Should or should not lend?

Sash1401

You're not being selfish or self centered. Why put yourself thru so much stress for? If your wife can't see the daylights, then tell her to be responsible, if she so persist. The vehicle is for YOUR own mode of transportation. Lending it out is your own personal option, as I said, I won't do it, relative, best friend, whatever. Not the sleepless nights etc.. I don't need to come out cash to repair someone's farkup. <_<

I totally agree on dis... Therefore nt intending tO lend to anybody...

You're not being selfish or self centered. Why put yourself thru so much stress for? If your wife can't see the daylights, then tell her to be responsible, if she so persist. The vehicle is for YOUR own mode of transportation. Lending it out is your own personal option, as I said, I won't do it, relative, best friend, whatever. Not the sleepless nights etc.. I don't need to come out cash to repair someone's farkup. <_<

you so fierce ar?

Better don't lend la, BUT come up with some excuse so as not to sour the relationship. Important people like FIL or MIL better don't too straight up with them say that don't feel like lending, next time surre black face give u see and ur wife would be caught in the middle.

Hi fellw bros,

Will u actually lend ur ride to someone close but wif full knowing abt habits driving habits, eg, nv slow down when a hump is infront...Late nite driving till u got to wait till wee hours b4 he return car ect....

share ur views...

My opinion: DON"T LEND !!!!!

tell him to go rent a car loh........ or take a cab maybe......

tell them you are using the car, or you can drive them around loh.....

Story: Once i ask to borrow my sworn bro's car to CCK columbarium to pray my dad, he told me straight away: ' Take a cab lah '

taking a cab to there is easy, but after praying, we need to walk 20 mins out to the main road for transport!!

so LLST and never go pray.....

Unless is my father, otherwise it's a big no no. Firstly, one do no need a car to travel in Singapore. Secondly, the car (and loan if applicable) is under your name. I do not want to see a news report the next day saying it's involve in some kind of crime, see my car on some website stating it was spotted parking along a sleazy geylang alley or go to a scrapyard to identity the "body".

friends can reject easily... if i dun lend i dun nid to give a reason... its relatives like FIL n BIL.... haizzzz

FIL also dun give face. Afterall, you already got her daughter... [:p]

Whether lend or not lend, if nothing happen good la, if anything happen problem liao. And it may ended up as enemies.

to b frank, i rather not lend to anybody even if its BIL or FIL... Juz asking for fellow bros views coz my wife did mention in dis case i seemed more self centered... but on the other hand, when i noe their bad driving habits, y lend to damage my car? if i lend one time, there will b more chances for them to lend again n it will b like sleepless nites while waiting.... in dis case, y do i buy the car for? for myself n my family? or juz to lend to relatives? i rather b selfish to juz drive the car on my own... if they nid me to drive them, i'm fine so long as i'm the driver... wat do u guys think?

Nothing to do with self-centered. It's pure logic and practicality.

Relations even worse. Nothing you can pin on them if you lend them for the sake of 'relations' in the first place unless totaled.

I make it very clear to my other half. I will not lend my car to ANYONE. MY bro and sis maybe can consider.

BIL, FIL wanna lend? Can. Deposit 40k along with insurance cover undertaking letter, take the car. Damages will be deducted from 40k. Claims will be directed to your insurer. Ai mai?

its ur car..u decide..but take note that in the event of accident or car gets damaged..dun complain or fall out with that person because u made ur choice..life is simple you make choices and you don't look back

Edited by Darthrevan

are we having the same colleague?but he is borrowing my car for hari raya shopping in jb and he drove a rav4 but afraid to drive in.

i just lent him since my QQ is cheap and the robbers there probably won't be bother with my car.

no lah, my colleague doesnt own a car..

wah lao.. cannot like that lah... QQ also can get scratch, accident & etc.... den how? claim insurance and he pay for the excess but you bear the rest of the inflating insurance cost for the next few yrs?? if afraid, then shouldnt go in liao lah... how can transfer the risk to others?

But if your wife thinks that you should, then you should be weighing it carefully and handle things with more diplomacy. Go get a rental car for them. Tell them you will pay this last time.

I think between Husband and Wife, there are always avenues for discussion. The wife must respect the husband's decision in this case. Ask wife if she allows her precious what-ever, say LV handbag, or diamond, or ferrangamo shoe to be lend to somene else, best of all, that someone will trash her stuff or has smelly feet (just like as in this case, poor driving habit)? Will she?

Good suggestion to rent a car. But why shd we pay? The bugger who drives will have to pay. period.

are we having the same colleague?but he is borrowing my car for hari raya shopping in jb and he drove a rav4 but afraid to drive in.

i just lent him since my QQ is cheap and the robbers there probably won't be bother with my car.

This sort of person worse. I confirm chop die die won't lend to him. You think Rav4 so damn good? JB so dangerous? Then don't go! You think my car ok to lose but yours is not? then fark you!

Rav 4 big fark! No way man, WLL

no lah, my colleague doesnt own a car..

wah lao.. cannot like that lah... QQ also can get scratch, accident & etc.... den how? claim insurance and he pay for the excess but you bear the rest of the inflating insurance cost for the next few yrs?? if afraid, then shouldnt go in liao lah... how can transfer the risk to others?

Precisely..

Car is limited amount...at most total lost and time wasted. Nvm.

But 3rd party lawyer come knock your door and start claiming ur vehicle hit his ferarri and claiming $250,000 damages and $250,000 personal injury then who is going to bear this?

Confirm insurance liquidate responsibility and refund back your premium.

Think before you leap.

Tell them you bought the lowest coverage insurance. Only cover one driver only.(that is you).

+1 I was going to suggest this if you really don't like to lend

better dun lend or end up like me.. initially i my FIL first time borrow my car is ask "can I borrow your car for a while?"

now...he just say "not going out right, i need to to use your car" ........

I think between Husband and Wife, there are always avenues for discussion. The wife must respect the husband's decision in this case. Ask wife if she allows her precious what-ever, say LV handbag, or diamond, or ferrangamo shoe to be lend to somene else, best of all, that someone will trash her stuff or has smelly feet (just like as in this case, poor driving habit)? Will she?

Good suggestion to rent a car. But why shd we pay? The bugger who drives will have to pay. period.

The offer to pay is to remove any excuses that they cannot afford it or don't want to waste money etc etc. It is also used to pre-empt the wife from making accusations that TS does not care about her family blah blah blah. I see it as diverting the problem of not wanting to lend them my car.

If problems still exist, then there is some other problems brewing beneath from the in-laws. In fact, most reasonable person would know better than to ask to "borrow" a person's car.

Hi fellw bros,

Will u actually lend ur ride to someone close but wif full knowing abt habits driving habits, eg, nv slow down when a hump is infront...Late nite driving till u got to wait till wee hours b4 he return car ect....

share ur views...

Ever lent to a close relative before.

- Never refill petrol for me

- Never top up coupons for me

- Cash card used

- Full throttle, heavy foot

- Expected for me to drive him home when he returned car back to me, which is close to night time 12am

- rims scratched but offer to pay for repair

Two words, sibeh sian but bo bian "gek tio"