GR90 or CSC5

Ingenius

I have a friend...driving a white vios.....all four tyres totally different pattern....three already 70%worn....one still new.

He still drive fast on wet weather like no worries.

Bro pls PM me his no. Plate.

I see him on e road i stay far far away fm him. Hahaha.

Totally agree, irresponsible driver! Should be banned from driving.

He sud b banished to places like batam or bintan.

Many like minded drivers there. Let them slowly kill each other off.

I recently changed from a 205/55/16 GR90 to a 215/45/17 CSC5.

So thought of sharing my experience between the 2. Do keep in mind though of the fact that I am basing my comments on a relatively old 16 inch GR90 (having used it for 45k km and 2 year plus) vs a new (only 250km) 17 inch CSC5.

In short, the CSC5 is a tad quieter and feels more comfortable. It feels more refined. When it rides over slight uneveness on the roads, it just gives a soft little thud.

The GR90, however, seems to give a little bit better traction. On the GR90, it just seems that you can drive the car anyhow you like it to be and it will follow your instructions.

I liken the GR90 to listen to rock music, whereas on the CSC5, you are listening to jazz.

Hope that makes sense.

Everthing u said makes sense except part tt GR90 has better traction???

But yr change to 17" CSC5 seems a very good decisuon. Enjoy yr new driving experience. [inlove]

Everthing u said makes sense except part tt GR90 has better traction???

But yr change to 17" CSC5 seems a very good decisuon. Enjoy yr new driving experience. [inlove]

totally cannot compare leh??

1 is 16' with 55 profile another 17' profile 45.

205 width with 215 width.

and a 2 years old tyres with flesh tyres.

Like apple wh orange ah? Hee.

you are correct [thumbsup]

I know I am comparing old vs new tires. I stated it upfront. For end consumers like us, I think it will be virtually impossible to compare new vs new on the same car. so this comparison should be read in the context that its based on my memory of the GR90 when it was relatively new. Just wanted to share my thoughts and contribute my 2 cents since I have gotten much information from this forum.

Thing is some bros are surprised that the GR90 has better traction that the CSC5.

The CSC5 is designed for sporty character where tyre compound could be designed for better grip at the expense of durability, compared to GR90 where it has been marketed as comfort tyres (possibly aims to reduce noise and improve durability, at the expense of rubber grip levels)

I was offered ContiSportContact2 yesterday when I went to inquire about replacement tyres. Newish manufacturing date, so it seems CSC2 still in production after like 6-7years?

Knowing that there is already CSC3 n CSC5 on the market.

Does it makes sense to still buy CSC2 now?

Any tyre expert can clarify does CSC2 still 'worth' it? Obviously the performance superseded by the newer CSC3 n CSC5?

Do CSC2 cover some performance envelop that is outside of CSC3 n CSC5 strengths?

CSC2 price wish not cheap!

I was offered ContiSportContact2 yesterday when I went to inquire about replacement tyres. Newish manufacturing date, so it seems CSC2 still in production after like 6-7years?

Any tyre expert can clarify does CSC2 still 'worth' it? Obviously the performance superseded by the newer CSC3 n CSC5?

Do CSC2 cover some performance envelop that is outside of CSC3 n CSC5 strengths?

I recently chk in jb 205/50/16 abt rm600 ea. Made in europe.

I think sg cn get michelin ps3 also cheaper.

CSC2 is still a good tyre. But should be ex stocks. No more in production...

check the manufacturing date and that the rubber has not harden.

Performance wise CSC2 vs CSC3...not much. I have not tried CSC5 yet...still waiting for them to laylong....I used both CSC2 and 3 is because they laylong (Stamford Tyre)....else I wont wanna pay the price....for my size, 225/45/17 is almost 320 a piece.

If the price is right...I dun mind paying for 4 pcs of CSC2...if the price is rite lah...like under 250 a piece.

CSC5 is good, quieter and better wet grip than csc2. Get from the advertisers here 17 inch not very expensive.

For me I value grip above all other consideration.

For the price of CSC5...I rather get the BS RE11. Grips better than CSC5.

Just changed to the CSC2, week 30 2011 production.

I still like the oldies classic tyre tread design of conti.........solid ribs all round.

I see the newer CSC5, the treads are individual small blocks on the outer portion, which I feel it will wear out faster as compared to a solid ribbed design of the old skool CSC2.

Today heavy rain...wow.....can cut thru the deep deep puddles of water at 90km/km with confidence.

You might wish to consider Yokohama Advan DB. Just got them. Very quiet and fairly good traction. [thumbsup]

I'm staying away from Yokohama. I had bad experience with Yoko tyres, it skids when I brake hard on rainy days (old car, so no ABS [dead] ), and it was a rather new set of tyres. After doing some research, I realised that it wasn't only me who thinks Yoko has very bad traction.

Well, I might be wrong but I'll not put my life in this gamble anymore!

I'm staying away from Yokohama. I had bad experience with Yoko tyres, it skids when I brake hard on rainy days (old car, so no ABS [dead] ), and it was a rather new set of tyres. After doing some research, I realised that it wasn't only me who thinks Yoko has very bad traction.

Well, I might be wrong but I'll not put my life in this gamble anymore!

i had 2 major accidents in my years of driving...and in both cases, the tyres lost traction. In the first accident, i had no ABS, and in the 2nd accident, the ABS didn't helped at all. And in both cases, i was doing 50km/h....and no prizes for guessing which brand of tyre...

After that, i switched to various brands such as goodyear F1, continental CPC2, bridgestone GR80 and GR90 and now i am using Michelin XM2...and i've never had traction problem with them.

Am I right to say that if a set of tyres screech when turning, it probably means that it has lesser traction compared to another set turning at the same speed, same radius and everything else equal?