing is by application and subject to approval by our advisor.

Further, until now I have not received free tickets to any events other than those I am "working" at.

If people wanna post, then post. But it is good to make sure that your info is accurate first - don't anyhow post and start rumours.

I don't know about your area but good riddance to my area's rc (under aljunied)! They really do nothing except to use public funds to entertain themselves.

+1 I am a current RC member. I also do not get reduced season parking. Also do note that the Free Parking thing is by application and subject to approval by our advisor.

Further, until now I have not received free tickets to any events other than those I am "working" at.

If people wanna post, then post. But it is good to make sure that your info is accurate first - don't anyhow post and start rumours.

So running dog..

how does it feel now as your Master have taken a 'GREAT loss'?

Song bo?

Or buay song and want to hit out to anyone taking sides with the oppo? [laugh]

I don't know about your area but good riddance to my area's rc (under aljunied)! They really do nothing except to use public funds to entertain themselves.

you got see notice board for their event?? normally will have monthly invitation to join in one.

though i dont go to any.

again the strange view that living under oppostion ward is tantamount to suffering...that is why the ruling party gets away with it time and time again becos of people holding such strange views...

I have even heard of someone who is unhappy with PAP but did not vote for opposition becos he is worried that the stock market will crash if opposition wins too many seats...sigh..

if so predictable,

ask your friend to short the market la.

then get people to vote opposition

if its only so easy.

So running dog..

Song bo?

brother, you barking at the wrong person la.

althuogh darryn joins RC for certain reason, in the forum it can be seen that he in fact criticizes some of the RC/PAP policy that is questionable.

running dog title is more deserving on others.

So running dog..

Song bo?

y u wanna insult him?

tat was just a factual posting.

So running dog..

Song bo?

evil... [cool]

So running dog..

Song bo?

I think that is quite uncalled for.

I find that Darryn is one of the more responsible posters in this forum and his arguments mostly has a fair and factual basis.

I am democracy supporter too. Relax...

I guessed many here ...whether they tend to agree with me or disagree with me...is that...

That many found in RC and grass roots in pappy wards ...

tend be...of that certain type of ppl ...

That of course they will defend and vote for pappy blindly...

A very clear example would be estates which are NOT RULED BY ANY TOWN COUNCILS..have RCs or even have any existence of GRASS ROOTERS..

These ppl usually give the clearest indication ..when voting comes about...on...

HOW THE RULERS HAVE PERFORMED or BEHAVED...

Needless to say....what does the above sayabout those dogs that are found in RCs...

Do I need to explain more? :D

Sometimes it's more than just "visiting" the RC (and / or CC)

Speaking of my personal experience

1. My daughter attends a dance class on a Saturday, organised and administered by the CC

2. She attendend a creative writing class at the CC premises (different CC)

3. She attends TKD which was lobbied for by an RC member, and is "verified" via an RC.

Speaking of my RC, we also

1. Arrange an annual Christmas party for the residents

2. Have festivals for each of the major religion holidays

3. Most recently arranged a Mother's Day festival and concert

4. Arranged a Halloween event for residents

And this is just a samping.

Don't believe that an RC is "only kopi and karoyke" for the oldies. They do much more than that.

Another example would be that one very energetic member of our RC organises a textbook collection and exchange for less well off families.

We also have a monthly meeting with

a) Town Council

b) Police

c) HDB

to raise estate issues - such as cleanliness, facility maintenance and the like. So if you have ideas for the estate, or simply want to report a fault, you can (don't have to) approach your RC members, who have the opportunity to raise it "in person" to the respective manager in charge of the estate.

My RC also arranged a "Citizens on Patrol" group to look out for crime - so please all, an RC is much more than "just a room I don't use".

I agree, i am surprise some "mountain tortoise" actually say it's just a room. RC do alot of events for the residents. I feel it's very important as it does organise quite a bit of events for the retire old folks too.

I am surprise they really remove the RC just becuz opposition took over. I did ask a question will the RC be remove if Oppo wins the ward and will my parents still have karaoke facilities after that, i tot someone replied it will still be there.

But question is those serving the RC as volunteers, do they wanna continue to work with the opposition? So are they pro residents or pro parties?

I have to say some RC members really put in effort to organise events and built good relationship with residents. They do not ask for any favour in return. I dealed with RC members last time coz' I was working in TC before.

But some RC members and even chairman themselve really Por Lxx Pxx until very obvious. Whenever MP appeared they will appeared too. MP not around, you also seldom see them., not even in RC centre.

Ths is just my personal opinion through my experience with RC.

Edited by Labixiaoxin

I have to say some RC members really put in effort to organise events and built good relationship with residents. They do not ask for any favour in return. I dealed with RC members last time coz' I was working in TC before.

But some RC members and even chairman themselve really Por Lxx Pxx until very obvious. Whenever MP appeared they will appeared too. MP not around, you also seldom see them., not even in RC centre.

Ths is just my personal opinion through my experience with RC.

And there are some who are plainly shameless and think because they are RC they are very big with an attitude [laugh]