Carreview Neutral Newbie September 29, 2011 Share September 29, 2011 Wish I had a DVR camera on board, then I think this driver will not only lim kopi when comfort summon him, he will get more from the traffic police. no one wants that all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prodiguy02 Neutral Newbie September 29, 2011 Share September 29, 2011 Ya lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear September 29, 2011 Share September 29, 2011 me in private car and taxi drivers in........taxi so in some ways, i am slightly fortunate than they are. why not give in to the less fortunate??? its not easy being gracious to them for many reasons, but i try hard everyday.... Guess u haven't come across those taxi uncle stay in condo and landed property. Only handfull of them though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlancergtx 5th Gear September 29, 2011 Share September 29, 2011 Not to stereotype but the red taxi is seriously cannot make it ones. I have heard that other taxi company discarded drivers are mostly the drivers in RED company. Not sure on this part but seriously if this is true, more than the hellfort blue and yellow its better to siam far away from these RED ones. Yesterday was driving from clementi avenue and turn right to clementi mall quite late at night. Beside me in the left was a red wish taxi and there was a taxi that was stopped in his lane some distance further. Anticipating that this taxi might want to cut into my lane, i slowed down to allow him go infront of me. This red taxi went straight as though he is going to stop behind the already waiting taxi and so started gaining speed to go past the parked taxi... Now the most unexpected thing happened...the red taxi started veering into my lane right from behind the bumper of the parked taxi and that too without any signals...then I had to let a blast of my horn wake up that idiot TD and that TD gave me a blank WTF look...Aiyah another unpleasant encounter with another TD... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maka Neutral Newbie September 29, 2011 Share September 29, 2011 Whether its taxi driver or other road drivers. Singaporean road drivers are epic! When they are in lane, you cannot cut into it even if you signal. You want move in, they speed up to close the gap. Why are we so selfish?? When i was driving a tiny picanto i got lots of such issues especially on expressway. The car is already under power, needs some room to move into but stupid drivers die die dun give way... Usually are the lorries and taxi drivers that slow down and let me in not the private cars. Now i dun have such issues, wonder why? And nowadays alot of weird drivers that love to break alot! Abit abit break break break.... They dunno wat is engine break?? The car infront move abit, instantly tail gate than jam break when the car infront slows down (not even stop)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carreview Neutral Newbie October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 Whether its taxi driver or other road drivers. Singaporean road drivers are epic! When they are in lane, you cannot cut into it even if you signal. You want move in, they speed up to close the gap. Why are we so selfish?? When i was driving a tiny picanto i got lots of such issues especially on expressway. The car is already under power, needs some room to move into but stupid drivers die die dun give way... Usually are the lorries and taxi drivers that slow down and let me in not the private cars. Now i dun have such issues, wonder why? And nowadays alot of weird drivers that love to break alot! Abit abit break break break.... They dunno wat is engine break?? The car infront move abit, instantly tail gate than jam break when the car infront slows down (not even stop)... still much to learn in your country than my country Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 taxi driver thinks they very garang coz they think they sit kopitiam one....ask them one to one they bochee... must be hiong then they will scare...if not they see you can eat they will eat until no bones left... they think they still paikia...but they're just taxi driver...some behaved like hooligans, must treat them like hooligans and give them soilid soilid... last time everyday take taxi to work...almost everyday shout at the taxi drivers...many purposely take longer route...tell them to take particular route, they always said not familiar, dun take....think back lan huay also toh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 Not to stereotype but the red taxi is seriously cannot make it ones. I have heard that other taxi company discarded drivers are mostly the drivers in RED company. Not sure on this part but seriously if this is true, more than the hellfort blue and yellow its better to siam far away from these RED ones. Yesterday was driving from clementi avenue and turn right to clementi mall quite late at night. Beside me in the left was a red wish taxi and there was a taxi that was stopped in his lane some distance further. Anticipating that this taxi might want to cut into my lane, i slowed down to allow him go infront of me. This red taxi went straight as though he is going to stop behind the already waiting taxi and so started gaining speed to go past the parked taxi... Now the most unexpected thing happened...the red taxi started veering into my lane right from behind the bumper of the parked taxi and that too without any signals...then I had to let a blast of my horn wake up that idiot TD and that TD gave me a blank WTF look...Aiyah another unpleasant encounter with another TD... yup when i see red taxis esp the toyota wish really most of the time have to be careful. These are the drivers that speed, cut lane and can't be bothered to signal. Observation is that these drivers are usually middle aged and not those old uncle types. They seem to want to challenge everyone on the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear October 7, 2011 Share October 7, 2011 ST Forum Thanks, honest cabby I THANK Mr Gay See Chong of Premier taxi SHD 1384U for his kind gesture and honesty. On Sept 24, I took his cab from Bukit Timah Plaza to my home in Bukit Batok at 2.15pm. In my haste, I grabbed all five bags of groceries but left a plain paper bag containing new clothes and my daughter's dress in the boot. I realised this only after I returned home. I contacted the call centre and lodged a report. Due to the lack of a license plate number, the only thing the operator could do was to broadcast the issue to the drivers of 3,000 cabs. There was no response over the weekend and I was told the driver would probably return the items only when the main office opened on Monday. I had given up hope of reclaiming my bag of clothes and shoes when the office contacted me on Tuesday morning with the good news. Thank you, Mr Gay. Low Po Ling (Ms) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thinthin Neutral Newbie October 7, 2011 Share October 7, 2011 ST Forum Thanks, honest cabby I THANK Mr Gay See Chong of Premier taxi SHD 1384U for his kind gesture and honesty. On Sept 24, I took his cab from Bukit Timah Plaza to my home in Bukit Batok at 2.15pm. In my haste, I grabbed all five bags of groceries but left a plain paper bag containing new clothes and my daughter's dress in the boot. I realised this only after I returned home. I contacted the call centre and lodged a report. Due to the lack of a license plate number, the only thing the operator could do was to broadcast the issue to the drivers of 3,000 cabs. There was no response over the weekend and I was told the driver would probably return the items only when the main office opened on Monday. I had given up hope of reclaiming my bag of clothes and shoes when the office contacted me on Tuesday morning with the good news. Thank you, Mr Gay. Low Po Ling (Ms) Hundreds of Cab drivers' made their living plying the roads day and night 365 days , hence , whenever there are incidents or accidents , the probability that one of those vehicles involved is a cab is very high . unfortunately they became the topic of discussion . Their ( the cab ) were frequently thrown into the limelight for the wrong reasons, that bad experiences often leave negative impression on people..... To be fair to them , we should have more ppl like Ms Low who stand out in showing her praises and appreciation for a good cabby like Mr.Gay . These cab drivers work long hours to earn a living , to feed their family and send their children to school . They are humans and they do have bad days too .... unlike many of us who work in office or in factories , our bad moods sometimes were vented on the work or sometimes even on colleagues ... the cabbies could also have done it whilst behind the wheels !!! Next time you see a bad/moody cabby , forgive them and try to understand .... it might be one of those bad days ..... i once took a cab from Orchard to yishun .... the driver almost fell asleep on the CTE ... i woke him instantly , and tru the conversation (to keep him awake) i realised that he had been working a long day... i adviced him to take breaks ... but he was adamant to carry on .... in the short conversation , i cld tell that the man in his 50s were in financial difficulty .... he was probably struggling to come to terms to accept his fate to become a cabby , after being retrenched from work as a Senior supervisor ....., guess the man still could not get over the sour retrenchment . Cabbies tend to feel pessimistic , have lesser self esteem ,especially when they were force to take up the job out of no choice ... they felt that their social status being a cabby was one of the lowest in the profession , hence , often when they were provoked or being honked at , their tempers would flare .... dunno how much u can agree , just my observation ......... i am one of those who will always give way to a Cab driver .... coz i sympathised with them ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maka Neutral Newbie October 7, 2011 Share October 7, 2011 ST Forum Thanks, honest cabby I THANK Mr Gay See Chong of Premier taxi SHD 1384U for his kind gesture and honesty. On Sept 24, I took his cab from Bukit Timah Plaza to my home in Bukit Batok at 2.15pm. In my haste, I grabbed all five bags of groceries but left a plain paper bag containing new clothes and my daughter's dress in the boot. I realised this only after I returned home. I contacted the call centre and lodged a report. Due to the lack of a license plate number, the only thing the operator could do was to broadcast the issue to the drivers of 3,000 cabs. There was no response over the weekend and I was told the driver would probably return the items only when the main office opened on Monday. I had given up hope of reclaiming my bag of clothes and shoes when the office contacted me on Tuesday morning with the good news. Thank you, Mr Gay. Low Po Ling (Ms) Of cos la inside no $$$ or gold bars... If have can wait forever! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear October 7, 2011 Share October 7, 2011 Of cos la inside no $$$ or gold bars... If have can wait forever! . But hor, he sacrificed his time he cud have made money to make the trip to ofice to return stuff leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear October 7, 2011 Share October 7, 2011 Hundreds of Cab drivers' made their living plying the roads day and night 365 days , hence , whenever there are incidents or accidents , the probability that one of those vehicles involved is a cab is very high . unfortunately they became the topic of discussion . Their ( the cab ) were frequently thrown into the limelight for the wrong reasons, that bad experiences often leave negative impression on people..... To be fair to them , we should have more ppl like Ms Low who stand out in showing her praises and appreciation for a good cabby like Mr.Gay . These cab drivers work long hours to earn a living , to feed their family and send their children to school . They are humans and they do have bad days too .... unlike many of us who work in office or in factories , our bad moods sometimes were vented on the work or sometimes even on colleagues ... the cabbies could also have done it whilst behind the wheels !!! Next time you see a bad/moody cabby , forgive them and try to understand .... it might be one of those bad days ..... i once took a cab from Orchard to yishun .... the driver almost fell asleep on the CTE ... i woke him instantly , and tru the conversation (to keep him awake) i realised that he had been working a long day... i adviced him to take breaks ... but he was adamant to carry on .... in the short conversation , i cld tell that the man in his 50s were in financial difficulty .... he was probably struggling to come to terms to accept his fate to become a cabby , after being retrenched from work as a Senior supervisor ....., guess the man still could not get over the sour retrenchment . Cabbies tend to feel pessimistic , have lesser self esteem ,especially when they were force to take up the job out of no choice ... they felt that their social status being a cabby was one of the lowest in the profession , hence , often when they were provoked or being honked at , their tempers would flare .... dunno how much u can agree , just my observation ......... i am one of those who will always give way to a Cab driver .... coz i sympathised with them ..... Like I have always maintained, its the driver, not the type of vehicle that matters. I'm not saying all cabbies are good drivers, have come across bad assed ones too. Hv also come acrossed idiot drivers driving BMW, Merz, Mit, Camry....... But doesn't mean all drivers of those vehicles are kuku drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear October 7, 2011 Share October 7, 2011 Talking about taxi that lane change without signaling, I saw 1 that does signal and stop just after one flash. Witness it twice. As good as not signaling cos if someone missed that 1 signal and speed up...jialat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vertigoer Neutral Newbie October 10, 2011 Share October 10, 2011 My unlucky night with van and taxi tag team. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...