Shull Turbocharged July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 Depends on how precise is the precision.. For my Uni FYP, i did a precision engineering project.. early experiments gives me surface finishing down to about 6-7nm.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 Just saw this thread, I am in this line abt 20yrs liao . If u still young, dun come in......I'm too old to change line Wont die YET but hard to earn/expand in SG. Haha.. i actually went for an interview abt 4-5 years ago thinking of switching career to precision engrg but they did not select me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 Just saw this thread, I am in this line abt 20yrs liao . If u still young, dun come in......I'm too old to change line Wont die YET but hard to earn/expand in SG. If workers jialiat but I happen to know number of bosses sibeh well to do leh , got merc and terrace house ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 Haha.. i actually went for an interview abt 4-5 years ago thinking of switching career to precision engrg but they did not select me lucky for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 go to Msia for this kind of industry. Penang, JB....... It's dead in SG......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 Precision engineering and machining are very good skills that are unfortunately dying out here. There are not many good machinists around. Lack of DIY enthusiasts also. Fewer local polys offer courses in these areas. I think many parents don't like the idea of their kids working with their hands on CNC machines (even though some of these can be pretty high-tech)... i'll be more surprised if the young would take up such courses and plan for a career in manufacturing - hot, smelly, low pay and unglamourous. think they'd go into areas where they can give themselves fancy titles like "financial advisor", "wealth manager", "powerful negotiator". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 i'll be more surprised if the young would take up such courses and plan for a career in manufacturing - hot, smelly, low pay and unglamourous. think they'd go into areas where they can give themselves fancy titles like "financial advisor", "wealth manager", "powerful negotiator". yeah, they see this as equal to being a car mechanic. Which young fella wants to do a car mechanic job? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 If workers jialiat but I happen to know number of bosses sibeh well to do leh , got merc and terrace house ..... Mostly have factory shifted to oversea liao, if they only have SG factory quite hard. And some are company owe money but boss a lot of money I would say the market are stagnant for PE except aerospace and oil rig related field. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 not from this line but always thot that it's a sunset industry. hmmm.who made it so..?...hmmmm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 i'll be more surprised if the young would take up such courses and plan for a career in manufacturing - hot, smelly, low pay and unglamourous. think they'd go into areas where they can give themselves fancy titles like "financial advisor", "wealth manager", "powerful negotiator". But not all have the people skills to connect people. There are bound to have brilliant people who are good in hard skills, but little soft skills. Most of the glamourous jobs are actually "sian tao" jobs (just keep on bullsh1ting will do) lah with little skill sets needed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 hmmm.who made it so..?...hmmmm.... doesn't realli matter who but i'm glad whoever made it so, did it. if sgp's mode of economy is still stuck in the 70's and 80's, we shld be more worried. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 (edited) But not all have the people skills to connect people. There are bound to have brilliant people who are good in hard skills, but little soft skills. Most of the glamourous jobs are actually "sian tao" jobs (just keep on bullsh1ting will do) lah with little skill sets needed. [thumbsup] [bounce1] Edited July 22, 2011 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 But not all have the people skills to connect people. There are bound to have brilliant people who are good in hard skills, but little soft skills. Most of the glamourous jobs are actually "sian tao" jobs (just keep on bullsh1ting will do) lah with little skill sets needed. yeah but problem is, many dun even hv good BS skills yet they fancy themselves as 'experts'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 yeah but problem is, many dun even hv good BS skills yet they fancy themselves as 'experts'. yeah, do encounter those in glamourous jobs who cannot really BS. They just keep on repeating themeselves when you asked them a slightly tougher question. Fun!!! Like to disturb these advisors during their road shows. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 doesn't realli matter who but i'm glad whoever made it so, did it. if sgp's mode of economy is still stuck in the 70's and 80's, we shld be more worried. but seems like big financial storm coming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 yeah, do encounter those in glamourous jobs who cannot really BS. They just keep on repeating themeselves when you asked them a slightly tougher question. Fun!!! Like to disturb these advisors during their road shows. u mean u bother to entertain them? if so 'expert', wonder why one needs to stand at a road show to tout? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 doesn't realli matter who but i'm glad whoever made it so, did it. if sgp's mode of economy is still stuck in the 70's and 80's, we shld be more worried. How can say PE is economy of the 70's and 80's ? Trust me , it is something that the world can never go without . Almost everything you see around you got something to do with PE , your hand phones , car , air planes , rockets , ship , electronics parts .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 How can say PE is economy of the 70's and 80's ? Trust me , it is something that the world can never go without . Almost everything you see around you got something to do with PE , your hand phones , car , air planes , rockets , ship , electronics parts .... manufacturing is basically low value, labour intensive & cost sensitive - something s'pore was good at in the 70's and prob early part of the 80s when we were known for cheap labour. thankfully, we've moved up the value chain as there are many cheaper neighbouring countries who can produce it better and cheaper than we do. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...