Park88 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Author Share May 13, 2011 Last time Mr Goh Keng Swee was only a Corporal when he become the first Defence Minister that is what exactly what i was saying in the army you may not be high ranking and that does not mean you will not be successful in the real world ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 wonder if SAF would pay a general's salary to call back someone to be a corporal for reservist? They do, but they get scolded for that too. Army is full of red tape. They need to recall everyone for ICT before they ROD else they screw up their KPI. It will always depend on who is spearheading that particular unit. Policy is written in black and white, but the human factor makes up for all the conflicting stories that you hear. With regards to NS rank making a difference in RL. The answer is NO. It is the attitude of the person involved that makes a difference. This I assure you. Unless of course you are are ball-carrier/scholar seeking employment in other gov agencies. There is about 351,801 LTC looking to step out into the private sector but are unsure of how to do it and retain their current remuneration. Figures exaggerated. Now that retirement age has been extended for them, the problem is somewhat lessened. Gov agencies are good for mediocre players who seek stability and are able to toe the line. To excel, you really need sterling paper credentials and aim for that CEP of CEO/DS/PS/Minister. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Agree with whats not bold On what is bold - not that I doubt your integrity but if I dont know of such, personally, I wont believe. Bro, its true la.. Hearing from my wife, in her old firm, her bosses who are general partners also get called back for ICT... i'm not sure about their package, but quite a few of them drive cars that cost >400K.... Why does that surprise you? SAF is not exactly the hallmark of efficiency.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 there are 4 captains in our little forum here wondered who they are or are they for real difficult for 2nd leut to be full Leut, usually at ROD and either work hard or tripod i dont know anybody in NS got captain before anybody any idea For WOSEs, your rank which you hold when you ORD sticks with you all the way till you MR. But of cos there are exceptions and it's mainly due to the person's appointment in reservist My unit MR 2 years ago. We initially had to serve 13 yrs ICT but was lucky to have it revised to 10 yrs. The OCs and key appointment holders (S1-S4) were promoted to CPT in our 3rd yr ICT and held that rank eversince. The only exception were my CO who became LTC in the 8th year and our S3 who became a MAJ in the 8th yr as well. For Specs, my friend was made the RSM so he held the rank of 1SG. Other than my CO, the rest of the officers including the S3 are all the same age as me as we entered NS and ORD at the same time. So there, you can have officers holding CPT or higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 this reminds me of my early reservist days. My platoon was mainly soldiers with o levels, a levels and psle guys. During the 1st few ICTs, these guys had gone out to work, and several of them ventured into their own business. I was one of the few plodding on with further studies and working my way up the corp ladder. I remember, by about the 3rd ICT, many of my guys were driving BMW and Mercs into camp, and I was still taking bus. When the camp was in ulu TNB, when going home after in camp - the guys were offering to drive me to the nearest bus-stop. oh... the irony.... Same feel leh, by third in camp, man driving bigger, better and fastener car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Every time go back reservist, the men, corporal & below are the one driving big luxury cars. Officers take bus, taxi or drive smalk car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singhao 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 Agree with whats not bold On what is bold - not that I doubt your integrity but if I dont know of such, personally, I wont believe. Unbelievable but true! But this year should be his last cycle. Save tax payer's money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 (edited) Bro, its true la.. Hearing from my wife, in her old firm, her bosses who are general partners also get called back for ICT... i'm not sure about their package, but quite a few of them drive cars that cost >400K.... Why does that surprise you? SAF is not exactly the hallmark of efficiency.. you're slightly mistaken by what i meant, mate. for a fighting fit soldier to get called up for ICT, any amount of make up pay also possible. that i believe and makes enough sense. check with you wife again, i believe his bosses vocation is not Clerk. to call back a clerk is a real waste of the heavy taxes i pay annually pwui! KNN! paiseh lost my grace there. ahem. Edited May 14, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 Ns rank won't affect civilian job. But if u r a mp then u will be promoted to MD in real life :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 wah.. from the Poll there are 4 colonels (i take it a mixture of 3 crab and 2 crabs, since LTC not mentioned) in MCF. Wah... that's brigade/formation commander or GS staff level rank leh.. is chun bo? COL got time to surf MCF bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 Wait wait, how abt appointment you hold in ns affect on your later civilian life ??? some corporal hold highr appointment than spec u know ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 Wait wait, how abt appointment you hold in ns affect on your later civilian life ??? some corporal hold highr appointment than spec u know ? plse lah, most corporals hold higher ranks than officers in civilian life..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 I think what I did in NS does prepare myself in ways in life after & work. Many people that didn't serve NS doesn't even have a clue of the term leadership & lead by example. They think being a boss, & giving instructions, delegate work, & planning X & Y are consider leadership! Also have done the nasty things like outfield, chong sua, never bathe for a week during NS, & still doing in ICT. I find I have more tolerate to environment & such. When I go travel, I do not need 5 star hotel with all the bell & whistle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oregon 1st Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 that is what exactly what i was saying in the army you may not be high ranking and that does not mean you will not be successful in the real world Conversely - if you are high ranking in the army you may not be successful in the real world - unless you are the GRC team Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 I also know 1 CEO of listed firm and 2 company directors who are corporals and still serving. Each earns easily more than 0.5mil yr before bonus. Also in my previous job I was a hod in mnc with 10 ppl reporting to me. Only the hr raised eyebrows when I submit saf 100 and saw I'm a cpl too. Everyone else couldnt give a damn and thought I was taking a break. The angmos tink I'm off to play paintball or masak2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 Every time go back reservist, the men, corporal & below are the one driving big luxury cars. Officers take bus, taxi or drive smalk car. Quite true to an extend. I find most of the men drive a car, whereas not all SGT drives car lo. But usually officer will have car also. Looks like SGT are the group of pple who is not very rich. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Park88 1st Gear May 15, 2011 Author Share May 15, 2011 this is my own personal story while in my NS time though majority of elite are OK but when true firends and loyalty are concerned my friend the Hokkien peng were the best i helped on of the Hokkien peng because he was going to be charge but i understand his situation he comes from a broken family and father a drug addict in and order of detention i got him out and made him promise that he will turn over a new leave for that simple help i rendered he was my most loyal friend and body guard while in the army after NS he on and off call me to make sure I am ok if not he will take care of things for me oblviously i thank him and ask him to remember the promise he made to me therefore the long story to make it short is that treat people for what they are and not how rich or how well connected they are Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 this is my own personal story while in my NS time though majority of elite are OK but when true firends and loyalty are concerned ... therefore the long story to make it short is that treat people for what they are and not how rich or how well connected they are i must say this is also what I experienced.. my men, specs and officers have been exceptionally loyal throughout civilian life, even when we have not seen each other than for in camp. There have been occasions when I pick up the phone and called some asking for some special help.. and suprisingly they have gone all out to help. But asking relatives and other friends the same thing, have not got me anywhere. A friend in need, is a friend indeed. This adage holds true for my friends from NS. Band of Brothers, truly. Whatever these FTs who come and become PRs and New Citizens, but siam NS, received.... this kind of loyalty cannot easily get. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...