Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Here's an event for those who like crowds, loud noise and women in tight uniforms: http://www.mindef.gov.sg/rsafopenhouse/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Got free SFI food? Got free army ration? Want to let my wife and kids try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Woolff Neutral Newbie May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Got free SFI food? Got free army ration? Want to let my wife and kids try. SFIfood is as bad as kopitiam food. They will know how bad it is.. But last time before SFI , those cook by the cook was even bad.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Author Share May 13, 2011 Not sure about food... but plenty of jet fuel around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Here's an event for those who like crowds, loud noise and women in tight uniforms: http://www.mindef.gov.sg/rsafopenhouse/ Dey, you going? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Now got stupid haze around. Not advisable to go around inhaling it for doing additional NS leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Can test flight F15? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Author Share May 13, 2011 Dey, you going? yeah.. my son is 8 years old... this will definately thrill him. I want to also put my Nikon 200mm lens to good use instead of collecting dust in the cupboard. Ever since 5MP camera phone invented... DSLR with zoom lens is bit of a drag to carry around casually! Ha ha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 yeah.. my son is 8 years old... this will definately thrill him. I want to also put my Nikon 200mm lens to good use instead of collecting dust in the cupboard. Ever since 5MP camera phone invented... DSLR with zoom lens is bit of a drag to carry around casually! Ha ha! My kids all older then yours, Airforce and such they no longer interested. I still owe you GJ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 (edited) yeah.. my son is 8 years old... this will definately thrill him. I want to also put my Nikon 200mm lens to good use instead of collecting dust in the cupboard. Ever since 5MP camera phone invented... DSLR with zoom lens is bit of a drag to carry around casually! Ha ha! Haha make sure your kiddos drink tonnes of water. Weather's a bi*ch nowadays. Plus the FOC haze thanks to our generous neighbor who also proud of providing free O2, not really a good idea to go outdoors. BTW, anyone noticed today evening time the haze quite bad? Looked out my place the street lights seemed dimmed... Edited May 13, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Can test flight F15? LOL....cannot but only can ride in one of the Air Force C-130 Hercules, Fokker-50 or Chinook helicopter. Dates: 28 & 29 May 2011 Time: 1140,1230 and 1330 hrs. Visitors will be given a chance to register at the Aircraft Rides Counter near the main stage to take part in the Aircraft Rides Lucky Draw and stand a chance to win aircraft rides. The lucky draws will be conducted daily from 1140hr to 1330hr at the Performance Hall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 (edited) Impressive jets we have nowadays. F15SEs, F16Duno-What-Blocks (52?) & F5Es. To think that not so long ago, we were still flying Hunters, Skyhawks & the F5E/Fs ( the US sell the Tigers to US-friendly nations so that they THINK they have jet fighters, unofficial state view). Just lucky we did not go for the F20 Tigershark with a single engine. Effectively it was a upgraded F5 which Northrop tried to market but failed miserably. Also we did not show interest in the F16-J79 which was using the Phantom's engine. Our air force really came a long way since then... Edited May 13, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Author Share May 13, 2011 dun forget the apache Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 (edited) dun forget the apache Not sure how the Longbow model is better in terms of engine/mechanical reliabilty. Read that an average US army aviation unit flying Apaches has got 3/4 of its choppers on the ground undergoing servicing & maintenance any one time. Still it is an awesome flying tank bristling with a lethal chaingun, Hellfires & Mavericks as compared to the old work horse, AH1 Cobra. Anyone remembered the movie BLUE THUNDER? It was about a French-made Gazelle souped up as a crime fighting flying unit & starred the Jaws actor Roy Scheider or someone? Edited May 14, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 Dey, you going? bro, you wana go? think can sign you in for preview starting 27 May Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 Impressive jets we have nowadays. F15SEs, F16Duno-What-Blocks (52?) & F5Es. To think that not so long ago, we were still flying Hunters, Skyhawks & the F5E/Fs ( the US sell the Tigers to US-friendly nations so that they THINK they have jet fighters, unofficial state view). Just lucky we did not go for the F20 Tigershark with a single engine. Effectively it was a upgraded F5 which Northrop tried to market but failed miserably. Also we did not show interest in the F16-J79 which was using the Phantom's engine. Our air force really came a long way since then... Yes, we came a long way even though its very hard to justify the spending. Interestingly, last month it was reported that the British have problem with their Typhoon pilots due to unavailability of fit-to-fly Typhoon. Heard they have to harvest parts from others just to enable one to fly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 Yes, we came a long way even though its very hard to justify the spending. Interestingly, last month it was reported that the British have problem with their Typhoon pilots due to unavailability of fit-to-fly Typhoon. Heard they have to harvest parts from others just to enable one to fly. Together with the Strike Eagle & Rafale, Typhoon was also in contention to be the replacement for the Super Skyhawks then. Not sure if the F15SE is the right choice, or aptly the political choice, but we do not have a history of buying fighters from Europeans so far other than the hand-me-down Hawker Hunters. Just hope that if we ever have the chance to purchase the F22 or F35, they will not sitting pretty on the ground 75% most of the time undergoing servicing or maintenance in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 LOL....cannot but only can ride in one of the Air Force C-130 Hercules, Fokker-50 or Chinook helicopter. Dates: 28 & 29 May 2011 Time: 1140,1230 and 1330 hrs. Visitors will be given a chance to register at the Aircraft Rides Counter near the main stage to take part in the Aircraft Rides Lucky Draw and stand a chance to win aircraft rides. The lucky draws will be conducted daily from 1140hr to 1330hr at the Performance Hall. Chey, thot can practise playing Flight Simulator on my PC. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...