Tin Pei Ling resigned from E&Y

Parkingidiot

How about that Vikram Nair? He working at a law firm, quite young so won't be so senior, I think working hours also quite long what.

This is why I think that ultimately, MP should be a full time job, not a part time moonlight.

Sorry hor... :excl:

she hide behind ppl's arse n got "voted" in....

getting 15k per month excluding all the bonus,etc .....

Justified? NO!

[mad][mad]

At least she went thru the baptism of fire this erection.

CCS in TP beame Acting MCYS celebrated a walkover also go in under the Coat tail of a Bigger errr figure.

So many other MPs are doing the same way.

The only difference is she speaks badly in public, had no qualms about gov policies, thinks Ed cost are affordable and poverty is not gov issue.

This is what you all are unhappy about.

Now that she is full time, I hope and pray that her eyes are opened by the sights of the real world she face everyday and not by the reports that she reads in the comforts of her office.

If 5 yrs she still hold to her initial beliefs, then you all can do what you want with her ... with your vote.

I totally concur with you that finally she did the right thing. Yes, since she is already enter the parliament via the backdoor (something which I hope LHL will also review the GRC for future elections) please do give her the time to prove herself [;)]

Well finally she did something right..

Although I hate her, but then she already inside parliament liao...juz give her a chance to do what she is supposed to do..

full time also ppl make noise, dun full time also ppl make noise...

This is call Lui Tuck Yew Syndrome(LTYS)

Edited by Tjkbeluga

Well finally she did something right..

Although I hate her, but then she already inside parliament liao...juz give her a chance to do what she is supposed to do..

I'm sure many TPL hater now lampa kay tio liao.... Less one ammo to soot her..... [laugh]

I dun agree with this - I think that for true minority representation the respective communities must be voting directly for "their" candidate.

Take it this way..

4 member GRC

Nominate Malay candidate that is hated within the Malay community, but the Chinese community is indifferent to that person.

By weight of numbers this candidate will be elected (the Malay voters being outnumbered by the Chinese)

Can it then be said that the Malay community has "representation"?

Instead I would suggest having an additional 15 or so constituencies that stand as "minority" constituencies. These are voted on solely by that minority.

For example, you could have the "normal" Punggol, Punggol East and Sengkang areas that everyone votes on, then you combine the three and call it the Northeast minority constituency, and Malay (or Indian or whatever) community vote on a rep for that big area - so they actually have two mp - one from the "normal" and one from the "minority"

suport! i was thinking along the same line as well.

the problem of not having sufficienit minority representation is not that pervasive yet we have a GRC system that takes up 72 ot the 87 evaliable seats.

if the minority race is about 25% of singapore population, then just 25% of 87 seats should be reserved for only minority race candidates.

and those seats should preferably come from areas with high malay or indian population like eunos, little india, woodlands, bedok etc. for areas like tanjong pagar, marine parade and AMK to have GRC in the name of ensuring minority representation is not convincing at all.

suport! i was thinking along the same line as well.

the problem of not having sufficienit minority representation is not that pervasive yet we have a GRC system that takes up 72 ot the 87 evaliable seats.

if the minority race is about 25% of singapore population, then just 25% of 87 seats should be reserved for only minority race candidates.

and those seats should preferably come from areas with high malay or indian population like eunos, little india, woodlands, bedok etc. for areas like tanjong pagar, marine parade and AMK to have GRC in the name of ensuring minority representation is not convincing at all.

The "minority" representation should ran in tandem with the "normal". Not instead of.

If you nominate (for the sake of argument) Eunos as only minority then how about the rest of the residents there?

The idea (I think) of dedicated minority representation is that there are some issues (such as HOTA) that are unique to the minority, and a minority repesentative understand these better, and also put forward the views of their special community.

Neither - the "regular" MP still represents EVERYBODY in the ward,

for the "minority" they can hold meetings, have an office in the area for people to go look look see see and also be active at particularly minority events -

There is more ways to get feedback than just "block visits" ...can also be via mosque or temple, at fesitvals, have town hall meetings and much more.

Then the minority MP will have significantly less workload than the "normal" MPs.

does she intend to give birth? being a MP is very stressful...5 yrs later she will be over 30...

Then the minority MP will have significantly less workload than the "normal" MPs.

Nope - because their constituency will be significantly larger.

It could (and probably should) be arranged such that each MP, whether minority or standard has roughly equal numbers of consitutents.

For eg: assuming an average SMC has 50,000 residents, then the "Minority" Constituency would be drawn such that there were 50,000 of the minority within the boundaries (give or take to make the boundaries easier to understand)

does she intend to give birth? being a MP is very stressful...5 yrs later she will be over 30...

i think giving birth is ok la.. the MP Sim Ann also pregnant..

And her husband will be ??? I think he is more of a concern than her - how would it be if he takes his son to first day at kindergarten and the teacher says "so nice of gong gong to bring you" [laugh][:p]

SG pledge says "...regardless of race...."

So why must election talk about race or the pledge is just useless mumbo jumbo ?

1st Gear

To me, she's still a useless person.......... Full time or part time, doesn't make any difference.

And i'm feeling the pinch that we are paying her to be our MP.

And why is she an MP and not YOU?

SG pledge says "...regardless of race...."

So why must election talk about race or the pledge is just useless mumbo jumbo ?

That is a good question. So why are there GRC in the first place?? And why is there a racial quota for HDB? And why is there an MT policy that separates children into different classes depending on their colour.

The reality is that there are many many policies in Singapore that are not colour blind. (whether this is good or bad is up to personal interpretation, I believe a mixture of both)