The feeling is mutual

Pufferfish1

Singapore

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Jun 28, 2011

Singaporeans under attack

By Shawn Lee Miller, Multimedia Journalist

Singaporeans have been voted the 'most disgusting and irritating' nationality on a website frequented by China nationals. -- PHOTO: JOSEPH NAIR

SINGAPOREANS have been voted the 'most disgusting and irritating' nationality on a website frequented by China nationals and called crazy on a German TV show for the 'crazy' things we do.

But are such accusations and statements warranted or justified?

When RazorTV asked Singaporeans, many felt that cultural differences were the cause while some blamed the animosity Singaporeans and China nationals have towards each other.

However, some foreigners were not surprised by the results of the poll on the Chinese blog "Lion City Life" where Singaporeans garnered the most votes for being the "most disgusting and irritating".

They felt that Singaporeans were not the friendliest towards foreigners, especially those from mainland China and can be rude on buses and trains.

but some singaporeans are really irritating.

eg they cough when they buay song or jealous or for some reasons,...w/o saying 'excuse me'. :angry:

and they think they educated [shakehead]

Till this day, 60.1% of goondus still don't understand the problem don't lie with the PRCs or Singaporeans per se.

The problem is there are puppet masters up there who created this problem for others while they are reaping the benefits.

So the small fries are all suffering here regardless of their nationality.

Rather than bash each other, maybe they should direct their frustrations towards the people who are actually responsible for this mess.

Yup...sinaporeans used to be kind, civil, and helpful.

But today, survival is more important.

Singapore has changed greatly the last 10years or so.

There is no turning back.

I like to read such reports....it's a wake up call for the authorities.

no turning back not agree...

psychological shift needed.

in fact GCT admitted SGreans shd not look at 5 Cs,which once he encouraged.

it's a regret in some form by himself. [grin]

in order to run fast, what must you do? drop your fullpack right? [laugh]

Erm.. I feel there is still turing back la.. it's not that the society all goes into $... I mean there is still people who cares about society.. and these people aren't happy either, as they are also very stress out with competition. But if government do the right thing to slowdown a bit.. it does help.. as in to make the gap of poor and rich closer together and not make it bigger gap than before.

The whole thing of economy growth is screwed if the gap of poor and rich is very great difference.. as that will show the rich contribute to much of the economy growth which does not show the true reflection of the real economy as in general in a sense..

I believe many singaporeas still has a good heart.. just that many become too stress to think of society... so sometimes government policies do make a lot different of how people behave also.. That's what I feel..

Edited by Yewheng

the price is not the survival.

is the attitude and mentality nowadays for singaporeans.

i believe most of them lack of something in their brain. something that make ppl civilized and non civilized. not yet mostly singaporeans think that they are super civilized. thats the most irritating part.

the price is not the survival.

is the attitude and mentality nowadays for singaporeans.

i believe most of them lack of something in their brain. something that make ppl civilized and non civilized. not yet mostly singaporeans think that they are super civilized. thats the most irritating part.

So what you mean is the rich does look down on poor ar.. That quite true also..

As what I feel it is mostly the rich that they feel they are above more class than the poor and think they are super civilized where in fact they are not..

Edited by Yewheng

Actually the Chinese nationals should also do a reality check. If they were to go to other countries like Europe and the US, they are not welcome there either. So who is more disgusting?

SINGAPOREANS have been voted the 'most disgusting and irritating' nationality on a website frequented by China nationals and called crazy on a German TV show for the 'crazy' things we do.

But are such accusations and statements warranted or justified?

er do you read this forum?

lol :D

To be fair i dont think its accurate to describe singaporeans as disgusting. Thats just not true. Irritating most definitely. I wonder if largely that comes from the kind of people vistors are exposed to more than most.

taxi drivers for example. again, not disgusting - but a very large percentage of them are irritatingly stupid beyond belief

If you are a visitor from china or india you are more likely to be talked down to by most singaporeans. I have heard shop staff, taxi drivers, even immigration staff talk to these vistors like they just wipped them off their shoe simply because they "classified" them at that level the min they saw them. You only have to read the nationalistic rants in this forum to see why a PRC may not feel welcome. Many singaporeans can hardly be bothered to hide their absolute contempt in real life as much as on the net. Ever heard how shop staff or taxi drivers speak to your maid??? a hell of a lot different to the way they speak to you im sure.

I am not surprised visitors find us ugly. i have no doubt we can do a heck of a lot better (and we will have to if we want to see more visitors)

The biggest joke is when people (as they have above) start blaming the gov for "their" rudeness. FFS we are adults we shouldnt blame the gov for making us rude over nationalistic or kiasu. as adults we can choose how we behave.

Edited by Badder

It's called "racial profiling" and it's a despicable behaviour that is sadly, still widely demonstrated and accepted in our 3rd world society. Even if one has a certain assumed prejudice for a certain type of people, the least they could do is to be professional in providing the service they are paid to do. Racism aside, this is just a lack of professional ethics when practised by immigration officers, shop staff or taxi drivers.

Think about the last time you have this experience in a foreign country. One of the milder experience I had was in a small town outside of Windsor, England in a country restaurant. The shop owner profiled me as "yellow skin == cheat, no $$$" even before I ordered my meal, giving that suspicious look. Then she finally spoke up -- "must pay before they serve". I bet some folks here can say "well, most yellow skin are cheap, ngeow .. etc.".

Think about it, do you really like to be judged before you even start to speak ?

If you are a visitor from china or india you are more likely to be talked down to by most singaporeans. I have heard shop staff, taxi drivers, even immigration staff talk to these vistors like they just wipped them off their shoe simply because they "classified" them at that level the min they saw them.

I am not surprised visitors find us ugly. i have no doubt we can do a heck of a lot better (and we will have to if we want to see more visitors)

When's the last time you been to Europe or US ? Major shopping malls - from Macy's to Premium Outlets to Tiffany - I've been to in US in the past 6 months have Chinese-speaking staff now, and they are not rude like SG customer service people. If a Sinkie walk in, they will also think you are from PRC. In Europe, only been to UK in past 6 months and Heathrow has Chinese-speaking staff too.

For the Americans I know, the love-hate in the PRCs are similar to that of the Japanese in the 1970-80s. They want to welcome their investment and tourists, but they are also wary of their competition, and cultural conflicts. As the Japanese were buying up Manhattan properties back then, the PRCs are doing the same now -- you see even historical office buildings on Wall Street flying the PRC flag -- e.g. China National Offshore Oil Corp.

Actually the Chinese nationals should also do a reality check. If they were to go to other countries like Europe and the US, they are not welcome there either. So who is more disgusting?

I've read some study about Asians being educated to avoid questioning authority, and I feel this has developed our culture of accepting whatever policies dumped on us and vent our frustrations with "bully kechil".

Till this day, 60.1% of goondus still don't understand the problem don't lie with the PRCs or Singaporeans per se.

The problem is there are puppet masters up there who created this problem for others while they are reaping the benefits.

So the small fries are all suffering here regardless of their nationality.

Rather than bash each other, maybe they should direct their frustrations towards the people who are actually responsible for this mess.

So what do you think they did wrong and what do you think they should have done to solve our labour shortages

easy to throw stones - harder to come up with a better solution