Yahgo22 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 (edited) Will SCDF implement one esp to Orchard Road shop owners, workers and Bukit Timah residents? All the above must have life boats and jackets Edited June 6, 2011 by Yahgo22 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 Saw the Straits Times FRONT Page News - Bukit Timah flooding - damn serious man .... Why isn't the Marina Barrage working as we all have been told of its Miraculous Powers ?? Makes me believe its a very expensive Great Big White Elephant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 (edited) Saw the Straits Times FRONT Page News - Bukit Timah flooding - damn serious man .... Why isn't the Marina Barrage working as we all have been told of its Miraculous Powers ?? Makes me believe its a very expensive Great Big White Elephant News reported floodgate already open, and when the water tide comes higher around 11am, the marina barrage open up 5 suction pumps and pump water out to the sea. But I believe the water level difference at marina barrage wall and the water level at other part of singapore too drastic difference, and at that moment where the height of water level at marina barrage may seems ok.. so never open, but when the height reaches and it open, seems abit too late.. as flooding may have occured at other parts of Singapore already. (my guessing only) Edited June 6, 2011 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 It's an incredible idea to build a dam to dam all water from flowing out of our tiny island. [idea] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 It's an incredible idea to build a dam to dam all water from flowing out of our tiny island. [idea] This is a barrage not a dam. Dam works by controlling water level in the resavoir by seaward outflow only. The Marina barrage works by controlling water flow in both ways using combination of water gates and giant water pump. The major issues in recent floods is the catchment area's drainage issue and change in the local and global climate. Readup: http://www.p3planningengineer.com/mb_open/mb%20brief.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 Oh so the steel gate is open sideways and not lowered.. thanks for the info.. now I get clearer picture how the marina barrage steel gates work.. [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 i think the flood happens to bukit timah cos there are alot of rich people staying there so give them some punishment to repent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 (edited) i think the flood happens to bukit timah cos there are alot of rich people staying there so give them some punishment to repent. wa lao.. you so bad.. lucky I stay at HDB. [laugh] Edited June 6, 2011 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 (edited) This guy is already repenting. Within 1 week kena 2 timebombs. Seen here trying to applease restless natives. ^ Even Cookie Monster also buay song. Edited June 6, 2011 by Ahtong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 Saw the Straits Times FRONT Page News - Bukit Timah flooding - damn serious man .... Why isn't the Marina Barrage working as we all have been told of its Miraculous Powers ?? Makes me believe its a very expensive Great Big White Elephant that barrage is good for kite flying only lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 maybe without barrage, 3/4 singapore flooded liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 marina barrage cost $200MILLION++ to build & awarded to Koh Bros... y dun we ask Koh Bros wat they thk? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 i think the flood happens to bukit timah cos there are alot of rich people staying there so give them some punishment to repent. realli? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 LoverofCar & Tigerwoods, Today's primary school students probably has better knowledge on how Marina barrage works. Why not ask them ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Initialp 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 isn't the Marina Barrage used to supplement our water resources so that Mahatier don't twist our arms ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 I would think this is possible. Little bit flood here and there. Years ago when it rained non stop for 2 weeks, many places were flooded, and maybe there were even less Feedback. Now everything also see MP, so I think top civil servants will have easiler job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 isn't the Marina Barrage used to supplement our water resources so that Mahatier don't twist our arms ? No. The Marina freshwater reservoir is just ONE of several options available for Singapore to avoid getting blackmailed. The problem with more frequent floor, as I had said, is related to localized drainage problem and how to channel these huge volume of storm water into Marina Bay quickest possible. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...