In SG cannot act blur ....

Scb11980

A educated Sinkie persumbly....a very well educated Sinkie can say '''he don't know must pay tax "... for any shxt ( legal shxt ) he brings into the country..

If not then any Tom, Dick or Harriet Sinkie can bring in any things by walk in, on-line orders and every ding dong and claim as personal use without needing to pay any tax to MIW..

Then companies Big and small can close shop liao...as every Tom ...Dick or Beng Sinkie can buy from all over the wolrd and pay just for the items..

Going back to the first phrase..

An educated Sinkie...who is able to post his comprains......no... make that a highly educated Sinkie! :D

Not "too many" but anything above $300 per adult traveller. Less than 24 hours, up to $50.

http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=98

Technically, anything that you bring across the borders are taxable. Not different from most countries, even democratic countries. Try India, even courier a hard disk with data, it's "taxable".

You mean we can only buy S$300 worth items when we go holidays back to sg regardless how many days we went? <_<

There are brochures all around airport, guess nobody bother to read.

exactly..all these info are instituted ages ago..just that lazy people always never read rules and regulations..same even when parking in a commercial carpark

That's the "GST Relief".

If you have been living overseas (e.g. more than 6 months), it is different. You have to complete a separate declaration form, and declare the items, their value and age. Didn't see any different when doing the opposite -- i.e. moving to another country.

You mean we can only buy S$300 worth items when we go holidays back to sg regardless how many days we went? <_<

the thing is TS brought it back with the intention for self consumption and not resell. Then he is justified to ask for waiver of the tax isn't it ? Unless the cost is very high, else unlikely to conclude is for resale.

if someone brought back a gift like a rolex watch (new) in a box

nobody would throw away

so what to do

bUT if you wear the new rolex watch and throw away the box

both different way of passing through immigration

but one kena and the other escape

unfortunately one cannot wear herbs and claim that they are costume accessories