Windscreen problem

So_nice

Apologies to revive this old thread.

I collected my pre-owned ride a couple of weeks back and I noticed my windscreen seems to have some kind of "film" on it.

During rain time, when the wiper goes over the screen, the screen will go blur for about 2 sec before becoming clear again.

I dunno issit becos the previous owner apply RainX on it and the RainX cause this clouding effect. I also dun think it is the wiper cos I changed it and still the same.

tried all sort of things to remove (car shampoo, metylated spirit, Mr Muscle, lighter fluid etc) but no use. The white abrasive cleaner Cif (last time called Jif) seems to removed some of it. Other parts of the windscreen no matter how much I rub also the film still there. But no use cause after a few days of using the wiper, the problem comes back.

Visibility become very poor especially when it is raining at night.

Any Bros experienced this before? Any recommendations on what I can do to remove this "film".

I am contemplating if I should apply more RainX as that will mean I can avoid using the wiper.

TIA

Edited by Hawthorne

I collected my pre-owned ride a couple of weeks back and I noticed my windscreen seems to have some kind of "film" on it.

During rain time, when the wiper goes over the screen, the screen will go blur for about 2 sec before becoming clear again.

I dunno issit becos the previous owner apply RainX on it and the RainX cause this clouding effect. I also dun think it is the wiper cos I changed it and still the same.

tried all sort of things to remove (car shampoo, metylated spirit, Mr Muscle, lighter fluid etc) but no use. The white abrasive cleaner Cif (last time called Jif) seems to removed some of it. Other parts of the windscreen no matter how much I rub also the film still there. But no use cause after a few days of using the wiper, the problem comes back.

Any Bros experienced this before? Any recommendations on what I can do to remove this "film".

I am contemplating if I should apply more RainX as that will mean I can avoid using the wiper.

TIA

It is the lub from the wipers that causes the 2 sec clouding effect. It should be fine after sometimes.

I am switching back to the old wipers as I dun want to "waste" using the new wiper as it does not seems to solve the problem.

Like that should not be the lub's fault? I tried to wash the old wipers with Mama ling mong. Removed a lot of black stuffs from the wiper, but not much improvement

It is not advisable to pour in washer fluid into washer tank, as it may cause the wiper to shudder? [:/]

I mean I detatched the wipers, brought it home and washed it using Mama ling mong under my tap, then I attached it back.

I am using plain water, no additives in my washer fluid container

I mean I detatched the wipers, brought it home and washed it using Mama ling mong under my tap, then I attached it back.

I am using plain water, no additives in my washer fluid container

I encountered before that the wipers shudder when wipe, whether lots of water or not, so wonder what's went wrong? [confused]

TIA

I have the same problem. If you manage to solve your problem pls let me know how you did it.

Meanwhile, I am going to try going for a claybar wash.

TIA

The oil film is quite common. Go to autobacs and get those oil film remover.

Nu-glass also works.

Another one that works for me is a brand called "instant clean" from JB Giant. It's actually a kitchen cleaner.

i just bought this clay bar and glass z compound from Autobacs.

14.20+17.00, will try this over the weekend and post the results.

Wow quite a lot of money hor. [:/]

I have the same problem. If you manage to solve your problem pls let me know how you did it.

Meanwhile, I am going to try going for a claybar wash.

I have the same problem after applying rainx inside my windshield. Able to removed it by using carb cleaner with clean softcloth. Avoid carb cleaner on plastic or paint from your car.

Spray carb cleaner on clean softcloth and wipe off windshield in 1 direction and repeat with another cloth with car cleaner until. Do this while your car facing sun in the morning to be able to see glare if removed.

Oil remover will not work. RainX was an composed of persistent adhesive.

Edited by Shortcircuit

The oil film is quite common. Go to autobacs and get those oil film remover.

The oil film remover I just go autobacs and ask they will know liao?

I have ordered Rain-X xtreme clean from Amazon.com. Hope that works.

Really spent alot of $$$ on this

I have ordered Rain-X xtreme clean from Amazon.com. Hope that works.

Really spent alot of $$$ on this

How much is the oil fim remover from autobacs? [:/]

In the section where they sell windscreen cleaner.

Most have a label sticker for oil film remover.

However, the box is usually all Japanese words, so that's the difficult part to select which one.

The correct ones comes in cream form in a small bottle. Cost about $10.

You apply with soft sponge, then let it dry. Use hard foam to scrap the cream off.

The cream will bind to the oil film and everything comes off. :D

How much is the oil fim remover from autobacs? [:/]

I saw Daiso also got sell some oil film remover. $2 only, so buy and try try. Will try over the weekend and see how