Vin002 Clutched November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 BMW Gran Tourer 220i 7.7s http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_specs.php?CarCode=11813&Subcode=5008 One is a compact MPV and the other is a full size MPV, how to compare? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vin002 Clutched November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 I know this is Sharan thread. But since he ask what other MPV does 0-100 in less than 7.8s, I give my 2 cents. If he had asked what other similar size or full size mpv than can do 7.8s, I would zip. Sorry for not being clear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 Yes they gave me that answer as well I think got ways to do la but they don't dare to take the risk KM cheapo lah, bring in the bare bone 8 seater Odyssey. In Japan, only the entry level Odyssey come in non-Absolute form, while there are at least another 3 trim level in Absolute package, and all are available in 7 or 8 seat configurations. If KM has been listening to their customers, they can simply import the 8 seater non-Absolute package with full factory fitted leather at least. If they insisted on having the fabric seat from Japan, I think most buyer would have prefer to keep it all fabric, then the ugly hybrid combination. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bkling 2nd Gear November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 KM cheapo lah, bring in the bare bone 8 seater Odyssey. In Japan, only the entry level Odyssey come in non-Absolute form, while there are at least another 3 trim level in Absolute package, and all are available in 7 or 8 seat configurations. If KM has been listening to their customers, they can simply import the 8 seater non-Absolute package with full factory fitted leather at least. If they insisted on having the fabric seat from Japan, I think most buyer would have prefer to keep it all fabric, then the ugly hybrid combination. If decided to get Ody, better look at those version brought in by PI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 If decided to get Ody, better look at those version brought in by PI. But PI not everybody's cup of tea leh. Recent cases see also scared. Can't forgive myself if I know the risks and yet jump into it haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 probably KM dun care ...becoz they know , we know .. there are many buyers still swear by honda cars .... KM cheapo lah, bring in the bare bone 8 seater Odyssey. In Japan, only the entry level Odyssey come in non-Absolute form, while there are at least another 3 trim level in Absolute package, and all are available in 7 or 8 seat configurations.If KM has been listening to their customers, they can simply import the 8 seater non-Absolute package with full factory fitted leather at least. If they insisted on having the fabric seat from Japan, I think most buyer would have prefer to keep it all fabric, then the ugly hybrid combination. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 I know this is Sharan thread. But since he ask what other MPV does 0-100 in less than 7.8s, I give my 2 cents. If he had asked what other similar size or full size mpv than can do 7.8s, I would zip. I think my 3 cents slightly better than your 2 cents. Subaru Exiga 2.0GT can hit 100 in 7.4sec. But I do know is not full size so I'll compare directly with BMW 220i. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 I think my 3 cents slightly better than your 2 cents. Subaru Exiga 2.0GT can hit 100 in 7.4sec. But I do know is not full size so I'll compare directly with BMW 220i.Is Exiga still available.... Would have definitely considered it...but I thought they stopped bringing in... KM cheapo lah, bring in the bare bone 8 seater Odyssey. In Japan, only the entry level Odyssey come in non-Absolute form, while there are at least another 3 trim level in Absolute package, and all are available in 7 or 8 seat configurations. If KM has been listening to their customers, they can simply import the 8 seater non-Absolute package with full factory fitted leather at least. If they insisted on having the fabric seat from Japan, I think most buyer would have prefer to keep it all fabric, then the ugly hybrid combination. Now...if Honda started development on a 2L turbo engine... i would consider a Honda in future. My previous 2L was a peach to drive. Smooth and very decent poke up to indecent speed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear November 3, 2016 Share November 3, 2016 Is Exiga still available.... Would have definitely considered it...but I thought they stopped bringing in... Saw some pics on the new Exiga 2017, looks not bad, not sure they'll bring it in this time. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 (edited) Is Exiga still available.... Would have definitely considered it...but I thought they stopped bringing in... Now...if Honda started development on a 2L turbo engine... i would consider a Honda in future. My previous 2L was a peach to drive. Smooth and very decent poke up to indecent speed. Exiga is still available in Japan, but slightly raise to qualify it as a crossover (the world is mad about SUV & Crossover isn't it). But again, this is more of a Wish size MPV, not as big as Sharan. Honda is expected introduce the Facelift Odyssey next year with the 1.5L 3 cylinder turbo engine, and output should be similar to the recently announced 2017 CRV, 190ps horsepower & 243Nm torque. The 2.0L Hybrid Odyssey will be a better choice (at ~$160K) if not for the higher road tax and high margin by the PI (as the car has gotten the max CEVS of $30K, PARF value will be <$5K at EOL). Edited November 4, 2016 by Carbon82 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Exiga is still available in Japan, but slightly raise to qualify it as a crossover (the world is mad about SUV & Crossover isn't it). But again, this is more of a Wish size MPV, not as big as Sharan. Honda is expected introduce the Facelift Odyssey next year with the 1.5L 3 cylinder turbo engine, and output should be similar to the recently announced 2017 CRV, 190ps horsepower & 243Nm torque. The 2.0L Hybrid Odyssey will be a better choice (at ~$160K) if not for the higher road tax and high margin by the PI (as the car has gotten the max CEVS of $30K, PARF value will be <$5K at EOL). Actually, I like a "raised Subaru". I drove the Outback (albeit 2.5L only) for a long journey from Melbourne to Sydney, around vineyards and along many unpaved backroads (yarra valley, dandenongs) and even up above the snowline (Falls Creek) and many hours on the highways. It was a brilliant car! And the Exiga seems just like an Outback with 2 more seats! And with the WRX engine in it, I would definitely consider an Exiga over other similar cars (like the BMW 220GT, VW Touran Sport, Honda Jade). But I think that in the "larger" MPV category, a 1.5L turbo cannot make it. Honestly, if VW Singapore brings in a Sharan with the new 2L turbodiesel (240hp, 500nm), I would trade in mine in a heartbeat! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Actually, I like a "raised Subaru". I drove the Outback (albeit 2.5L only) for a long journey from Melbourne to Sydney, around vineyards and along many unpaved backroads (yarra valley, dandenongs) and even up above the snowline (Falls Creek) and many hours on the highways. It was a brilliant car! And the Exiga seems just like an Outback with 2 more seats! And with the WRX engine in it, I would definitely consider an Exiga over other similar cars (like the BMW 220GT, VW Touran Sport, Honda Jade). But I think that in the "larger" MPV category, a 1.5L turbo cannot make it. Honestly, if VW Singapore brings in a Sharan with the new 2L turbodiesel (240hp, 500nm), I would trade in mine in a heartbeat! I like "raised" ride too (read SUV), but practicality come first, as I have old folk that have walking difficulty. My top 3 priorities for choice of MPV are: 1) Space, 2) Performance, 3) Cost Agreed that 1.5L turbo is too small for a full size MPV. If Honda is going with a 2.0L turbo, I bet the power output will be closer to 280 - 300 ps, but that will be on our wish list for now, unlikely for Honda to take that route unless a Type R Odyssey is in their plan. Bewteen your dream 2.0 BiTDI (240ps, 500Nm) and the other top of line 2.0 TSI (280 - 290ps, 350Nm), I will pick the later, as it will always be more exciting with a petrol engine (higher rpm), and not to forget the additional special tax (~$800 p.a. as of current, might be more come next year budget announcement) we need to pay for diesel car... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 I like "raised" ride too (read SUV), but practicality come first, as I have old folk that have walking difficulty. My top 3 priorities for choice of MPV are: 1) Space, 2) Performance, 3) Cost Agreed that 1.5L turbo is too small for a full size MPV. If Honda is going with a 2.0L turbo, I bet the power output will be closer to 280 - 300 ps, but that will be on our wish list for now, unlikely for Honda to take that route unless a Type R Odyssey is in their plan. Bewteen your dream 2.0 BiTDI (240ps, 500Nm) and the other top of line 2.0 TSI (280 - 290ps, 350Nm), I will pick the later, as it will always be more exciting with a petrol engine (higher rpm), and not to forget the additional special tax (~$800 p.a. as of current, might be more come next year budget announcement) we need to pay for diesel car... Sadly... Honda's 2L Turbo (Type R engine) is only expected to produce 230hp and 400Nm. :( But if I had to choose between Odyssey and Sharan (both 2L turbo petrol), I would go back to Honda in a heartbeat. If I recall, there used to be a 200hp Odyssey; and also an Elysion. Unfortunately, both are non-existent in the 2nd hand market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 (edited) I think my 3 cents slightly better than your 2 cents. Subaru Exiga 2.0GT can hit 100 in 7.4sec. But I do know is not full size so I'll compare directly with BMW 220i. I like your 3 cents. Exiga is . Powerful and more spacious than many mid-size MPVs. Exiga is still available in Japan, but slightly raise to qualify it as a crossover (the world is mad about SUV & Crossover isn't it). But again, this is more of a Wish size MPV, not as big as Sharan. Honda is expected introduce the Facelift Odyssey next year with the 1.5L 3 cylinder turbo engine, and output should be similar to the recently announced 2017 CRV, 190ps horsepower & 243Nm torque. The 2.0L Hybrid Odyssey will be a better choice (at ~$160K) if not for the higher road tax and high margin by the PI (as the car has gotten the max CEVS of $30K, PARF value will be <$5K at EOL). stupid AD nv bring to SG... Edited November 4, 2016 by Glyuen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 I like "raised" ride too (read SUV), but practicality come first, as I have old folk that have walking difficulty. My top 3 priorities for choice of MPV are: 1) Space, 2) Performance, 3) Cost Agreed that 1.5L turbo is too small for a full size MPV. If Honda is going with a 2.0L turbo, I bet the power output will be closer to 280 - 300 ps, but that will be on our wish list for now, unlikely for Honda to take that route unless a Type R Odyssey is in their plan. Bewteen your dream 2.0 BiTDI (240ps, 500Nm) and the other top of line 2.0 TSI (280 - 290ps, 350Nm), I will pick the later, as it will always be more exciting with a petrol engine (higher rpm), and not to forget the additional special tax (~$800 p.a. as of current, might be more come next year budget announcement) we need to pay for diesel car... remap your f/l sharan to stg 1 or 1+ will get you there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear November 5, 2016 Share November 5, 2016 I like your 3 cents. Exiga is . Powerful and more spacious than many mid-size MPVs. stupid AD nv bring to SG... I remember back in 2009 I was choosing between Exiga 2.0GT and Odyssey RB3. The Exiga interior is surprisingly spacious even in third row seats, test drove and the power is amazing for an MPV, pick up simply effortless. But in the end my vehicle commander chose RB3 because Exiga don't come with 2nd and 3rd row air-con vent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged November 6, 2016 Share November 6, 2016 I had thought that this Stavic at 1.815m height, and with only 2 seats for 2nd and 3rd row suggesting a very wide isle, would be as easy to move around as the rest of the minivans. Anyway, now only looking at the horizon for suitable replacement. No urgency as not easy to get one that tick all the boxes. If no significant improvement, then not logical to replace haha. Thanks for the feedback. Think I better get a Alphard. Sorry to side-track, I have proceeded to book a 2015 Alphard for my upcoming Kansai Trip. To clarify, after watching numerous youtube videos, the last row confirm could be collapsed upward for stowage, as well as slided to-and-fro along the rail on the floor to adjust for space in the boot. Really clever design as normally those collapsed upward type can't do sliding. And who knows, I might be replacing my current ride with this if the experience pan out well. I have been really impressed by the interior design and luxurious feel of this car, too bad I would not be getting the luxury lounge version even if proceed to buy as abit too ex and I prefer an 8-seater. And there would be the PI angle that I have to grapple with. Ok one baby step at a time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear November 6, 2016 Share November 6, 2016 I like your 3 cents. Exiga is . Powerful and more spacious than many mid-size MPVs. stupid AD nv bring to SG... Don't think you will buy it if its imported. Only comes with 2.5L, no TC and is based off the old impreza chassis, not the current legacy/levorg chassis. No sliding rear door, not 2nd and 3rd row A/C.. not suitable for Singapore's needs actually. They should just have an extended levorg/legacy with raised ceiling. That should work well ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...